Hoshino Resorts reveal Agoda (subsidiary of Booking Holdings which also own Booking.com) engages in fraudulent resale of hotel rooms

koreanlover

my friend said he booked hotel in batam using agoda earlier this year, but the hotel could not find his booking.
then he had problem getting a refund for the booking from agoda.
end up he initiated a chargeback with the card issuer, don't know what is the outcome.

5adisticD3vil

actually why ppl still wanna book via agoda or booking.com ah? most accredited hotels have price guarantee. just book via official website, reference agoda or booking.com or hotels.com or whatever.com prices if they are somehow lower than official website and the hotel will honour the same price for confirm plus chop booking.

some ppl like to have one app to control everything, esp when you have multiple hotel bookings for the trip.

wongkc

I had been using Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia for the past few years... so far no issue...

After every booking made on the app... I always either email the hotel directly... or msg the hotel using the app... to confirm my booking... and also to check parking arrangement... arrange for humidifier, extra towels etc... to make sure everything is in order...

wongkc

Hard truth is no matter what the hotel tells you that booking direct from them is the cheapest, it never is.

Not really... Sometimes hotels got other promo that was not reflected in these apps... especially those that has "early 90/60 days booking" or "long stay" promo... could be 10-30% cheaper than what these apps offered... Not always is the case but it is always good to check the rates directly on the hotel website also to make a comparison...

One thing good about all these apps is that usually they are able to choose "pay later" or "pay at hotel" options... usually direct hotel website wants payment first... if cancel then refund you according to their cancellation policies... usually will still incur exchange loss...

stanlawj

I had been using Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia for the past few years... so far no issue...

After every booking made on the app... I always either email the hotel directly... or msg the hotel using the app... to confirm my booking... and also to check parking arrangement... arrange for humidifier, extra towels etc... to make sure everything is in order...
Why need to defend Agoda? Your good experience does not explain why bookings failed for others.

The main reason to use Agoda is when the hotel does not have a proper online booking site (also in the customer's language). But if Agoda is advertising for rooms that don't exist, isn't this still fraud and deceptive service?

shirleytham91

Hoshino Resorts reveals the reality of "Agoda malicious resale"... The "damage" that was occurring behind the scenes of President Hoshino's unusual post​

Jun Sakurai, Group Director of Group Marketing at Hoshino Resorts, said:
Hoshino Resorts, which says that "more than five to ten problems occur per day" with Agoda.

(Mr. Sakurai), spoke to us about the actual problems and their causes.

"Hoshino Resorts does not have a contract with the online travel agency AGODA, but there have been frequent cases where people who made reservations through AGODA arrived and were unable to secure a room. Just the other day, a customer made a reservation through AGODA for a hotel that was closed for maintenance. There is some kind of problem with AGODA's system." (From a post by President Hoshino X)

According to Hoshino Resorts, they have been issuing warnings on their official website since the beginning of 2025, but there are no signs of improvement, and in fact, there is a possibility that the damage may get worse.

Agoda, headquartered in Singapore, began its services in 2005. In 2007, it was acquired by Booking.com's parent company Booking Holdings (then Priceline Group), and now Agoda and Booking.com are part of the same parent company.

Regarding problems with reservations made through Agoda, Sakurai points out that "these issues have been occurring frequently even before the COVID-19 pandemic."

The same problem has occurred through other foreign online accommodation booking sites, but there have been some cases where the problem has been improved since then. However, with regards to Agoda, "there is no sign of any improvement at all," says Sakurai.

Hoshino Resorts places importance on reservations made through its own website, and is also known for "narrowing down the number of travel agencies with which it partners and contracts," according to Sakurai.

Although the company has contracts with some OTAs (Online Travel Agents), it does not have a contract with Agoda for its domestic accommodations.

-machine translated from:
https://www.businessinsider.jp/article/2506-hoshinoresort-agoda-booking-trouble/
Wah, Agoda like that really cannot make it leh. Say got room but actually hotel never approve, end up customer kena stuck or overcharged. Like kena scam sia. Next time better book direct with hotel, more peace of mind.

standarture

Thats why i prefer to book using hotel website. And 3rd party websites not necessary much cheaper also. Most of the time the hotel website has the best rate but less flexibility.

Full_Cream_Milk

Thats why i prefer to book using hotel website. And 3rd party websites not necessary much cheaper also. Most of the time the hotel website has the best rate but less flexibility.
I think most here don’t have membership with major hotel brands,

If have, will book direct with the hotel to earn loyalty points and enjoy other perks upon checkin.

Booking on third party sites no to earn points and also

More likely bo bah gey. Need to reach hotel then find out surprise.

Direct with hotel may be more ex but saving that few dollars to play risk not worth it lah…holiday

Dudick

Why need to defend Agoda? Your good experience does not explain why bookings failed for others.

The main reason to use Agoda is when the hotel does not have a proper online booking site (also in the customer's language). But if Agoda is advertising for rooms that don't exist, isn't this still fraud and deceptive service?

He is sharing his own actual experience, why so agitated? You got scammed by agoda? Share your experience then

icebleue

yah. Usually I just look at google map , the location/train station nearby , narrow down a few hotels

activate shopback , open the booking,trip, agoda & direct hotel sites , keyed in the dates. And compare prices. :s13:

doesnt take much of the time. Less than 1/2 hour gao dim. :s12:
ShopBack is also a nice scam.
Agoda and Trip up price by 10% so that they can give you the 8% Cashback.
You can try doing a direct booking now…
Den exit and use ShopBack… the price will go up.

alimusthafa83

Hoshino Resorts reveals the reality of "Agoda malicious resale"... The "damage" that was occurring behind the scenes of President Hoshino's unusual post​

Jun Sakurai, Group Director of Group Marketing at Hoshino Resorts, said:
Hoshino Resorts, which says that "more than five to ten problems occur per day" with Agoda.

(Mr. Sakurai), spoke to us about the actual problems and their causes.

"Hoshino Resorts does not have a contract with the online travel agency AGODA, but there have been frequent cases where people who made reservations through AGODA arrived and were unable to secure a room. Just the other day, a customer made a reservation through AGODA for a hotel that was closed for maintenance. There is some kind of problem with AGODA's system." (From a post by President Hoshino X)

According to Hoshino Resorts, they have been issuing warnings on their official website since the beginning of 2025, but there are no signs of improvement, and in fact, there is a possibility that the damage may get worse.

Agoda, headquartered in Singapore, began its services in 2005. In 2007, it was acquired by Booking.com's parent company Booking Holdings (then Priceline Group), and now Agoda and Booking.com are part of the same parent company.

Regarding problems with reservations made through Agoda, Sakurai points out that "these issues have been occurring frequently even before the COVID-19 pandemic."

The same problem has occurred through other foreign online accommodation booking sites, but there have been some cases where the problem has been improved since then. However, with regards to Agoda, "there is no sign of any improvement at all," says Sakurai.

Hoshino Resorts places importance on reservations made through its own website, and is also known for "narrowing down the number of travel agencies with which it partners and contracts," according to Sakurai.

Although the company has contracts with some OTAs (Online Travel Agents), it does not have a contract with Agoda for its domestic accommodations.

-machine translated from:
https://www.businessinsider.jp/article/2506-hoshinoresort-agoda-booking-trouble/
Wah Agoda really too much sia. Reselling hotel rooms without permission? Like that people book liao then kena no room or wrong room, very jialat leh. Next time better just book direct with hotel lor—safer and no need gamble with your holiday.

wongkc

I am not defending Agoda... I am just citing my own experiences with all these apps... not just Agoda... I am not diminishing other pples misfortune...

And I also mentioned my practice of contacting the hotel either directly thru email or thru the app to double confirm the booking... to avoid/prevent any miscommunications btw me, the booking app and the hotels... just to be sure...

You dun like it then you can always choose not to use it... Anyway thanks for the article for awareness...

drkcynic

Weird people read 1 article and start jumping up and down crying murder on these 3rd party platforms.

Nobody is dictating what you should use. People relating actual experiences also kenna shoot.

Siao langs many.

stanlawj

Weird people read 1 article and start jumping up and down crying murder on these 3rd party platforms.

Nobody is dictating what you should use. People relating actual experiences also kenna shoot.

Siao langs many.
You are also not able to explain why Agoda's bookings failed.

https://soranews24.com/2025/06/19/m...-via-overseas-booking-sites-may-not-be-valid/

Toyoko Inn, one of Japan’s largest budget hotel chains, with roughly 350 properties and 77,000 rooms across Japan, has put out an announcement warning travelers that the company may not have received their reservation if they made it through an overseas booking site. The problem isn’t limited to shady, fly-by-night organizations, either, as Toyoko Inn’s press release regarding the matter makes specific mention of Agoda, the Singapore-based subsidiary of the American-headquartered Booking Holdings, which is also the parent company of Booking.com.
- 19 June, 2025.

drkcynic

You are also not able to explain why Agoda's bookings failed.

https://soranews24.com/2025/06/19/m...-via-overseas-booking-sites-may-not-be-valid/

Toyoko Inn, one of Japan’s largest budget hotel chains, with roughly 350 properties and 77,000 rooms across Japan, has put out an announcement warning travelers that the company may not have received their reservation if they made it through an overseas booking site. The problem isn’t limited to shady, fly-by-night organizations, either, as Toyoko Inn’s press release regarding the matter makes specific mention of Agoda, the Singapore-based subsidiary of the American-headquartered Booking Holdings, which is also the parent company of Booking.com.
- 19 June, 2025.
Why MH370 disappear?

You don't take plane la. Joker.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.