Head/earphones Recommendations Thread

vofzxy

zm9OHMn.png

rachdanon

My AKG wired earbuds that came with my Note 9 finally broke. Need advice on similar earbuds to replace for working, and portable to bring to office.

Any cheapo one from Challenger around $20 to $30 can consider also right?

BlackWing1977

51lj99Q-zyL._AC_SL1000_.jpg

Finally caved in as I watch the price of Philips Fidelio X3 keep dropping until it went below the price of X2HR.... finally bought it at discounted price of $222.04 SGD from Amazon.sg if you check Amazon.com (US) side still very expensive... ($386.96 SGD converted from USD by Amazon)

X2HR if I buy from Amazon.com (US) including shipping from US it will cost around $190+.... I mean at a difference of $32 SGD.... may as well just go for X3... as I hear the most complain about X3 when it was released last year was the pricing.. as it was too high over X2HR while offering limited improvement, but Z reviews also said there is an improvement also. Also hoot a $16+ 3.5mm male to 2.5mm female (balanced) adapter to make use of the so called balanced cable to see if there is a difference...

I always love open back headphone ever since my experience with the old Audio Technica ATH-AD700 (The old purple color version) it finally went kuku when one side stop having sounds.. or go very weak noise... think could be the cabling. I been looking high and low.. but none of the open headphones I bought ever bring back the same feel.. but I dun want to buy the same also... I got try Takstar HI-2080 pretty okay.. but also went kuku when one side like got issues with sound... then I got several Somic but comfort is horrible and sound quality is meh... until more recently I try out the Philips SHP-9500 which is pretty good... I bought it from Lazada... Amazon.sg dun have... sound quality is good.. but the comfort not really there also... as the pad isn't deep enough for my big ears... :sick:

That is why I got interested in X2HR.. but locally always dun have... until X3 start appearing in Amazon.sg.... then I keep watching the price.. until recently.. the price keep dropping I buey tahan liao.

niap05

Anyone got recommendations for wireless earbuds between the range of $100-$150?

Any help will be much appreciated! Thank you in advance!

BlackWing1977

Anyone got recommendations for wireless earbuds between the range of $100-$150?

Any help will be much appreciated! Thank you in advance!
No experience with wireless earbuds...

https://www.amazon.sg/s?k=Wireless+...nid=7993546051&ref=sr_nr_p_n_prime_domestic_1
But you can browse on Amazon to see if anyone caught your fancy... anyway my only experience with earphone mostly related to china earphones from the brand Takstar or Xiaomi which to me is decent enough for the on-the-go. Or some other weird China brands...

mazduh

question for those with wh1000m4 headphones: when using plugged in, does battery life still matter?

BlackWing1977

Nope, not necessarily. Any recomendation?
You mainly using it for what purpose?? Music or games.. or both.. and music usually what kind?? Those bass thumping kind or those vocal type where mid and highs are more important... and do you need those bass thumping feel?? Because closed and open cans give different type of sound....

Because if you are looking mainly for games like in those shooters where environmental sounds is key to positioning awareness.. then you need a wide soundstage that open cans can give you and movies depending.. normally I prefer a wide soundstage with separation to hear more sounds.. if that make sense... bass can be present in a open can but usually not as pronounce as closed cans.

For all purpose you can look at Audio-Technica ATH-AD500 series and beyond... or Philips SHP-9600 or 9500 depending which one is easier to purchase... but 9600 seems to improve on 9500 flaws... there are some sennheiser but I think it is beyond your budget... and these fews are all open cans.. so the bass might not be so pronounced.

BlackWing1977

81LkbsHIe1L._AC_SL1500_.jpg
https://www.amazon.sg/Audio-Technic...ld=1&keywords=ATH-AD500&qid=1630215767&sr=8-2
Audio Technica ATH-AD500x

SGD $123.95 from Amazon.sg

or

71WNWRLJCsL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

https://www.amazon.sg/Audio-Technic...&keywords=ATH-M40x&qid=1630215832&sr=8-5&th=1
Audio Technica ATH-M50x

SGD $195.00 (Closed cans but give pretty good bass thumping feel and it clarity is pretty good for its price and this new revision compared to the old one has a detachable cable which makes it a plus. But pricing is a bit higher than your budget.)

61d505ehpbS._AC_SL1168_.jpg

https://www.amazon.sg/Philips-SHP96...ild=1&keywords=SHP-9600&qid=1630215992&sr=8-5
Philips SHP-9600

SGD $143.05 (This is sold by Amazon but US so you need it to ship from there.. you might find same model on Lazada at similar or lower pricing... buy from it if you want.. but a lot of them are sold from China, mine SHP-9500 was bought on Lazada but from a local seller, I dun like waiting for a long time.)

kazuki666

Hi guys. I am wondering if you guys can help with recommendations. I am thinking to get a earphone with below preferences

• earphone (not over the ear type)
  • Comes with a mic for zoom meeting. But i find most earphones' mic hanging at the chin level seem a little disturbing or don't capture the voice clearly
  • decent ANC or noise isolation which I will likely use to keep surrounding sound out when I need a quiet moment to concentrate at work. It will be even better if it can isolate sound even when not playing music (possible?)
  • 3.5mm jack will be ideal
  • Budget is tight, since I will only use it whenever for zoom or I need to isolate sound to work quietly. (<S$50)

Thank you so much. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.