IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

Chervelle

no choice lah...have to plug in the ac for long use...
i wonder can remove the batt and only use ac...
hmmm....thinking of getting a laptop cooling base....or maybe "make one myself..." those base like nothing much leh but cost so much...kekeke

darkest_matter said:

mines hot too but only when its plugged into the a/c or when its running intensive apps...

otherwise it shld be just warm...

Qingrong

Chervelle said:
no choice lah...have to plug in the ac for long use...
i wonder can remove the batt and only use ac...
hmmm....thinking of getting a laptop cooling base....or maybe "make one myself..." those base like nothing much leh but cost so much...kekeke

can run laptop on ac power onli... battery can juz take out... i been doin tt when i not moving ard... :)

but b careful nt to plug out the power cable accidentally... :laugh:

Chervelle

well....will this way extend the battery life?

Qingrong said:

can run laptop on ac power onli... battery can juz take out... i been doin tt when i not moving ard... :)

but b careful nt to plug out the power cable accidentally... :laugh:

nicekit

eh how come.. my T23 is not listed ah?

and btw.. everybody talks about how to charge your battery....

nobody actually talks about HOW TO DISCHARGE ur battery..
just use it normal?
or use intensive thing like DVD playback and yada yada..

?

YewBoon

nicekit said:
eh how come.. my T23 is not listed ah?

and btw.. everybody talks about how to charge your battery....

nobody actually talks about HOW TO DISCHARGE ur battery..
just use it normal?
or use intensive thing like DVD playback and yada yada..

?

discharge...tink juz use lor...
from IBM tips.. let it run below 3% like once a mth..
thn charge...will increase batt capacity

nicekit

YewBoon said:

discharge...tink juz use lor...
from IBM tips.. let it run below 3% like once a mth..
thn charge...will increase batt capacity

i do this actually
make a batch file to do dir/w repeatively
then do do do until it run down to 3%
it will try to sleep
i wake it up to do until 0-% until totally BOOM
nomore power
press also nothing happen :p

then i leave it to charge.. :p

YewBoon

got a few qns wan ask...

is the IBM message center useful?
do u guys let it run or disable it?

also, if i wan add RAM to my IBM T41...can i do so myself?
or i need to go back to IBM?

wat's IBM's customer service no ah?

thx!

Chervelle

i also interested in that message ctr thing...wonder if its useful...
disable it can save some bandwidth and volume
i guess use it at the start then disable it shd be gd right?

YewBoon said:
got a few qns wan ask...

thx!

lightz

YewBoon said:
got a few qns wan ask...

thx!
hmm... i removed the IBM message center... :p

To add RAM to T41, you can add it yourself...
There is a slot at the bottom of the notebook.

Juz beware when you add RAM...
Incompatible RAM, will get your system hay wire...

lightz

nicekit said:

i do this actually
make a batch file to do dir/w repeatively
then do do do until it run down to 3%
it will try to sleep
i wake it up to do until 0-% until totally BOOM
nomore power
press also nothing happen :p

then i leave it to charge.. :p
T41 user here... not too sure abt T23...

but T41 have a function at the hidden partition of "Access IBM"...
It basically runs your notebook in DOS mode to drain your battery.

YewBoon

lightz said:
hmm... i removed the IBM message center... :p

To add RAM to T41, you can add it yourself...
There is a slot at the bottom of the notebook.

Juz beware when you add RAM...
Incompatible RAM, will get your system hay wire...

tink i will remove it also...abit useless ah...

thn how to noe wat RAM are compatible?

kev

i used/still using a T20 44A back in school. the new T40 is so sexy..... and the T41p.. WOW!

jingkai

anyway just asking...my r40 1.5ghz P-M chip with 512mb ram...1 yr old..how much can i sell it for?

i startign to feel the weight liaoz..wanna get a lighter model...haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.