I am an average sinkie. I don't own a car. HDB fully paid. I don't have credit cards. I have cash and I am happy. Cos I am debt free.

mewmew

Lol dont pay fof place to stay, food, electricity, water bill etc then what?

Ah can stay with parent , hoping they just change name and give it to you? Or alot ppl also will buy but rent whole flat out and stay with parent? Rental 100% keep :p not bad idea

prease be mindful of hyperinflation and dont assume the worst

channel some positivity tank kew

BigMonkey

kum gong. CC let you earn points and rebates as long as you spend within your means and pay on time.

Daty41

nowdays debt free is not the ideal model any more..need future proof. Sad but true. Debt free is not that difficult for many ppl anymore, they can achieve that late 30s or early 40s (provided they do not get a huge expensive house). CPF is the bare minimum (i think CPF is good for most ppl), but savings / investments (good type) is still not the norm.

EJB

I have hdb, I have car, I have credit cards, I have cash and I'm debt free.

So.... what's the point?

Ch3tah_39

prease be mindful of hyperinflation and dont assume the worst

channel some positivity tank kew
Hyperinflation? Is it a new term that is loosely use? But can be kind and share what to look out for an how to reduce the risk? Tank kew..

Ah, cause everything also pay and pay ma so just wondering how not to pay if a roof over head is somewhat like "necessity". Tank kew

wooooot

depends :o did he live a full life ? if yes, then kudos

i am debt free, condos all paid as well but i also have fun in life

Trueblue82

Hope for the best, prepare for the worst......

touch wood u can be happily debt free, but one disease or accident can knock your financial status down quite a bit.

wisewise

I know a bbfa in his mid 30
Accumulated a $300,000 portfolio
with annual dividend of 3.5%
control his spending to $500 each month
And proudly declared he has retired
500 spending every month…… he is best off not living.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.