Home loan fixed interest rate hike shocks customers of DBS, OCBC and UOB

jericho75

Is it? Depends on CPF balance and loan amount bah. My new neighbours borrowed from HDB.

Buying properties is a long term commitment, have to think of various factors carefully....just buy an affordable unit.

i dunno but i think those buy expensive hdb usually go for bank loans because easier to get big amount and low rates.

pohw0008

See 3m sora. Sure increase one. If banks can give 3.4% fd. Means they know something.
3 month sora can only go as high as daily sora.. it's increasing because have not reach daily sora % now which..

Etc 2.41% now will increase to 3+%

jericho75

3 month sora can only go as high as daily sora.. it's increasing because have not reach daily sora % now which..

Etc 2.41% now will increase to 3+%

see fed hike another one next week. then mas will need to keep sgd strong. if weaken then rates might go up.

coolhead

Close to 3 years back when we got our key, I told my wife to consider bank loan.
Then 2 years back, I tell my wife I will tahan all the interest rate if we convert to bank loan since my cpf can cover the bank loan interest.
I think I can be thankful now.

caelitus

Based on the Fed's DOT plot, rates are still forecasted to rise into 2023 with any expectations for rate cuts to happen in 2024. Of course, Powell is under some pressure from the politicians not to raise rates by 75 basis points. We shall see based on the next FOMC if that comes to pass. Expectations are for a 50 basis points increase for 1-2 Nov FOMC.

In summary, home rates will still continue to rise. But it looks like most of the household balance sheets here will be able to tank it.

jericho75

Based on the Fed's DOT plot, rates are still forecasted to rise into 2023 with any expectations for rate cuts to happen in 2024. Of course, Powell is under some pressure from the politicians not to raise rates by 75 basis points. We shall see based on the next FOMC if that comes to pass. Expectations are for a 50 basis points increase for 1-2 Nov FOMC.

In summary, home rates will still continue to rise. But it looks like most of the household balance sheets here will be able to tank it.

Powell should ignore Brandon and hike by 100 bps.

jericho75

100bps will be about there based on 2 yr yield but likely spread over Nov and Dec.

Powell dilly dally cannot bring down inflation one. need Volcker type of shock until ppl dun dare to borrow then inflation will drop.

coolhead

Powell dilly dally cannot bring down inflation one. need Volcker type of shock until ppl dun dare to borrow then inflation will drop.
He didn't dilly dally. It takes time for rise of interest rates to affect inflation with a time lag of 1year approx to kick in. It's not a immediate cause and effect where if he raise 100bps today, tomorrow inflation will drop 50bps. Alternatively, he can do Volcker shock by raising 2000bps immediately but what will be the consequences?

coolhead

notice how the 2 yr yield is able to pre-empt the direction and magnitude of the fed funds rate.

SDrgWuy.png

jericho75

He didn't dilly dally. It takes time for rise of interest rates to affect inflation with a time lag of 1year approx to kick in. It's not a immediate cause and effect where if he raise 100bps today, tomorrow inflation will drop 50bps. Alternatively, he can do Volcker shock by raising 2000bps immediately but what will be the consequences?

actually he hike so much no impacts u know why? balance sheet only reduced by 200 billions after so long. when they qe time no jjww one. jitao drop rates from 3% to zero within a month then print 120 billions very quickly. they better buck up else dedollarization is coming at a faster rate.

coolhead

actually he hike so much no impacts u know why? balance sheet only reduced by 200 billions after so long. when they qe time no jjww one. jitao drop rates from 3% to zero within a month then print 120 billions very quickly. they better buck up else dedollarization is coming at a faster rate.
We talk so much and tell fed what to do no use de. The bond market is very smart on this.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.