Home renovation so expensive

Sen Sen

If want to look high class/ atas/ all used very good & durable materials, that’s why so expensive..

hachi

Why nowadays home renovation so expensive? I want to do a simple 4-5 room hdb flat also 80-100k. Not even doing much carpentry.

8 years ago, 35k I can settle the whole renovation for my old flat for similar work done.
Now same... Just did mine with flooring... Whole house carpentry... 45k... 4 rm. All people use ID. Cos I find direct contractors.

hachi

Increase 1-2% GST, reno cost will increase from $35k to $80-100k…Sinkies reno tokways are “chop carrot head” world champion. :ROFLMAO:
The overhead crazy... My house warming my frds said did I spend alot... I say no... They was like what... Now no 100k no talk..

nachtsid.er

seen many rednote ID firms advertising they can design and ship everything for installation in sg

hachi

this... HDB dont ned ID... unless trying v hard to make it look less like HDB, more like condo.... imo most couples are guilty of it... you see hw hard to try lah... bomb shelter oso want to conceal... wiring oso want to conceal although nt allowed... smart lighting... feature wall... wabi sabi... do all this sure $120k...

my uncle juz renovated his whole hdb flat... his son help him settle... they go with contractor... no ID... juz pick simple theme ... wood and white paint... contractor follow... he do everything only $25k like tt... without appliances....
Yes... Functional... Not house warming type of reno.... I got my first house so I where I should spend money on.

Concrete support for sink area. Now even water leak no issue.
Kitchen top and back wash.. All sintered stones.
Flooring, eproxy grout with polishing. Make the floor look like one piece and easy to clean.

kodomo80

Ask the cleaners downstairs if they got lobang for hacking/drilling of tiles. Should be less than $300 to settle the whole house.
nowadays cleaners not stupid liao, $300 they wun do such jobs or they will nego price with you.

hachi

Wanna want to engage me.. I don't mind do sideline... Simple, functional minilist look design.... 4 rm bto... Without OCS. 50k.

qhong61

Yes... Functional... Not house warming type of reno.... I got my first house so I where I should spend money on.

Flooring, eproxy grout with polishing. Make the floor look like one piece and easy to clean.
Backsplash

coolhead

$45k for these?

pohw0008

Why nowadays home renovation so expensive? I want to do a simple 4-5 room hdb flat also 80-100k. Not even doing much carpentry.

8 years ago, 35k I can settle the whole renovation for my old flat for similar work done.
Price have double like 10 years ago..

Min Min

Now same... Just did mine with flooring... Whole house carpentry... 45k... 4 rm. All people use ID. Cos I find direct contractors.

lol heng you say here instead of elsewhere 🤣 cos other people are paying around 35k tops for bto 4rm with full carpentry, sintered stones, epoxy/microcement flooring and everything else with direct independent contractors

your 45k is already considered expensive liao

hachi

lol heng you say here instead of elsewhere 🤣 cos other people are paying around 35k tops for bto 4rm with full carpentry, sintered stones, epoxy/microcement flooring and everything else with direct independent contractors

your 45k is already considered expensive liao
Oh I see... I thought people not expensive dont like... No 100k reno meaning no good... Those cannot afford will always doomed next gen or blame ruling party.

Dont tell me TB carpentry works... Saw a yt video... Alot of holes here and there cos those who made and install are 2 different party...

Perishable

npnt.

relative say 40k whole house with carpentry. i went to see.. low quality stuff, edges not rounded, workmanship like crap, cheap laminate, cheap china sintered stone.

SkyNinja

npnt.

relative say 40k whole house with carpentry. i went to see.. low quality stuff, edges not rounded, workmanship like crap, cheap laminate, cheap china sintered stone.

After 5 years MOP sell liao.

You renovated nice. The buyer lowball you, say don't like the current design

You renovated cheap cheap. The buyer lowball you. You still got buffer to play.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.