Help with Sony MP3 models

akc850

Erm...meaning?

If you look at the model number e.g. NWZ-A846, they are models for overseas market and support direct USB drag and drop.

To create playlist, you can use WMP. I believe there are other players which can handle the playlist creation too.

For internal market models (Japan), they are labelled as NW-A846 (without the "Z"). These models need to use SonicStage for ATRAC format support and only has Japanese menu.

Hope that clears out some doubts.

black_star

i think im gonna get the NWZ-A846 soon... does it support chinese characters? or will it juz show jibberish?

pker88

i think im gonna get the NWZ-A846 soon... does it support chinese characters? or will it juz show jibberish?

beware this A series is EOL too
now only in japan got it
i aslo want it but ccant find it anymore

black_star

?!! for real!? u mean in spore cant find it liao? even in sony stores?
mmm... if so then can save money liao... hahah back to the iphone =p

wilson9343

A840 series still can get in hong kong...if anyone going there for holidays, can help bring back some? :s13:

or maybe wait for the new A850 series?

ya...newer sony dap cant display a few chinese characters in English mode, but can still read most. If you want display all, need to change to chinese mode.

Even X series also has this problem..

goodspeeds

A840 series still can get in hong kong...if anyone going there for holidays, can help bring back some? :s13:

or maybe wait for the new A850 series?

ya...newer sony dap cant display a few chinese characters in English mode, but can still read most. If you want display all, need to change to chinese mode.

Even X series also has this problem..

new a850 series?
when wil be in sg
as we alwasy get slowest

hk doubt it
but my friend might go JP

black_star

wow! the a850 series looks so much chioer! wah lau...
any idea on the price of the 64gb one? think maybe can wait for this instead hahaha

goodspeeds

he just went
but might be going back again

JP got all the stock on A series
like the 850
but asian is renamed got 845 i recall
and euro got he 64gb too
but asian is left out
so i think asian donthave the benefit

unless u go euro or jp
jp only in japaneses menu
if the white color one

if black is the worldwide version so its english

from the looks sony asia not soo active in bring mp3 due to alot of ipoo user in singapore already

black_star

he just went
but might be going back again

JP got all the stock on A series
like the 850
but asian is renamed got 845 i recall
and euro got he 64gb too
but asian is left out
so i think asian donthave the benefit

unless u go euro or jp
jp only in japaneses menu
if the white color one

if black is the worldwide version so its english

from the looks sony asia not soo active in bring mp3 due to alot of ipoo user in singapore already

is ur frd kind enuff to lopang one home for me? =p
in anyway... issit any cheaper in JP?

pker88

not realy

its more exp i just came from jp
its similar or abit more
after from YEN to sgd

but at least got stock in jp
but SG is EOL

flaveur

sian
Now I torn between cowon and sony. SHYT!
i was deliberating between the two as well. ended up getting the sony A-series. first noticeable differences were the loss of the ability to create on-the-fly playlist which i had with my old cowon player and to browse by file folder structure. sound-wise both sound good to me. radio reception is much better on the sony.

the sony players seem to produce more background noise when used with low impedence earphones.

black_star

is it possible to change the firmware of a jap version to an English one?
eBay have got stock... but is jap version

wilson9343

ya...A series has a slight background noise...my old A816 also, maybe sony has a built-in sound process for this series.

S series on the other hand is very clean, at least tats wat i hear on the S745... no background noise at all.

The slight noise is not an issue as after a few songs, you will get use to it and wont notice it. just need to warm up to the sound presentation i guess...

goodspeeds

is it possible to change the firmware of a jap version to an English one?
eBay have got stock... but is jap version

i doubt it
maybe u can look for some hacks if possible to hack'em
but too much of a hassle

why not go look for japan online order to ship in english version?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.