I rented the whole unit of an apartment, is it right the the landlord claimed the CDC vouchers?

iluvchickenwing

why complain? just go cc and claim lah.... duhz. owner is not wrong to claim the vouchers. u wana fight for the climate and gst u save vouchers too?

evildoer

Yes according to the home owners name.?
No you cannot hold on to your property address. you need to change to where you are staying at the moment.

Ur IC can only registered one address at a time. you have to change to the address you are staying after you move in 2 weeks time...

By not change your address and renting out the whole flat.. you are evading tax. Because it's a big different if you are enjoying the Owner-Occupier Tax Rates and non Owner-Occupier rate. Even GST voucher can be cheated this way.. like if you are jobless and rent out the flat and go live with your relatives in a landed. by right you won't be qualify for the GST Voucher (Cash) because of the Home annual value <- which is based on where you are staying , not what flat you owned. My parents are both retired that do not hold any income. yet they are not qualify for GST voucher (cash) simply because they are staying in my brother owned Condo.

8zaoyu

landlord rent to FT, cdc go to waste

landlord rent to singaporeans, let tenant take better. because if landlord die die want to claim, he/she must change nric address to the rented house.

500 to 800 cdc per year, let it slide lah.
true, FT and non-residential (not Nric address) landlord both cannot claim, what a waste. Afterall, support heartland businesses

wongminmin

No you cannot hold on to your property address. you need to change to where you are staying at the moment.

Ur IC can only registered one address at a time. you have to change to the address you are staying after you move in 2 weeks time...

By not change your address and renting out the whole flat.. you are evading tax. Because it's a big different if you are enjoying the Owner-Occupier Tax Rates and non Owner-Occupier rate. Even GST voucher can be cheated this way.. like if you are jobless and rent out the flat and go live with your relatives in a landed. by right you won't be qualify for the GST Voucher (Cash) because of the Home annual value <- which is based on where you are staying , not what flat you owned. My parents are both retired that do not hold any income. yet they are not qualify for GST voucher (cash) simply because they are staying in my brother owned Condo.
erm what about this situation?

1. Rent out whole house except 1 room.
2. Occasionally go back.

8zaoyu

Which meant you didn’t update ica ur new address ?
So either the tenants ic gotten the address but hiding the landlords who don't need the address change, living in the storeroom? Share the printed vouchers lah!

SkyNinja

You typed a big wall of text. Can tell u, many people bo chup to game the system

evildoer

2. Occasionally go back.
rent out whole house but locked 1 room. it's also not allowed.. i think the authority caught few last few years.. it was on paper..

evildoer

You typed a big wall of text. Can tell u, many people bo chup to game the system
welcome to bo chup , until someone bao to you.. then u will be big trouble. evading tax

In Singapore, it is generally illegal for a HDB flat owner to lock one room and rent out the entire flat without occupying the remaining rooms. This practice is considered a violation of HDB regulations and the Housing and Development Act.

Here's a more detailed explanation:
  • HDB Regulations:
    HDB requires that flat owners must continue to live in the flat and share the living space with authorized occupiers, including tenants.

• Minimum Occupation Period (MOP):
    If the flat is within the MOP (5 years for HDB flats), the owner is not permitted to lock up a room and rent out the rest of the flat.

• Consequences:
    Violations of HDB regulations can lead to the revocation of rental approval and legal action under the Housing and Development Act.

- Revocation of Rental Approval: HDB can revoke the approval for renting out bedrooms if owners flout the rules.
- Financial Penalty: Owners may face a financial penalty of up to $50,000.
- Compulsory Acquisition: HDB can compulsorily acquire the flat, meaning the owner loses ownership.
- Debarment: Owners who have their flats compulsorily acquired may be debarred from purchasing subsidized flats in the future.

There have been cases where owners have been caught and penalized for violating these regulations. For example³:
- In 2020, HDB officers inspected a flat and discovered that the owner was not physically living in the flat despite renting it out. The tenant terminated the tenancy prematurely after the inspection.
- A real estate salesperson, RES Ng Ni Ni, was fined $4,000 and suspended for five months for facilitating two tenancies that breached HDB's MOP rules.
- Between 2017 and 2022, HDB took action against 53 owners who had not occupied their flats, with 21 having their flats compulsorily acquired due to MOP infringement.

sacredrays

if rent out whole apartment, the owner residential address should not be that apartment liao

DragonFire

2. Occasionally go back.
Going to ignore ā€œoccasionalā€ since that is irrelevant and assume the flat is the address on your IC.

What is the rental status according to HDB? Should be partially rented in your case. Both you and tenant are entitled to your own vouchers. work it out between yourselves who will take the default issue, and who will go to CDC to apply for a separate set.

Personally I think owner being the owner should be entitled to the default set, and the tenant should go apply for their own.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.