hiring helper or nursing home?

hctawsgs

Option 3 : expensive and u & your mom cant see your dad. This is bad.

Family members can visit the resident everyday during visitation hours. Furthermore his dad can make new friends and take part in various social activities and group therapy exercises. Better than staying at home watching TV.

Another option for TS is senior day-care centers. Father can participate in social activites & physical therapy during the day when everyone is at work, and go back home in the evening to be with family members.

jericho75

Hiding FDW to take care of elderly with stroke is a nightmare. Most maids cant tahan and will ask to leave within 1-2 months. Exhausting process. I've to shower my mother daily when in-between maids.
Ideally is dun direct discharge and go home for stroke patient, stay at hospices or elderly care for 3-6 months. The nurses there will guide your parent on how to be accustom to disability condition, for eg how to walk, sit down, get in a car etc..... and physiotherapy sessions. First year of stroke, it's very dangerous of the victim falls down again, might lead to death

moi colleague says helper help those cannot move elders always run road one. her record last time was 5 helper in 1 year.

if chiu maid u rather look after kids. can play still not so quai lan.

KPO_SAHM

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k

Nursing home fee hasn't included diapers and doctor attending fee if U dad is unwell in nursing home. If Ur dad requires tube feeding then cost would be even higher.

If U hire a helper, U can't expect a helper to 100% take care of Ur dad , do housechores, cook for Ur family , go marketing and must handle Ur mum. No one would be so multi tasking. Out front U must let the helper knows Ur expectation and requirements. It is best to hiring a helper with tube feeding experience.

Muthucurry5678

Hire helper 1k+ including food and stuff. Can help your mother too if she needs. Can see your father often and no need to travel to visit him.
Hiring helper must find those good 1
Because its very hard to take care.
My grandmother also bed ridden, needs 2 workers to take care. Because she is very heavy, as now she always drink ensure only. Also good for mental health to get 2 workers also because its very tiring for them. U cant expect them to work 24/7

Think u sit down with your family members and discuss.

KPO_SAHM

i currently help carry my father at home. even i find it heavy to carry liao.

if u hire maid need to get those can carry heavy weight one

000cf1bdd03f11831caa01.JPG

There is a way of turning the patient n shifting th patient to wheelchair. My granny was bedridden. We attended courses to handle bedridden patient

KPO_SAHM

My current per capta is around 2k and yet can't get the 75% subsidy. Was rejected after submitting of the form

Ur sibling all staying with Ur parents??? Usually government based on total household income. If Ur mum works, U work and Ur siblings work (using Ur parents' address but already moved out) , it is impossible for U to apply welfare

menthol28

moi colleague says helper help those cannot move elders always run road one. her record last time was 5 helper in 1 year.

Yes, that's why I mentioned hiring FDW is the nightmare. I went thru 3 then got 1 that was willing to do and quite good.
Hence the suggestion is to send to hospice or elderly care first. Buy time to prepare the house and find FDW. Also good that they can learn how to cope with the disability, not easy suddenly disabled

jericho75

There is a way of turning the patient n shifting th patient to wheelchair. My granny was bedridden. We attended courses to handle bedridden patient

granny is easy. if men one heavy and tall not easy to move like sack of rice.

David Lai

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
if you’re looking into hiring a helper and needs time before 1 arrives, get the medical social worker to request for your father to be send to a tcf first. everything in, just like in hosipital…

depending on subsidy level, in my mum’s case its $75/day and medishield covered about 70 - 80%…

jericho75

Yes, that's why I mentioned hiring FDW is the nightmare. I went thru 3 then got 1 that was willing to do and quite good.
Hence the suggestion is to send to hospice or elderly care first. Buy time to prepare the house and find FDW. Also good that they can learn how to cope with the disability, not easy suddenly disabled

sometimes i go work time see those helper bringing kids to kindergarten. if i am helper i also wanna work and take care of kids.

then got one sat i saw west gate time zone arcade got helper playing along with the mum and 2 kids at some game machines. if u like that wanna work to help elder that cannot move one meh?

Spike

My current per capta is around 2k and yet can't get the 75% subsidy. Was rejected after submitting of the form
I had seen a successful case where the family deliberately bought a 3-rm HDB for the dementia mother for the sake of putting it as her residential address as a sole occupant so that they could apply for maximum subsidies in a nursing home. When she passed, the house was willed back to the children as her estate.

jericho75

My grandpa also bedridden tat time

bed ridden still ok. my father pattern is need to carry him take wheel chair come out watch tv 20-30 times a day. watch 30 mins carry in sleep 20 mins and carry out again. u can tahan meh?

only those construction workers then got strength to do such weight lifting.

David Lai

can check with your colleague which nationality are the 5 helpers?

jericho75

but nursing home is like 100% go in wait to die. day care still ok. like WFO instead of WFH.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.