old one is model number 400+

this model is 500+

pker88

Odd I call sony they like duno what the hack and kepton say a series is eol

wilson9343

think never update their website lah... should have remove their eol products loh..or at least state that its eol...

plus the A840 series intro page also quite misleading... think we only have black color?

even Hong Kong got white color but in 8GB only...i thought all asia market should get same treatment? and their website is also nicer loh..still have A840 series stock in their website ah! but spore so fast eol liao...

http://www.sonystyle.com.hk/ss/product/walkman/a840/order.jsp

think sony spore losing many potential customers for this few months...esp now tat end of year & new year feative season, many will buy gifts either for others or themselves...

dunno wat local agent thinking? :look:

winszip

true.
Never know wat they thinking

but I see the specs like not much diff. u can spot any difference from the e-400+ series to the e-500+ series?

wilson9343

dunno about E series...only thing i notice is the new bundled iem instead of earpuds...

i thought u decided to go for the same A846 as blackstar?? y interested in E series now? with yr budget of $300 can get better player lah...

there is definately going to be some SQ compromise as you go down the series...from wat i hear between the X, A and S, there's abit of difference in SQ...so i assume the same for E too (considering cheaper components/parts used or simply tuned to sound lower-end by sony just to differentiate their products)...

if you are planning to set aside current budget for a nicer iem...can upgrade later lah..

just get the best player you can afford now...

once you have a good player/source...then slowly improve yr setup lah...maybe save up a bit afterwards and get a mid-range iem...then maybe some entry portable headphones tats easy to drive or in some nice desktop speakers like AE AegoM which is easy to setup for both good near-field listening and room filling sound.

used to connect my sony A816 to the AegoM...maintaining the sony player's musical signature + speakers is clean sounding & bassy enough...its very nice! :s13:

pker88

Check simlim no more a series Liao
havy norman Also
mustafa stillgot stock Meh?
If thus is so sg Is eol but when I was in Jp it still selling it
the jp version and the worldwide version which is for us as it in English menu

wilson9343

Check simlim no more a series Liao
havy norman Also
mustafa stillgot stock Meh?
If thus is so sg Is eol but when I was in Jp it still selling it
the jp version and the worldwide version which is for us as it in English menu

huh? thought since blackstar managed to find some A846 at mustafa...you never rush down and buy ah?

pker88

Hope didn't go Mustafa yet
maybe will try this weekend lor
u leh u own a a series ?

Silverback84

I just saw a A series Sony just now at mustafa... I used to be a Sony mp3 promoter but resigned last yr.

wilson9343

Hope didn't go Mustafa yet
maybe will try this weekend lor
u leh u own a a series ?

using X1050 rite now...sold my A846 to a friend after deciding on keeping the X...
although the sound presentation is not as upfront and exciting as the A840 initially..but after some time with it, begin to appreciate its smooth and "surround" sound.

currently also selling a S745 in the marketplace too...which i cant really get used to coming from an old A810 player as the treble is just tat bit less natural sounding to me...although its overall SQ and esp bass is still miles ahead of my old A810 lah...if i never listen to the A series player before..think l'll be perfectly fine as its still a pretty good & musical player.

pker88

using X1050 rite now...sold my A846 to a friend after deciding on keeping the X...
although the sound presentation is not as upfront and exciting as the A840 initially..but after some time with it, begin to appreciate its smooth and "surround" sound.

currently also selling a S745 in the marketplace too...which i cant really get used to coming from an old A810 player as the treble is just tat bit less natural sounding to me...although its overall SQ and esp bass is still miles ahead of my old A810 lah...if i never listen to the A series player before..think l'll be perfectly fine as its still a pretty good & musical player.

nice review
i also listurn to A n X serires before
overall notbad
even its S series is notbad too
overall SONY SQ is good standard
if u dontmind it UI is not as friendly like ipod

wilson9343

thx ah..but me also limited resources one lah...

only have sony dap so far.. got a ipod nano 3G many yrs ago but still prefer A816:s13:

dunno abt current apple player like itouch or iphone...seems like quite good loh..

pker88

thx ah..but me also limited resources one lah...

only have sony dap so far.. got a ipod nano 3G many yrs ago but still prefer A816:s13:

dunno abt current apple player like itouch or iphone...seems like quite good loh..

np bro
i own afew mp3 or walkman ahah
sinec the casselt era
and micro cassstle from sony

mostly is a SONY
i do own ipod nano
iriver
sony
now using nokia e72 as my main DAP
so am lookoing for a better DAP and lighter haah
so A series is my aim

but u use A series before righ
how is the battlife since it stated 28hrs
i wonder how correct is it
as i own a ipod nano is say 24hs but after i use its omg less than 1day is goes dry

to display chinese or japs song is it possible as i know sony is weak on this
VS ipod

wilson9343

A840 battery is not as good as my old A810...but good enough if you seldom switch on the "big" screen...which i find it hard as its very nice and i just cant stop staring at the album art ah!:s13:

dun think can reach 15 hrs of music? never really keep track lah...

pker88

A840 battery is not as good as my old A810...but good enough if you seldom switch on the "big" screen...which i find it hard as its very nice and i just cant stop staring at the album art ah!:s13:

dun think can reach 15 hrs of music? never really keep track lah...

oo soo bad ah cant reach even 15hrs of music
now it wil make me reconsider it liao
for me i use fm tuner and mp3 mostly
but video player is on and off

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.