HDTV talk - antenna and reception issues [consolidated]

Francaisco

My Samsung TV UA32D5000PM comes with a DVB-T tuner. After connecting it to an antenna, it's not receiving any signal. I'm wondering whether is my internal tuner spoilt or there's no more T signals or I can't receive because Singapore is already using T2 signals?

hlw8888

recently, my channel 8 digital signal quality seems to fluctuate, sometimes 80+%, sometimes even fall below 50% that i will experience stuttering on tv.

my antenna is daiyo EU 1703, tv is sony 32r500c. i live at bukit merah area. am i the only one that experience this? or shld i try other antenna?

* i got one tv set top box for another tv, the signals from the box antenna seems much better. :o *

shevchenko

I jus bought a new tv lg 49uh610t. So now I need to buy a digital antenna.

Qoo10 has some on sale.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/DIGITAL-ANTENNA-ADVANCED-3M-CABLE-FOR-DVB-T2-READY-LED-TV/454155865

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/WAVECOM-A...DVB-T2-TV-ANTENNA-PASSIVE-AVAILABLE/437064335

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/WAVECOM-ANT-T25-DIGITAL-DVB-T2-INDOOR-TV-ANTENNA-ACTIVE-RAZOR/435420642

Shd I jus buy the one with amplifier so cfm can work? But it's quite big compared to the tower type which is very small...

Can recommend the best antennae to buy?

Thnx!

GBC

Yes, in fact I'm using this on my STB. Hmm, 10 buck seem kind of expensive given that most sellers bundle this for additional $1-2 only.

As stated before, most external passive antenna would work as long as there is good signal coverage in your area.

If I were you and getting that TV model you mentioned, I would try out the DVB-C tuner first. Can always email the manufacturer to verify if it indeed have both tuners.

If use passive antenna, how long can you extend the coaxial extension cable before it lose digital signal ?

albertlee

If use passive antenna, how long can you extend the coaxial extension cable before it lose digital signal ?

No idea but there are those who use a single passive antenna and pipe it via coaxial cabling for the entire house (BTO flat).

LaNNZ3r

Which is the best Digital Antenna only in SG?

I just bought the Sony KD-65S8500D TV at Comex, delivery this Friday. I do not have starhub or mioTV. Heard from my friend I need a Digital Antenna without the box.

Which is the best Digital Antenna? My friend recommended Funke 2.0 Active Indoor Antenna, 32dB.]

But I'm not sure if if there are other better ones out there.

Henry Ng

I just bought the Sony KD-65S8500D TV at Comex, delivery this Friday. I do not have starhub or mioTV. Heard from my friend I need a Digital Antenna without the box.

Which is the best Digital Antenna? My friend recommended Funke 2.0 Active Indoor Antenna, 32dB.]

But I'm not sure if if there are other better ones out there.

At least Funke 5.1 antenna. Some area the receiption is quite bad so need cable Tv.

chonglee

Courts usually got stock...
Funke DCS550 about $49.90
Funke 5.1 combo about $59.90
If prices i recall correctly

alex76

If I connect my TV to MATV point (mine can receive digital signal), will my TV get spoilt by lightning if suay suay the HDB rooftop antenna kena?

xVrooMx

Hi Guys,

Recently my uncle bought a new TV for my grandma. LG 42LY750H.
I bought a Funke DSC550 from courts to make it digital for her but it doesnt work.
Then I found out the TV is mainly for commercial use. Should it affect the possibility of receiving digital channels?
Please advise.

Cheers

albertlee

Hi Guys,

Recently my uncle bought a new TV for my grandma. LG 42LY750H.
I bought a Funke DSC550 from courts to make it digital for her but it doesnt work.
Then I found out the TV is mainly for commercial use. Should it affect the possibility of receiving digital channels?
Please advise.

Cheers

Don't see why it would matter as long as it is sold as Digital TV, meaning it has DVB-T2 tuner built-in. The manual is not that clear, this model might even have DVB-C tuner which meant it can be connected to SCV point.

xVrooMx

Don't see why it would matter as long as it is sold as Digital TV, meaning it has DVB-T2 tuner built-in. The manual is not that clear, this model might even have DVB-C tuner which meant it can be connected to SCV point.

Yea, I was wondering too but after I plugin the Funke DSC550 and do auto tuning, nth comes out haha.. I tried placing the antenna up to ceiling also nth haha...

albertlee

Yea, I was wondering too but after I plugin the Funke DSC550 and do auto tuning, nth comes out haha.. I tried placing the antenna up to ceiling also nth haha...

Did you select the correct input source on the remote?

albertlee

Yea, it's suppose to be tuning from DTV right? I only have 2 tuning options. DTV and TV.

That's right.

Is it stated anywhere that this is indeed a Digital TV? Also you might want to connect the TV cable to existing SCV point to test out.

Some TV set like mine has DTV settings on the menu but can't detect anything. A check with TV manual indicated that my model doesn't have digital tuner! So it is either true that it's not DTV or region lock as the available country select-able is not Asia.

Best to call LG.

xVrooMx

That's right.

Is it stated anywhere that this is indeed a Digital TV? Also you might want to connect the TV cable to existing SCV point to test out.

Some TV set like mine has DTV settings on the menu but can't detect anything. A check with TV manual indicated that my model doesn't have digital tuner! So it is either true that it's not DTV or region lock as the available country select-able is not Asia.

Best to call LG.

I tried, but still no digital channel. I suppose my TV is like your situation.
Will give LG a call then haha.. if it doesnt support I will need to buy a setup box liao... T_T $$ flyaway hahaa..

Thanks a lot!

albertlee

I tried, but still no digital channel. I suppose my TV is like your situation.
Will give LG a call then haha.. if it doesnt support I will need to buy a setup box liao... T_T $$ flyaway hahaa..

Thanks a lot!

If really isn't DTV, just get a cheap STB from China, cost around $15 (after deducting coupons & qpoints) from Qoo10.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.