IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

dasanyuan

dasanyuan,

I noticed that my X201 power adaptor has the same ratings as my X61.
Is it the same charger? If so, can I use the X201 charger to charge my X61?

I now have 2 sets of X61 and 1 set of X201. If really can, shiok. Will leave 1 charger in office, 1 in the car and 1 at home. This way, I'll never run out of juice :)

Oh by the way, that day I called Lenovo to ask about replacement battery for my X61. Was told that 6 cell no longer in production and was advised to get the 8 cell as 4 cell also limited stock. Would prefer the 4 cell though as the whole idea of the X series is its weight. A 4 cell can easily last 2 hours wich is good enough for home use. Was told that the CSO will call the shops to check on stock availability and the shop will call me back. Good service. Unfortunately, I did not receive any call from any shop thereafter. I believe this service lapse is from the shop and not Thinkpad center. So this is one area for improvement that Lenovo might want to raise up with its distributors. Good thing I have 2 other X series with me else it would have tarnished my opinion of the excellent thinkpad after sales service.

yup. no prob. u can use ur adapter for both. for the batt thingy, maybe u can call challenger or those other shops like addon.

roadspeeder1

ok, regarding this LCD problem. its giving us problems too. alot of users wanna smoke me by saying oh crack by itself, this n that... once we open it up for verification we will know alright.... ANY damn LCD will crack. nothing is perfect. i believe my onsite colleagues are professional in their own way. if not we wont be going to ur place. so pls, dun doubt our team. thanks for understanding.

nowhether your team are professional leave it to us to judge(customers). we can assess them... don't worry i am not satisfy with the "process of verification" not against the verification team. need not tell me alot of users want to smoke you, there are many kind of users too... i know i am not and you team will know agreed to it. i stand on my ground firmly.

Kenshin79

let me help dasanyuan on some queries here.

> ahtea - yes, you can use the ThinkPad recovery disc to load in Win7 and then use the Win7 COA licence to activate the OS. this is officially allowed.

> Combiblock - some corruption in the OS. have you backed up your data? if not, do try to back up the data by booting to the Rescue & Recovery software and copy your files to USB HDD. or take out the HDD from the ThinkPad and plug by USB adapter to another computer to copy the data.

NOTE: if you do not know how to do the above, seek help from authorized Lenovo dealers or service centre.

after that, try going to Safe Mode in Windows and do a Windows System Restore back to an earlier date.

if that still fails, have to reformat and restore to factory default. again, make sure you have backup your files.

> ginseng1 - X61 only use 4cell or 8cell battery, never had a 6cell.
there is a 3rd battery which attached to the base but it is bulky and not as good as the 8cell. you can check out dealers in Funan or Sim Lim (though i understand Challenger/Harvey/Courts dun stock options) for the 4 or 8cell battery. if no stock can always place a deposit to order.

the good thing about ThinkPad is they generally use the same AC adapter for a few generations. currently you have 65W for integrated graphics model or 90W for those with dedicated graphics. we can use either AC for any current ThinkPad model. only issue is those with dedicated graphics will find that the graphics performance will be poor when using 65W i.e. the GPU will be underclocked, hence it is not an issue if ya just doing normal work and charging the battery.

there is also a ThinkPad 90W AC/DC Combo adapter which can be used in airplane or car for charging - for the absolute travelling person. this Combo adapter can also support changing of charging tip to even charge your iPod, Nokia, Sony phones etc.

only the W700 series uses a different 120W AC since it is so power hungry.

ginseng1

OT here.

Regarding Windows 7, my X201 comes with Home Premium. Say if I use my Win 7 Professional key to upgrade it and Microsoft reject it (Reason being that I've already used it on my X61 before I bought my X201, and yes, I know it's 1 license per PC), will my X201 automatically switched back to Home Premium or do I have to do a recovery to load back original settings? Thanks.

dasanyuan

nowhether your team are professional leave it to us to judge(customers). we can assess them... don't worry i am not satisfy with the "process of verification" not against the verification team. need not tell me alot of users want to smoke you, there are many kind of users too... i know i am not and you team will know agreed to it. i stand on my ground firmly.

from my personal point of view, u sound like the typical pay $1 person expect a $2 product & service. u dun have the righ to judge anyone. if u're unhappy with anything regarding ur machine u can always send a email to lenovo & get ur case escalated. u can stand as firmly as u want, it doesn matter to me.

ginseng1

from my personal point of view, u sound like the typical pay $1 person expect a $2 product & service. u dun have the righ to judge anyone. if u're unhappy with anything regarding ur machine u can always send a email to lenovo & get ur case escalated. u can stand as firmly as u want, it doesn matter to me.

There's no need for you to reply him. It makes you look unprofessinal.

Remember your purpose in this thread is to help people who need help on their machines.

To those who are venting your complaints and frustrations, the proper channel to raise more serious isses like service lapse is to write in.

This is not a official Thinkpad thread and both dasanyuan and kenshing79 are volunteering their time to help out. Be sensitive in your postings.

dasanyuan

Hi dasanyuan do u mind checking for me how much warranty is there for this machine serial no
2539A12R91T3RA. Thanks

wat u mean how much warranty is there? are u asking if wats the warranty left isit?
wats ur machine type & serial number? from wat u just typed, it looks like a part number to me instead....

dasanyuan

There's no need for you to reply him. It makes you look unprofessinal.

Remember your purpose in this thread is to help people who need help on their machines.

To those who are venting your complaints and frustrations, the proper channel to raise more serious isses like service lapse is to write in.

This is not a official Thinkpad thread and both dasanyuan and kenshing79 are volunteering their time to help out. Be sensitive in your postings.

he already said, professional or not, its for him to judge. since he like to judge so much, he can be the new chief justice... :s22:

Kenshin79

Hi dasanyuan do u mind checking for me how much warranty is there for this machine serial no
2539A12R91T3RA. Thanks

think the breakdown is type No 2539A12, S/N: R91T3RA

your warranty is till Feb 2013, based on factory date. but keep your invoice for the actual warranty period.

For info, everyone can check their ThinkPad warranty online yourself.
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=SITE-WARNTY

key in the type no and serial no.

the result is based on factory release date. i.e. T410 released on Mar 2010 will end in Mar 2013 or Apr 2013.
if you have purchased any type of extended warranty by Lenovo, then it may take some time to be updated on the database.

Hence, everyone is encourage to keep your official invoice/receipt as proof of purchase and the warranty will start from date of purchase.

if you look have lost the invoice, go back to the shop to get a copy. another simple way is to look underneath your notebook, focus on the 4 digits after serial number

eg Type No: 1234A98 S/N: L3A1234 06/02

06/02 means manufactured in 2006 Feb. hence no receipt means you should have got your machine around then, unless it is an old stock which can be a few months or even more than a year. hence it is important to keep your proof of purchase.

* at the same time, i also want to highlight that please do not buy extended warranties for ThinkPads by any store. ThinkPads have official extended warranty covered by Lenovo/IBM themselves. 4th and 5th year are available for your machines and it is best left to the official vendor to provide support.

what store provides have many hidden clauses & limitations and also many times they cannot get the repair done properly and fast.

dasanyuan

whatever u've been whining about is enough evidence. but in any case i'm not trying to pick a fight with u or whatever crap. this is a thread for thinkpad users/fans. not about u creating a hoo haa. etc: saying things like i will never use IBM forever & all the nonsense, hopefully u wont have to eat back ur words in the future. however as a service rep from the service center, i hope ur problem CAN BE SOLVED. so of course as a professional i will give every customer my fullest commitment. but work aside, IBM is famous for our THINK. so as u being a user, THINK before u type.

thanks for understanding.

dasanyuan

just to add on wat kenshin is replying. the first 4 digits its ur machine type, the next 3 is the sub-model. and yes. if u happen to buy extension warranty. make sure to check the details. is ur warranty upgrade by us (service center) or by the reseller. meaning after our system detects ur machine is out of warranty, but if a customer claims to have extended the warranty with the shop, it means u have to contact the shop. i have a case last year, a customer bought a SL400 from i think harvey (iirc). he bought extension of warranty from there. but my system checked it is only 1 year standard carry in warranty. but he got i think 2 yrs extended. so after checking, his additional 2 yrs is not covered by us, but by his reseller... so guys out there i hope this helps in preventing u from coming up & down; making urself frustrated too. lastly, i will try my best in any problems u face to my ability. have fun using the thinkpad.

ahtea

hmmm iirc if u wanna load the r & r, u can do it at changi but u cant take it back... COA? pls elaborate, cause i dun wanna type wrong things here... ok at changi, we allow users to do a r & r at our service center... but prepare stay for quite long. but DUN WORRY, we got SPINELLIS beside us. and if u drive, u have a complimentry carpark ticket.
Haha. Got no $$ for SPINELLIS.

COA = Certificate of Authenticity (came with my Windows 7 Upgrade kit).

I am ok with staying at the service center to do the R&R.

Epee

Haha. Got no $$ for SPINELLIS.

COA = Certificate of Authenticity (came with my Windows 7 Upgrade kit).

I am ok with staying at the service center to do the R&R.

The service centre quite cosy lah. Got a few ancient ThinkPads for you to beo also :D I stayed there once for 2+ hours to recover an old ancient x30 :p Cannot understand why recovery discs are not provided for that model.

Also, anybody knows where to buy the WWAN card? Agar how much?

Sidetrack a bit to dasanyuan, I would like to know is there a genuine feedback channel for IBM where there's real person reading and responding? I want to complain about the service rendered to me by the service centre in MY.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.