Help on growing wealth.

silverbomb

Sorry to hijack, emergency funds equate to monthly gross salary ? So if save 6 to 9 months means bank must have at least 6-9mths of the salary amount ?
there's 2 schs of thoughts. the conservative ones based it on salary, the other camp is using 6-9 months of monthly expenses + any upcoming big purchases (reno, insurance annual premium, etc)

JetStorm

Sorry to hijack, emergency funds equate to monthly gross salary ? So if save 6 to 9 months means bank must have at least 6-9mths of the salary amount ?
Emergency funds can be defined as how much you need in ready cash in case u need it immediately. It can be expenses/bills for the family in the event eg u lose your job.

Some people take 6 to 12 months household monthly expenses as a guide. Some take monthly salary (gross or net). Amount is all up to you.

JetStorm

there's 2 schs of thoughts. the conservative ones based it on salary, the other camp is using 6-9 months of monthly expenses + any upcoming big purchases (reno, insurance annual premium, etc)
I like to take yearly gross salary as a guide. In case I decide to yolo and not want to work, I can tahan for a year lol.

dude123

Emergency funds can be defined as how much you need in ready cash in case u need it immediately. It can be expenses/bills for the family in the event eg u lose your job.

Some people take 6 to 12 months household monthly expenses as a guide. Some take monthly salary (gross or net). Amount is all up to you.
Okie! Thanks for the explanation! Appreciate both!

wutawa

I dont think it has to be in bank. But it should be kept such that u can easily retrieve.

JetStorm

I think if you base it upon 9-12 months salary, you maybe crippling your investment opportunities.
No right no wrong on this. For me, I also like the thrill of seeing the interest rate credit every month from those high yielding bank accounts.

Gone were the days of the old Citibank maxigain account. $300+ interest on a 150k deposit. Quite shiok.

Also, with a higher safety base, I am able to invest in more riskier thematic portfolios if I wanted to.

dappermen

41 this year.
Bto flat will be ready mid-2022
(Even though I can cash out the flat using cpf but friends advised me NOT to. So will probably loan 100K)
Cash-poor: ran into debts before hence my cash on-hand is very little.

No financial knowledge at all.
Gross salary: $5200

but wat is your mthly expenses?

cant read from here

eg after deducting utilities
Telco/internet
Fd & groceries
Trpt/ some just love to Grab
after giving Parents or charity
Entertainmt like movies etc
and
property/income taxes (some Giro it - not sure why though)

sorry but i dont quite understand not yet even acq flat ? alrdy can cash out???
not 5 yrs???

1st clear your debt b4 u talking

investmt is NOT trdg or speculatn or gambling

Hi all. Details about me...
Cash-poor: ran into debts before hence my cash on-hand is very little.
Any suggestions on what should I do or how should I grow my wealth?
I know nothing about stocks/shares/ investing.
Welcome all advises. ☺️

Cash Poor = No need to invest liao
Cash is KING.
Buy Low Sell High.
You don't even have CASH to enter when it is LOW talk simi invest.

gold_eagle36

Focus on improving your cash flow. Income in...how is it being spent.

I think you can use robo to kickstart your investment journey, then learn from there. Endowus recommended.
At least DCA something monthly while figuring out where your cash is going monthly.

dappermen

Growing wealth is not just abt growing assets, but also about minimising expenses.
true!!!! very!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May i know or where to read on the benefits and disadvatanges of transfering OA to SA?
see the difffce 1st
https://www.cpf.gov.sg/member/growi...our-cpf-savings/cpf-investment-scheme-options
You can invest using your CPF savings from-OASa
Investment products included under CPFIS
Unit Trusts (UTs)YesYes
Higher risk UTs are not included
Investment-linked insurance products (ILPs)YesYes

Higher risk UTs are not included
AnnuitiesYesYes
Endowment policiesYesYes
Singapore Government Bonds (SGBs)YesYes
Treasury Bills (T-bills)YesYes
Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs)
YesNo products currently available

Higher risk ETFs are not included
Fund Management Accounts
YesNo
Fixed Deposits (FDs)No products currently available
Statutory Board BondsNo products currently available
Bonds Guaranteed by Singapore GovernmentNo products currently available
Up to 35% of investible savings (PDF, 0.1MB) can be invested in:
SharesYesNo
Property FundsYesNo
Corporate BondsYesNo
Up to 10% of investible savings (PDF, 0.1MB) can be invested in:
Gold ETFsYesNo
Other Gold products (such as Gold certificates, Gold savings accounts, Physical Gold)YesNo

BBCWatcher

That assumes the CPF Investment Scheme (OA) makes sense. Often it doesn't. Unfortunately the CPFIS is still a high cost way to invest (compared to choices available for cash), and I don't think it makes much sense until after you've exhausted OA to SA/RA transfer opportunities for self and relatives.

When you transfer OA to SA/RA you somewhat reduce liquidity (OA can be used for certain housing and education expenses; SA/RA cannot, at least not before age 55), and in exchange your dollars earn a much higher interest rate. The higher interest rate isn't strictly guaranteed, but it has proven to be reliably higher. Situations vary, but since my household has and had gobs of liquidity already it made perfect sense to transfer all OA dollars to SA as much and as quickly as allowed. And that's really the key question: how much OA-specific liquidity do you need to maintain at your particular age in your situation? If the answer is "less than my current OA balance," go ahead and transfer the surplus and take the great SA/RA deal(s).

limster

In 2020, despite the SGX market crash, 50% of CPFIS investors were able to generate >2.5% returns while 9% generated 0-2.5% returns. That's pretty impressive for a bad year for SGX and probably better than many keyboard warriors who never reveal their returns.

On a 5 year basis, 66% of CPFIS investors were able to generate >2.5% CAGR. Of this 66%, I'm sure a fair amount would have beaten CPF-SA's 4%.

I can exceed the 4% benchmark by simply collecting 3%+ dividends from STI ETF every year and enjoying capital gain. =:p

So if you are an above average investor, you should have no problem using the tools available in CPFIS to beat 4%. If you are below average, then maybe trying to beat CPF return is not for you.

isaacsayshi

Steps:

1. Build up 6 months of emergency funds. Higher up to 12 monhts.
2. Buy medical insurance like Incomeshield to cover for hospitlisation.
3. Read 3 books from library or buy:
a: Money wisdom : simple truths for financial wellness / Christopher Tan.
b. Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School Book by Andrew Hallam
c. Rich By Retirement: How Singaporeans Can Invest Smart .. Book by Joshua Giersch

Then you will grow wiser what to do with your wealth thereafter

BBCWatcher

I can exceed the 4% benchmark by simply collecting 3%+ dividends from STI ETF every year and enjoying capital gain. =:p
What capital gain? Not historically, or at least that's very unclear. The Straits Times Index hit its peak of 3,906.16 in October, 2007 -- over 14 years ago. The STI is currently (as I write this) a little over 20% below its all-time peak to date. You also have CPFIS (OA)-related costs to drag along, and they're fairly considerable.

I would take the "sure bet" 4.0% SA/MA/RA interest rate first. I'm very happy to find a place of pride in my investment portfolio for a high quality sovereign's 4.0% interest Singapore dollar vehicle in the amounts allowed. (The CPF Board's offer is quantity limited.)

I'm not suggesting the STI stocks are "bad." It's just that I don't think it's reasonable to forecast a long-term capital gain in the STI stocks when we basically haven't seen one for a couple decades.

limster

To quote a line from a movie "A man's got to know his limitations"

There are those who know how to make money from stocks, and those that don't. The latter should definitely just leave CPF alone to earn interest.

Of course in reality that doesn't happen and there will always be a significant number of investors who lose money in the stock market (though I am also full of respect for the 59% of CPFIS investors who made money in a bad year like 2020!)

In order for me to be able to buy STI ETF when it is undervalued, I need someone willing to buy STI ETF when it is overvalued and sell to me when its undervalued :s13:

Andrew833

To quote a line from a movie "A man's got to know his limitations"

There are those who know how to make money from stocks, and those that don't. The latter should definitely just leave CPF alone to earn interest.

Of course in reality that doesn't happen and there will always be a significant number of investors who lose money in the stock market (though I am also full of respect for the 59% of CPFIS investors who made money in a bad year like 2020!)

In order for me to be able to buy STI ETF when it is undervalued, I need someone willing to buy STI ETF when it is overvalued and sell to me when its undervalued :s13:
2020 is a good year for CPFIS investors.
2021 not so good year for CPFIS investors.
Too play safe, go for long term with dividend income. ;)

sohguanh

2020 is a good year for CPFIS investors.
2021 not so good year for CPFIS investors.
Too play safe, go for long term with dividend income. ;)
The problem with CPF investment is dividend also go back CPF not as cash you can withdraw all and spend. So alot of CPF funds say dividend is reinvested but if cash is paid out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.