Huawei Mate 20

athenodorus

My quick thoughts about the phone which I have got for about 3 days.I also have HTC U11+ so can compare a bit.
The good:
-Fantastic screen (no bleeding issues for me), much brighter and more vibrant than htc
-Nice size and form factor for me
-Camera is fun to use and versatile but I still think my HTC takes better shots
-Blazing fast performance for everyday use, comparable to HTC
-Very fast face ID
-Runs very very cool, even when fast charging. HTC gets hot much faster
-And the best thing: Crazy crazy good battery life, much better than HTC

The not so good:
-Don't mind the notch per se but because of it there is very little space for notifications - have to keep pulling down notification shade to check
-Speakers so so only
-Sound from dongle+earphones very average
-Mic recording quality from videos also so so
(in all above 3 aspects of sound, HTC U11+ noticeably better)
-When connected to Bluetooth in the car, there is lag in audio, when playing videos. Also, once connected Bluetooth, it will insist on autoplaying from music app which is very annoying
-FFC a bit soft on details

Overall a very good and feature packed phone.
Not so good:
Notification led could be bigger. It’s so tiny it’s hard to notice from a distance.
AOD doesn’t support 3rd party notifications so what’s the point?

1982-1994

Update on Nova launcher vs Emui stock launcher.

Emui is generally a lot smoother and responsive, no more weird experiences with apps hanging or glitching out.

Also, the tap Home button to lock screen function on Nova is buggy. After you lock, it will wake the screen straight away again and if u have face unlock it unlocks your screen straight again.

No such issue with Emui stock launcher.

Only issue is re arranging all the icons one by one. On Nova can just restore.

But restoring icons might have led to my terrible battery life

For better battery life, try using emui launcher as well as brave browser. Try for like 30mins and share your experience.

rapcon

My quick thoughts about the phone which I have got for about 3 days.I also have HTC U11+ so can compare a bit.
The good:
-Fantastic screen (no bleeding issues for me), much brighter and more vibrant than htc
-Nice size and form factor for me
-Camera is fun to use and versatile but I still think my HTC takes better shots
-Blazing fast performance for everyday use, comparable to HTC
-Very fast face ID
-Runs very very cool, even when fast charging. HTC gets hot much faster
-And the best thing: Crazy crazy good battery life, much better than HTC

The not so good:
-Don't mind the notch per se but because of it there is very little space for notifications - have to keep pulling down notification shade to check
-Speakers so so only
-Sound from dongle+earphones very average
-Mic recording quality from videos also so so
(in all above 3 aspects of sound, HTC U11+ noticeably better)
-When connected to Bluetooth in the car, there is lag in audio, when playing videos. Also, once connected Bluetooth, it will insist on autoplaying from music app which is very annoying
-FFC a bit soft on details

Overall a very good and feature packed phone.

Ya HTC can get really hot and drain battery insanely fast. In BKK my phone reached 50 degree celsius. So now wanted to get the Mate 20x with the cooling feature.

ayuluv

I found in carousel that a shop in marina square does full adhesive for m20p at 49.90

Tuakong

After playing around with the m20p for a day, I found the the media volume at full setting is not loud enough as compared to other phones like Samsung or even iPhone

The loudness is acceptable but the N9 wins hands down

rampage_111

they said is normal :s22:

The Mate 20 Pro uses an industry-leading flexible OLED screen featuring special design curved edges for an enhanced visual experience and holding comfort. This may lead to slight discolouration when viewed from different angles.

In extremely dim lighting conditions, when the screen brightness is too low, or when using dark wallpapers, these differences can be exaggerated. If the colour cast affects your normal use, take your phone to an authorized Customer service Center for assistance.

don't want to miss the changi airport deal

that is their BS generic reply, you can simply ask them why it doesn't happen to their display sets. just use abit of simple logic and think. so many years of using oled panels and other manufacturers don't have this kind of issue, in what way is it industry-leading?

rampage_111

After playing around with the m20p for a day, I found the the media volume at full setting is not loud enough as compared to other phones like Samsung or even iPhone

The loudness is acceptable but the N9 wins hands down

yup, but if you're using earphones then it doesn't really matter unless you enjoy sharing your media to the whole room. personally the main attraction to this phone is really the battery life. its an excellent device, just shitty oled panel.

kirium76

that is their BS generic reply, you can simply ask them why it doesn't happen to their display sets. just use abit of simple logic and think. so many years of using oled panels and other manufacturers don't have this kind of issue, in what way is it industry-leading?
What's the point of having high end specs when they screwed up the basic display panel which the users will see almost all the time leh? If I see the green monster, I also Sian half Liao.

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

chocoblitz

mingean

Noticed from battery usage that my WiFi is always on.

I can't find this setting anywhere. Used to be under WiFi advanced Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

lorettatay

My phone kept getting DC outside

Sent from HUAWEI Mate 20 Pro Emerald Green using GAGT

altca4

Tbh note 9 would be a good option instead of the m20
After 1 week with m20p and transiting from 2 months of note 9,
I do miss the awesome S Pen and a little on the louder stereo speakers on N9.
Otherwise,
m20p feels a fair bit faster and more fluid.
The battery thrashes exynos N9 (for by personal usage pattern, it's 30% vs 0% at the end of a busy day from 12am to 12am)

Photography is superior. Comparing night shots between iXSmax Vs N9 Vs m20p,
iXSmax has best exposure on bright spots but the dark portions are all lost;
N9 is brightest but the bright spots are rather overexposed;
M20P is just right at the middle of both
And I have yet to deploy the godly night mode
I found the night mode on m20p to be inferior than p20p though, probably due to the lost of the monochrome lens
But the wide angle len is much welcome and awesome!
The telephoto capability is market leading.
N9 has a little snap lag somehow. No issue with the other 2.
4k video wise, m20p's lose out to the other two due to this constant little jerk during stabilisation.
Selfie wise, the 2 phone with face id really thrashes the competition with the crazy fast face focus.
M20P's selfie performs better in low light and is my preferred one. (It's really good now compared with p20p's disastrous selfies)
Pixel3's selfie might win if the subject can stay perfectly still or if there's sufficient light but face id's selfie auto focus is so good and fast to facilitate the best snap (iXSmax & m20p)

MrLampa

What's your definition to a perfect screen protector?

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

I need a screen protector that covers the curve edges as well but my casing will push out the screen protector . My current screen protector does not cover the edges.

Tuakong

I need a screen protector that covers the curve edges as well but my casing will push out the screen protector . My current screen protector does not cover the edges.

Same here
I am naked BTW lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.