How you declutter your house?

Can Or Not

Step 1, don't anyhow buy
Step 2, make sure whatever you comes in must go out. Means buy sth new then sth old must go.
Step 3 if dw how to keep just throw or give away

I been doing this. I am quite a minimalist. In life the only thing if you wanna hoard should be cash and assets not stuff. Caz end up very mafan to keep and need throw.

Also once you move enough house you will also realised the importance of not keeping too many things. The way I handle it is I make sure if tmr I die I won't have too much rubbish for ppl to help me throw. With such mindset u will start to hoard less and throw more.
I wanted to buy a mitre saw but no space to put Liao… sian

Lchlch

u need to do it as a team: get your children to do their part

bit by bit, slowly will get to dispose unwanted stuffs, rather than u have to do it all on your own

time consuming, espc weekends the only time available

even that, your children can maybe afford only a few hours to spare, as they have plans for the weekend too

:o
I am all alone doing.
Sometimes, it overwhelming n I just sat on the sofa daze...
Sometimes, I hv no mood to pack due to flash back.
Guess I hv to start in about few minutes time..

beng_beng

Best part of decluttering is the things you disposed of (because you had not been using them for the longest time) will suddenly be useful soon after you have thrown them away.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
I am all alone doing.
Sometimes, it overwhelming n I just sat on the sofa daze...
Sometimes, I hv no mood to pack due to flash back.
Guess I hv to start in about few minutes time..
can't comment much b'cuz me dun even know u that personal

but ever consider of moving out?
from there, then you can get help from your children & slowly erase any bad memories :o

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
maybe put those items u want to throw but got some attachment in a box

take a look again after a few months

if really still cant find a reason to keep except for attachment

just throw

beng_beng

I feel like throwing all my 2G nokia and Ericsson (yes, no Sony yet) phones, and pager because I won't be using them.
But if I do that, I cannot show off in boomer's thread reminiscing about the past.

AngelRomeo

Guys,

Can share how you do it?
Especially if a person like me has attachment, hard to throw away things not use for months..
for me i never declutter, my room alone got alot of things already, hardly have space to walk around. i rarely throw my things cause they cost money, and some things cannot get liao. so i just pack them nicely.

Lchlch

can't comment much b'cuz me dun even know u that personal

but ever consider of moving out?
from there, then you can get help from your children & slowly erase any bad memories :o
Thks bro.
Not thinking of moving out.
The house meant alot to me too.

lasnoblur

Hi Ts and all, declutter is good. Start by tidying up the different parts of the house slowly. Shortlist things that you feel can be removed / sold. Remove those first.

Then repeat the cycle again for other areas of the house. The other way is to dispose directly. I try not to do that unless the things are really damaged or of no emotional value / physical value anymore.

Lchlch

Hi Ts and all, declutter is good. Start by tidying up the different parts of the house slowly. Shortlist things that you feel can be removed / sold. Remove those first.

Then repeat the cycle again for other areas of the house. The other way is to dispose directly. I try not to do that unless the things are really damaged or of no emotional value / physical value anymore.
Thank you bro.
I am doing but by bit.
Section by section...

My weekend is spend on packing.
Then jogging...
Then rest n tired.

qhong61

If don't dispose, it's not declutter.
It's hoarding.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.