HDD vs SSD for External Storage.........

Yes, Google drive has 15 GB free.

Google has data center backups so it's definitely safer than your own HDD/SSD drive.

15GB only ah...............so stingy..............

Oh 500GB, just go for cloud. Like that you don't even need ot worry about backup

must pay every month leh...............the cost can buy 1 or 2 HDD every year liao lah

ZrE0_Cha0s

consider not bad lei...if not u can tell us where to find more than 15gb of free cloud storage?

Epee

I'll share my strategy. Not for the novice I must say. But if you know a bit of disk storage and backup technology, I think you should be able to follow along.

I assume your data is online somewhere in your desktop/laptop. I use a backup software to backup to 2 places, 1) an external multi-bay enclosure and 2) google cloud. Backup software used : Duplicati. It is a full fledged open source backup solution. It can do versioning, which is critical for me. It can also make use of VSS to backup open files, but with caveats of course.

On the external multi-bay enclosure, I use a software call StableBit DrivePool. I configure it to pool the diskspace from my external enclosure into a logical volume. I have 4x 4TB Ironwolf, so I'll see a 16TB disk device. The nice thing about this is that I can create a folder on the pooled device and specify that every file inside that folder will have X copies of it stored in the underlying 4x 4TB Ironwolf. X = 2 in my case. So if I put a file called VeryImpt.Doc inside this folder, I'll be able to find this file physically stored on 2 of the IronWolf. With this in place, I actually have 3 copies of my files, 2 in the IronWolf and 1 in the cloud (I use GDrive). The other nice thing is your HDDs need not be the same size, I once had 2x 2TB, 1x 3TB and 1x 4TB before I upgraded them seamlessly to 4x 4TB IronWolf. If you use a typical NAS/Raid, you need to use all of the same size.

I have never lost a single file through this strategy. I have lost many HDDs but DrivePool have worked like a charm and recovered everything.

TanKianW

If you just want to backup and don't need to access/download regularly, can just back up to Backblaze B2.

Initial upload will take slightly more time and cost a bit more. Following the monthly storage fee will be very cheap.

My personal backup cold storage only cost less than $1 per month. Some NAS even allows you to auto cloud-sync to them.

https://www.backblaze.com/b2/cloud-storage-pricing.html

cscs3

There's no compensation, but enterprises use them, so there's a certain level of competency.

most major providers (aws, gcp, azure) mirror the data to at least 1 other data center in a different country. end of the day if you trust yourself to be able to manage the data well then do it yourself. if you are scared then just let cloud providers pay qualified people to do it for you
Correction, enterprise never use cloud alone. Always there is a hybrids backup locally. Cloud provider will not compensate or give you a warranty of your data will never lost or been hacked.

If you just want to backup and don't need to access/download regularly, can just back up to Backblaze B2.

Initial upload will take slightly more time and cost a bit more. Following the monthly storage fee will be very cheap.

My personal backup cold storage only cost less than $1 per month. Some NAS even allows you to auto cloud-sync to them.

https://www.backblaze.com/b2/cloud-storage-pricing.html

many thanks for the info................no $$$ lah...........i rather pay for Ext HDD - no choice.......... :cry:

alamakazim

absolutely brilliant, bro................... (y)

but how do you register so many accounts ??...............sure google will cover up all loopholes............. :unsure:
Sometimes Need phone verification... I think 8 is within the max... I maxed out all my numbers

keenklee

so you and your family members combined have 8 phone numbers ah ?

i no have leh.............
IMHO.
I think it will be a hassle to manage the usage due to the splitting across many accounts.
Myself managing external HDDs, already a bit of hassle managing 1TB or 2TB.
Now I am consolidating some into 8TB or 10TB.

IMHO.
I think it will be a hassle to manage the usage due to the splitting across many accounts.
Myself managing external HDDs, already a bit of hassle managing 1TB or 2TB.
Now I am consolidating some into 8TB or 10TB.

yes, what you say is true...............

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.