Housing Dilemma

kingkongikiss

bot testing software 123
selling auto bot software alike this, contact 86 999 116.

kingkongikiss

bot testing software 123
selling auto bot software alike this, contact 86 999 116.

iphone1s

3.5 k per pax is take home pay bro.

To be honest, we will be relying 100% of our CPF monthly contributions to pay off the mortgage. Should either of us gets retrenched, we will not be able to pay off the mortgage on our own and will have to borrow from our families or tapping into whatever's left in our endowment funds. I believe that there's no much left in there now having spent substantial sums of money for our education.

Please elaborate? I'm a little lost here, don't most people take on loans for their housing?

U iphone - he andriod operating system ...

no money but wana seem to have money and own properties and then have cars and all the mei meis. then oversea properties and buy oil fieldd and plantation.

same school schools and play monopoly.

waste breathe ... if kopitiam talk i tell him to start proper savings ..

uncle iPhone1s have a milo tin can.
uncle iPhone1s buy a BTO HDB
uncle iPhone1s was told that the BTO price is $360k
uncle iPhone1s said ok and tell them to wrap it up for me.
uncle iPhone1s went into agreement with them to pay ASAP.
uncle iPhone1s sad that need to pay abit more because uncle iphone1s now no money.
uncle iPhone1s bo pian, pay abit more interest but clear as fast as possible
uncle iPhone1s went home happy

uncle iPhone1s along the way saw a new shop selling curry puff
uncle iPhone1s was told that the curry puff cost $1.20
uncle iPhone1s paid $1.20 and ate it

uncle iPhone1s do not know how to invest
uncle iPhone1s should have taken a 25 year loan for his HDB
uncle iPhone1s should have taken a 2 weeks loan for his curry puff
uncle iPhone1s should pay $0.20 and invest the $1.00 and payback extra interest for the curry puff.

uncle iPhone1s is stupid.

:sad: :sad: :sad:

kyteo79

uncle iPhone1s have a milo tin can.
uncle iPhone1s buy a BTO HDB
uncle iPhone1s was told that the BTO price is $360k
uncle iPhone1s said ok and tell them to wrap it up for me.
uncle iPhone1s went into agreement with them to pay ASAP.
uncle iPhone1s sad that need to pay abit more because uncle iphone1s now no money.
uncle iPhone1s bo pian, pay abit more interest but clear as fast as possible

uncle iPhone1s along the way saw a new shop selling curry puff
uncle iPhone1s was told that the curry puff cost $1.20
uncle iPhone1s paid $1.20 and ate it

uncle iPhone1s do not know how to invest
uncle iPhone1s should have taken a 25 year loan for his HDB
uncle iPhone1s should have taken a 2 weeks loan for his curry puff
uncle iPhone1s should pay $0.20 and invest the $1.00 and payback extra interest for the curry puff.

uncle iPhone1s is stupid.

:sad: :sad: :sad:

BE LIKE UNCLE IPHONE1s

Tormented Soul

We really like a property that's new, ie. BTO, at least a 4 room and finally, definitely somewhere near to work area (CBD) as we will be spending a good 12-15 hours of our daily lives working.

Whilst the economy is generally in a downturn, and our industry's average starting pay has dropped to around 3.5k PCM, we are still optimistic that we can afford our 4 room BTO.

We will only consider EC options closer to 2020-2021, but of course the 200k DP will still be an issue then. Preferably we will get a BTO, and we will be trying for the popular options through to 2020. As far as possible, we want to make full use of the grants available and to obtain a public housing as our first property while looking longer term, invest in private properties overseas to generate our passive income.

Thank you. Our first choice is of course, still a 4 room bto in one of the mature estates, can't make up our mind whether to go for the upcoming bidadari or geylang one. Gonna be taking a HDB loan and will need to place 10% deposit, estimated around 50k + misc fees.

And that's precisely why I emphasized on whether we are eligible for grants. Should the HDB and CPF board decide to award us the grant, we will only need to fork out cash for the misc fees. As some of the enthusiastic members here have already mentioned, CASH is King while DEBT is good. Thus with grants, we will get to preserve our cash and I will not need to liquidate my stock holdings. At the same time, we will be able to incur some healthy debt to purchase our first property.

Assuming it takes 4 years from may 2017 to complete, we should take our keys in May 2021. By then, we would have been working for around 2.5 years and will have $60k in our CPF combined to be wiped out for the leasehold. Cash wise probably way lesser, as we believe that the wedding will wipe out most if not all of our cash.
That makes more sense. The reason people are jumping all over you might be because you could have sounded a tad immature in certain aspect of your initial post.

4 room BTO is definitely affordable with your current projected pay, even not taking into account of its future increases. With prudent savings and investment it should be pretty comfortable for a 4 room in a mature estate. I would go for Geylang, the location is better with loads of great amenities (old airport road, stadium, 24hr supermarket, good no. of bus services, top schools etc) nearby. But of course, to maximise your chances, you might want to see if Bidadari is less popular this time round so you might want to consider it, it's still a great plot.

EC is a good after-option to consider once you settle down with your BTO 5-10 years down the line. Then we can reopen your EC suggestion. Good luck.

Pokémon

That makes more sense. The reason people are...still a great plot.

Agree.

EC is a good after-option to consider once you settle down with your BTO 5-10 years down the line. Then we can reopen your EC suggestion. Good luck.

Yes, and who knows TS might not even want an EC by then, but a PC or even landed.

kyteo79

That makes more sense. The reason people are jumping all over you might be because you could have sounded a tad immature in certain aspect of your initial post.

4 room BTO is definitely affordable with your current projected pay, even not taking into account of its future increases. With prudent savings and investment it should be pretty comfortable for a 4 room in a mature estate. I would go for Geylang, the location is better with loads of great amenities (old airport road, stadium, 24hr supermarket, good no. of bus services, top schools etc) nearby. But of course, to maximise your chances, you might want to see if Bidadari is less popular this time round so you might want to consider it, it's still a great plot.

YEAR 1 - $ 7000 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $8050
YEAR 2 - $ 8050 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $9257.5
YEAR 3 - $ 9257.5 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $10,646.125
YEAR 4 - $10,646.125 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $12,243.05
YEAR 5 - $12,243.05 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $14,079.50
YEAR 6 - $14,079.50 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $16,191.4
YEAR 7 - $16,191.4 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $18,620.14
YEAR 8 - $18,620.14 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $21,413.16
YEAR 9 - $21,413.16 (TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $24,625.13
YEAR 10 - $24,625.13(TAKE HOME PAY) + 15% = $28,318.90

HUART LAHHHH

Silvialite

HUART LAHHHH

Like that how to take grant and buy EC????

kyteo79

Like that how to take grant and buy EC????

HEADHUNTED

Dun picha his lobang lah ...

Like we said HDB will bring up the ceiling one dun worry ...

but let me share i already wait 2 elections liao ...

waste my time ... cannot means cannot ..

Silvialite

HEADHUNTED

Dun picha his lobang lah ...

Like we said HDB will bring up the ceiling one dun worry ...

but let me share i already wait 2 elections liao ...

waste my time ... cannot means cannot ..

Doubt they'll raise the ceiling to 100k per month. :(

Derlei09

HUART LAHHHH

sorry i do not understand the calculations.. why got + 15%?

Pynchmail

There are still some jobs in some industries where it is possible to project one's pay over the next 3-4 years because employers there pay for experience gained in the first few years. Examples are in the civil service, legal service, and some professional jobs like accounting, medicine, and even the army, navy etc.

In many of these industries, chances of being retrenched in the first few years are not that high. To protect against illness etc., one need to consider buying insurance.

However, the biggest risk of losing one's income is not due to retrenchment or illness but due to finding the job not suitable and quitting voluntarily. This unfortunately is very common. Many young graduates quit without finding a new job thinking that getting a new job shouldn't be a problem. Only after quitting did they realise that sometimes getting a new job is not easy. Also, many new mothers want to look after their kid full time and will quit. Nothing wrong with that, we just need to be aware and plan for the possibility.

kyteo79

There are still some jobs in some industries where it is possible to project one's pay over the next 3-4 years because employers there pay for experience gained in the first few years. Examples are in the civil service, legal service, and some professional jobs like accounting, medicine, and even the army, navy etc.

In many of these industries, chances of being retrenched in the first few years are not that high. To protect against illness etc., one need to consider buying insurance.

However, the biggest risk of losing one's income is not due to retrenchment or illness but due to finding the job not suitable and quitting voluntarily. This unfortunately is very common. Many young graduates quit without finding a new job thinking that getting a new job shouldn't be a problem. Only after quitting did they realise that sometimes getting a new job is not easy. Also, many new mothers want to look after their kid full time and will quit. Nothing wrong with that, we just need to be aware and plan for the possibility.

agree but TS is Headhunted so i reckon he has a big reputation in the industry.

jump ship should be common in todays context

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.