Huawei Mate 20

wjx1996

that is their BS generic reply, you can simply ask them why it doesn't happen to their display sets. just use abit of simple logic and think. so many years of using oled panels and other manufacturers don't have this kind of issue, in what way is it industry-leading?
basically they mean, if green until buey tahan already then go down service centre to change, if not suck thumb and use 🤣

ShadowSin85

It will get worse over time cos this green tint does not appear right out of box. It appear after using the phone for few days only

Shall see how HW gona settle this

basically they mean, if green until buey tahan already then go down service centre to change, if not suck thumb and use 🤣

sajokj

In Just installed the TG @ Mobile Hardware. Fingerprint inscreen is working fine 100% Cost $25 No issues. All working as expected. Also installed Back Matte sticker which looks good also gives a protection to back of your Mate 20 pro. Cost only $5. So total $30. Happily on Mate 20 pro

maumu

Not sure what's the big deal with screen problem.. if got problem, just go change lor.. they gave you 2 years warranty so why worry. New phone sure got some bugs here and there so you can either wait until newer revision come out or just get and enjoy the phone first and replace if got problems down the road

well, it's easy to say "just go change lor.." if you have more than one phone at your disposal and they can't do 1-1 exchange but need to take in your phone for repair/replacement. how many of us actually have 2 or more phones? i'll be surprised if it's the majority.

and the main issue is the hassle. u pay > $1k for this and u still need to go to service centre, queue, explain, listen to their bull, and then wait... if it's a $200 phone ok lah, but where the sh!t is the QC in the first place?

and let's say u get your replacement, what if a few days later, it shows up again? will it still be under 7-days 1-1 or something? make another trip to service centre and bang table? get all angry again?

i'm totally put off getting it until Huawei makes their official statement on this matter. good luck to those of you who have it already, hope you're not that suay to get the problem.

MrLampa

In Just installed the TG @ Mobile Hardware. Fingerprint inscreen is working fine 100% Cost $25 No issues. All working as expected. Also installed Back Matte sticker which looks good also gives a protection to back of your Mate 20 pro. Cost only $5. So total $30. Happily on Mate 20 pro

Bro where is mobile hardware and what case r u using. Does the sp cover the edges as well? Will your case pop up the sp

Abyssal.Xuan

Bro where is mobile hardware and what case r u using. Does the sp civer the edges as well? Will your case pop up the sp

aEzgqrl.jpg

deckcard

well, it's easy to say "just go change lor.." if you have more than one phone at your disposal and they can't do 1-1 exchange but need to take in your phone for repair/replacement. how many of us actually have 2 or more phones? i'll be surprised if it's the majority.

and the main issue is the hassle. u pay > $1k for this and u still need to go to service centre, queue, explain, listen to their bull, and then wait... if it's a $200 phone ok lah, but where the sh!t is the QC in the first place?

and let's say u get your replacement, what if a few days later, it shows up again? will it still be under 7-days 1-1 or something? make another trip to service centre and bang table? get all angry again?

i'm totally put off getting it until Huawei makes their official statement on this matter. good luck to those of you who have it already, hope you're not that suay to get the problem.

Fair enough if you want to wait becos of the screen issues and cannot afford any down time but do note any phones (even an iPhone) can break and you will be forced to change a new phone. What then?

I've most of my stuff in the cloud so changing of phones is just an hour work at most. I do have spare phones lying around tho becos I do not sell all my phones when new models came out and they are still good enough as spares. Besides, having that screen bleeding issue is not exactly a fatal problem that the phone can't be used at all. If it happens to me (touch wood :p), I'd just use it until they have confirmed fixed the screen issue or request they give me the BOE version that doesn't have that problem. There is lemon law that they need to worry about so you can either request for refund or whatever.

Anyway, I'm not trying to convince you or anything as different people have different tolerance level but I took the risk knowing very well latest and greatest is not always bug free.

maur_james

What casing are you using?

Sent from Huwei Mate 20 Pro using GAGT

1982-1994

Noticed from battery usage that my WiFi is always on.

I can't find this setting anywhere. Used to be under WiFi advanced Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

Settings > search for wifi scan > unchecked the box

symbiote28

maumu

Fair enough if you want to wait becos of the screen issues and cannot afford any down time but do note any phones (even an iPhone) can break and you will be forced to change a new phone. What then?

I've most of my stuff in the cloud so changing of phones is just an hour work at most. I do have spare phones lying around tho becos I do not sell all my phones when new models came out and they are still good enough as spares. Besides, having that screen bleeding issue is not exactly a fatal problem that the phone can't be used at all. If it happens to me (touch wood :p), I'd just use it until they have confirmed fixed the screen issue or request they give me the BOE version that doesn't have that problem. There is lemon law that they need to worry about so you can either request for refund or whatever.

Anyway, I'm not trying to convince you or anything as different people have different tolerance level but I took the risk knowing very well latest and greatest is not always bug free.

yup. am also hoping that the matter is blown up by a small minority but it has been reported worldwide and already appeared in gsmarena so I think they (Huawei) should make an official statement soon. (see https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_res...os_screen_light_bleeding_issue-news-34037.php)

btw it was also reported that those with BOE screen also suffered the same problem, although it could be fake news (unverified claim). actually am wondering how many users in SG are on BOE and how many on LG... is it totally random? hmm.

1982-1994

To be honest, if only the standby of kirin 980 is as good as snapdragon 636, it'd be perfect.
The battery depletes 1% upon every 1.5h of standby.

amazingone

yup. am also hoping that the matter is blown up by a small minority but it has been reported worldwide and already appeared in gsmarena so I think they (Huawei) should make an official statement soon. (see https://www.gsmarena.com/huawei_res...os_screen_light_bleeding_issue-news-34037.php)

btw it was also reported that those with BOE screen also suffered the same problem, although it could be fake news (unverified claim). actually am wondering how many users in SG are on BOE and how many on LG... is it totally random? hmm.
It's random because Huawei uses both LG and BOE to supply display panels for the Mate 20 Pro. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.