Housing Dilemma

iphone1s

TS, I am looking forward to see if you'd get Geylang or Bidadari at your first shot.

kyteo79

today the society has gone to a stage where you ask .. and then you get what you need, you walk away ...

there is no gratitude nor any form of politeness ..

only thinking ownself big head and everybody owes you an answer.

Very jialat.

Thank you for reading my bo liao statement. have a great day!

justforipad

today the society has gone to a stage where you ask .. and then you get what you need, you walk away ...

there is no gratitude nor any form of politeness ..

only thinking ownself big head and everybody owes you an answer.

Very jialat.

Thank you for reading my bo liao statement. have a great day!

Today, society has degraded to a level where some people thinks that the world owes them a living and their level of self-importance is at an all time high.

spurman

Aiyo...... good to know ts can make some good monies in the near future....

And thus bring my question why hager over small monies now? Simi grants. Etc.....

Dun fret too much lar.... get a flat and then tink in future how to get a 2nd flat better.

Tink so narrow for what... first house consperm appreciate meh??? Ec consperm appreciate meh.. appreciate 100k after 5yrs.. tats obie 20k a yr.. worth your effort or not??

Why not think how to make your first 20k a month salary consistently first mah. Get used to making 20k and above income tax a yr first....

Then u realise all those small monies u fret about is nothing significant liao.

Rather spend time looking for your next vacation... your baby planning. Looking after your kids and parents. Family life etc.

Your next bmw 5 series. Etc

justforipad

And thus bring my question why hager over small monies now? Simi grants. Etc.....

Dun fret too much lar.... get a flat and then tink in future how to get a 2nd flat better.

Tink so narrow for what... first house consperm appreciate meh??? Ec consperm appreciate meh.. appreciate 100k after 5yrs.. tats obie 20k a yr.. worth your effort or not??

Why not think how to make your first 20k a month salary consistently first mah. Get used to making 20k and above income tax a yr first....

Rather spend time looking for your next vacation... your baby planning. Looking after your kids and parents. Family life etc.

Please excuse me, what's consperm and obie?:s11:

kyteo79

Today, society has degraded to a level where some people thinks that the world owes them a living and their level of self-importance is at an all time high.

I missed Mr Lee Kuan Yew. Let remain 1 mintue silcence and delicate this 60 secs to this old father of singapore. No him - how to majulah ?

depend TS ? 15% increase his pay not 15% increase sgp GDP

kyteo79

I am also not used to paying such high taxes when i think of TS statement of 3.5k take home and 15% projection pay increment and still want grant.

Suckers of the society ...

++

otherwise i am fine with our govt being charitable to give elders money because it is not govt whom give them but we tax payers.

As a single, i pay high taxes, do charity, pay fines and humble .... I am happy i can give and help needy and help build bigger roads.

TS = Needy or taking advantage ? today people like that huh ? finding ways to siam ? dunno why such mentality.

kyteo79

people see me no up just because i address them boss ...
people gets big head and become arrogant.

kyteo79

Hi, first, thank you in advance for the helpful comments/suggestions that you may provide.

About us

I am 28 years old, and she's 27 years old. We are aiming to get married before she turns 30. In other words, within the next 3 years or so. We are open to staying at one of our parents' place for a year to a year and a half after marriage at most.

Issue 1 - How are we assessed for grants?

We are currently both full time students, save to say, we have no real income nor any savings in our CPF accounts. Any purchase will be largely dependent on grants, if we are eligible in the first place. However, we are not that sure whether we are even eligible for the grants, AHG, SHG and whatnots.

We have never had full time employment, but I've been running a photography sideline but I've never earned more than a few hundred bucks a month. I've been running this sideline through a sole proprietorship that I registered only late last year despite having engaged in the business for a couple of years.

In such circumstances, will we be eligible for any grants say for the upcoming BTO window in may/june? If not, when, if ever, will we be eligible for the grants?

Issue 2 - BTO or EC?

We will be graduating in about june/july 2018. We have secured jobs and our estimated combined income starting in October 2018 will be about $7000 take home pay. Reviewing the pay schemes of our industry, we are projected to secure a combined take home pay of $10,000 by 2021, if not earlier.

In such circumstances, should we go for a BTO, which will take a good 3-4 years to complete at the minimum, or should we go for an EC, where we have to save diligently to afford the DP sometime in 2019/2020?

Issue 3 - Financial payments

How do we secure a HDB/Bank loan, will they assess our income at the point of booking our flat, exercising the OTP or when collecting the keys? Also, when do we need to pay the remainder of the downpayment in cash, where not already offset by any grants that we might receive?

Bearing in mind, of course, that there's other miscellaneous fees that have to be paid in cash such as stamp duty, etc.

Thank you all again, for going through this rather lengthy post. Will appreciate any comments or answers that you might have :)

Alot of networking session .. i see trainees or those attachment students or final year student giving their private namecards in exchange for ours. then they will send resumes to our hr. tons of dreams ... good luck to your first week/year in working society in 2018.

spurman

I am also not used to paying such high taxes when i think of TS statement of 3.5k take home and 15% projection pay increment and still want grant.

++

otherwise i am fine with our govt being charitable to give elders money because it is not govt whom give them but we tax payers.

As a single, i pay high taxes, do charity, pay fines and humble .... I am happy i can give and help needy and help build bigger roads.

TS = Needy or taking advantage ? today people like that huh ? finding ways to siam ? dunno why such mentality.

Yup. Leave the grants to those really needy ones......

Learn to earn your own keep. Dun assume u will make this fig.. learn how to share wealth. Make wealth. Rather than spend time finsing loopholes in grants...

Peace.

Adjacentangles

++

Can see why u remain single. Good for u.

They have every right to apply for grants now because they are eligible. Our current government advocates early family planning, it is not easy for young couples to start a family in Singapore, especially so for undergraduates. I don't see anything wrong in them applying for grants to secure their matrimonial home.

It's great that they see their future career in a positive light. Whether they get their projected increment or not will not affect u. Why r u shooting them down with ur jaded comments? Hope and optimism is what we need in this cynical society.

I don't know why u find the need to attack people who think differently from u. I am not against ur comments but I do hope that u can put them across more positively. It will definitely make the cyber world a better place :)

coolhead

Ts, take the naysayers here with a pinch of salt. At where you are now just entering the workforce, the financial honeymoon period is the best time to take risks. For the majority of us, the salary increments in the first few years are fixed as the otj training and hands on gives us the highest increase in productivity. At our age, it is appropriate to aim higher. But always give yourself abit of breathing space for any contingencies.

iamveryguailan

wow this thread is still ongoing

ts didn't mention anything about his family background. What if his family has a 9 figure net worth? Then this argument is pointless.

kyteo79

Ts, take the naysayers here with a pinch of salt. At where you are now just entering the workforce, the financial honeymoon period is the best time to take risks. For the majority of us, the salary increments in the first few years are fixed as the otj training and hands on gives us the highest increase in productivity. At our age, it is appropriate to aim higher. But always give yourself abit of breathing space for any contingencies.

Kan Kan lai ...

Go for EC or condo ... no money dun worry ... bank, parents, legal ah longs all there to support your dreams.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.