How do u all save money?

akwl88

ya lor.. how to save money nowadays lehh?? i dont really save money, i am a person more towards enjoying every moment. e.g travel and shop all i can when i am still young.. i worried when i am old in my 40s or 50s, even wan to travel, knee also aching, or body cannot take it.. so i rather spend my money while young in my teen years and 20s..:s13::s13:

lol yolo mentality :s22: dont know how to help you when you cant help yourself.

simi knee ache or body cannot take it. ah ma ah pek some work tough jobs also can survive.

not sure where the notion of rather spend money when young came from. you mean above 30,40 jiu cannot spend money liao?? :s13:

Treewine23

ya lor.. how to save money nowadays lehh?? i dont really save money, i am a person more towards enjoying every moment. e.g travel and shop all i can when i am still young.. i worried when i am old in my 40s or 50s, even wan to travel, knee also aching, or body cannot take it.. so i rather spend my money while young in my teen years and 20s..:s13::s13:

What is more scary is when you are 40s and 50s and u need money and work and u realise no one want you anymore as u are deemed too old and u are in deep debt due to your yolo in your 20s.

starfish.starfish

Yessss pls spend more, spend all.
Help SG economy. We need more ppl like you !
Kekekeke

havetheveryfun

no one asking u not to spend money on travel and shopping. its good to pamper or reward yourself sometimes.

but not to the extent of getting into debt just for it. if you don't want to save, by all means go ahead - some ppl just have no issues getting a job and living day by day.

but getting into debt just for shopping and travel is a completely different story

lls0101

Lets go back to sharing how to save money.

Like someone previously mentioned about not buying drinks during meals when eating outside. That is what I always do as well. $1.50 save might seems little but if accumulates over time, it will come up to be a significance amount.

Another thing I always do is having breakfast at home. Buying beehoon or anything else for $2-3 everyday is wasteful to me... Also coffee is no longer cheap. I bring my own 3 in 1 coffee and drink in the office in the morning. Bring your own hot water if your office do not have a hot flask.

Lastly, I avoid food court whenever is possible. For the same food with the same quantity, food court is always almost $1-2 more than kopitiam. There is no reason to spend for extra for the same food.

Saving money is not that hard. Just need some extra effort :)

Perisher

Like someone previously mentioned about not buying drinks during meals when eating outside. That is what I always do as well. $1.50 save might seems little but if accumulates over time, it will come up to be a significance amount.

Another thing I always do is having breakfast at home. Buying beehoon or anything else for $2-3 everyday is wasteful to me... Also coffee is no longer cheap. I bring my own 3 in 1 coffee and drink in the office in the morning. Bring your own hot water if your office do not have a hot flask.

Lastly, I avoid food court whenever is possible. For the same food with the same quantity, food court is always almost $1-2 more than kopitiam. There is no reason to spend for extra for the same food.

3 in 1 is much more unhealthy than the one at normal coffee shop... If wanna save money buy those coffee bag instead. Health problems can cause more.
Breakfast is important, don't skip. Buy bread and peanut butter, quite healthy breakfast liao. Oatmeal too. Want flavour can add fruits.

I usually have 1-2 day within a week where I just eat anything I fancy.

Saving comes naturally when it becomes a routine.

lls0101

3 in 1 is much more unhealthy than the one at normal coffee shop... If wanna save money buy those coffee bag instead. Health problems can cause more.
Breakfast is important, don't skip. Buy bread and peanut butter, quite healthy breakfast liao. Oatmeal too. Want flavour can add fruits.

I usually have 1-2 day within a week where I just eat anything I fancy.

Saving comes naturally when it becomes a routine.

Then stick to coffee bags. As long as its cheaper than the coffee in the kopitiam, its money saved.

Did not say about skipping it. I said have it at home instead. Prepare oatmeal, or bread, or eggs, or anything else. Most of the time it will be cheaper than the usual beehoon.

Saving do come naturally as long as you are willing to put in slightly more effort.

P.S. On a LCHF diet now. Also do intermittent fasting sometimes so I do skip breakfast some days of a week. Before anyone start bashing me with the standard textbook "breakfast is the most important meal of the day", please do read up on intermittent fasting and its benefits first. Much appreciated :D

zeroX26

Then stick to coffee bags. As long as its cheaper than the coffee in the kopitiam, its money saved.

Did not say about skipping it. I said have it at home instead. Prepare oatmeal, or bread, or eggs, or anything else. Most of the time it will be cheaper than the usual beehoon.

Saving do come naturally as long as you are willing to put in slightly more effort.

P.S. On a LCHF diet now. Also do intermittent fasting sometimes so I do skip breakfast some days of a week. Before anyone start bashing me with the standard textbook "breakfast is the most important meal of the day", please do read up on intermittent fasting and its benefits first. Much appreciated :D

LCHF... then half a scoop of whey protein (which really isn't expensive if you don't buy in sg) with some butter into your kopi & your bfast is done. In fact in the long run, once you reap the full effects of LCHF, you will find yourself saving alot of $ for food coz you wont feel hungry anymore :D:D

Shiny Things

You're making it sound a hell of a lot harder than it is. The trick to saving is just set some money aside every month.

In your case, yeah, you need to pay down your credit cards first. I get that you want to shop all you can, but if you're carrying credit card debt you're spending money you don't have. That's not your money, so don't spend it.

Once you've paid off your credit card debt, it's just a matter of setting aside a couple of hundred dollars from every paycheck. Take that money out as soon as the paycheck hits; that way you won't even miss it.

Look, I totally get the urge to enjoy yourself while you're young. And I endorse that! Holidays are awesome; I had so much fun on my trips to the USA that I ended up moving there. But it sounds like you're having too much fun - spending your money on things you can't afford. If you keep up with that, you're going to get to age 35 or 40 and realise "wow, I haven't saved any money yet, I'm in trouble!".

Pay down your credit cards and save your money first. Once you've done that, and paid for your rent and your car and your groceries: then you can spend the money that's left over on holidays, Louis Vuitton tote bags, whatever makes you happy.

akwl88

- Breakfast and dinner at home.
- Never buy drinks outside.
- Makan outside once or twice a week either in food court, hawker, cafe or restaurant.
- Food expenditure: < $150 per month

qhong61

Good to hear that. Spend wisely and on the necessary items. Once in a while, reward ourself. We should also try to save when we are still economically active. We may not know whether we will still be employed 10 yrs down the road for whatever reason. It's true we may have knee and joint problem as we get older. Occassional travelling can be considered if it interest u but must be within your means. Do not travel on borrowed money or on credit. Not a nice feeling of having to pay after the enjoyment.

hwarzoner

last time wanted to buy a lot of things but got no money, now save so much no urge to spend.. most of the time eat cai png occasionally restaurant

for the last 14 years of my working life the biggest single ticket item i bought was just 1 rolex watch, rest of the time just small items less than hundred dollars

actually now younger generation can earn and save quite a lot, reading from the post here 100k salary in their 20s

seldom order drinks outside, most of the eat at home if not working

ahboy82

Yolo is gd, but nt so extreme la

Shd cut down a bit so you can yolo for entire life, nt juz when u young

ahboy82

last time wanted to buy a lot of things but got no money, now save so much no urge to spend.. most of the time eat cai png occasionally restaurant

for the last 14 years of my working life the biggest single ticket item i bought was just 1 rolex watch, rest of the time just small items less than hundred dollars

actually now younger generation can earn and save quite a lot, reading from the post here 100k salary in their 20s

seldom order drinks outside, most of the eat at home if not working

Buy condo

Live in a better place

lls0101

Good to hear that. Spend wisely and on the necessary items. Once in a while, reward ourself. We should also try to save when we are still economically active. We may not know whether we will still be employed 10 yrs down the road for whatever reason. It's true we may have knee and joint problem as we get older. Occassional travelling can be considered if it interest u but must be within your means. Do not travel on borrowed money or on credit. Not a nice feeling of having to pay after the enjoyment.

Yes, I do give myself some fine treats every week or 2. Went to restaurants and enjoy during the weekends. But even so, its will at most come up to $30-50 per head. I don't go to those super atas places since I can't appreciate such fine dining. Also do not want to act atas since I am just a common folk and do not like to pretend :s13:

Also travel 1-3 times a year with my wife. But we always go to Asian countries only. Not only cheaper, also much more to our liking. Don't appreciate art museums, opera, historical sight seeings in Europe, nor urban built up, mega malls in other developed cites. Prefer simple street food in Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia and going to night markets/flea markets for some bargains. :s13:

My wife and I are so unglam :s13:

lls0101

Buy condo

Live in a better place

How do condo equals to a "better place"?

Just because its more expensive and have swimming pool and gym as its private facilities? Or because you feel better/superior knowing your friends knew that you stayed in a condo? :s13:

"Better" is a relative word...

To me, what is a "better place". It is a place that
1) I can stay comfortably (decent size and well maintained),
2) near to my work place (cutting down on daily commute time is big!!!),
3)have all the facilities that I need nearby (wet market, supermarket, banks, retail shops, etc.... swimming pool and gym are useless to me since I am a lazy bum =:p)
4) Near my parents place so I can visit them often
5) Most importantly, well within my means so I do not have to worry too much about mortgage in the event I lose my job or can't work due to illness

As such, a simple HDB that fulfilled the above requirement will be considered as a better place for me :D

limster

How do condo equals to a "better place"?

As such, a simple HDB that fulfilled the above requirement will be considered as a better place for me :D

So, why are you visiting a forum like money mind :D

Most people are here to grow their networth so they can retire comfortably. Condo with 999yr/freehold is a better than 99yr HDB in the sense that it can be handed down to your children with most of its value intact.

lls0101

So, why are you visiting a forum like money mind :D

Most people are here to grow their networth so they can retire comfortably. Condo with 999yr/freehold is a better than 99yr HDB in the sense that it can be handed down to your children with most of its value intact.

I am visiting to learn tips on using/growing my money more efficiently. :D

Hoping to grow my networth to an amount so I can semi retire early. Then time can be free up to do other stuff.

Passing on my wealth to my children is not my priority though. I will instead provide them with my love and attention, education and enrichment that they like. Maybe some financial assistance in getting their own roof over their head. Maybe some inheritance when I pass on. But I will definitely donate much to my favourite charities. :s13:

As such, condo with 999yrs/freehold is not of much value to me :o

qhong61

I am visiting to learn tips on using/growing my money more efficiently. :D

Hoping to grow my networth to an amount so I can semi retire early. Then time can be free up to do other stuff.

Passing on my wealth to my children is not my priority though. I will instead provide them with my love and attention, education and enrichment that they like. Maybe some financial assistance in getting their own roof over their head. Maybe some inheritance when I pass on. But I will definitely donate much to my favourite charities. :s13:

As such, condo with 999yrs/freehold is not of much value to me :o
I like the way you plan your lifestyle.
Do not bother about leaving your inheritance for your children.
Should share with other more unfortunate people.
And maybe downgrade to a smaller apt so that we can enjoy the money when we are still alive.

haoKRR

if you can live with a simple life, should be not difficult to save up.

yeah, not difficult for me.
Hope more of my generation can have the same mentality and save up for rainy days.

more imptly ask urself why wanna save up. need a motivation and money will come!

haha, true.

My motivation is to buy 2 bedroom condo before i hit 30

downpayment u mean?

mine is to full cash the car i want before i hit 30.

time to get some motivation bro!
but at least covered yourself with some basic insurance. Life, health and savings.

no one asking u not to spend money on travel and shopping. its good to pamper or reward yourself sometimes.

but not to the extent of getting into debt just for it. if you don't want to save, by all means go ahead - some ppl just have no issues getting a job and living day by day.

but getting into debt just for shopping and travel is a completely different story

and dont swipe the cc as and when :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.