IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

ginseng1

Anyone bought your machines from the poly roadshow?

The 4 years warranty is not not reflected on Lenovo website when I checked my warranty status.

Hope Juzz1 (the seller) updates Lenovo on the said extended 4th year warranty soon.

ahtea

The service centre quite cosy lah. Got a few ancient ThinkPads for you to beo also :D I stayed there once for 2+ hours to recover an old ancient x30 :p Cannot understand why recovery discs are not provided for that model.

Also, anybody knows where to buy the WWAN card? Agar how much?

Sidetrack a bit to dasanyuan, I would like to know is there a genuine feedback channel for IBM where there's real person reading and responding? I want to complain about the service rendered to me by the service centre in MY.
Eh. That was actually not the first model which IBM does not provide recovery discs.

You might need to get WWAN card for Thinkpads from Lenovo straight or their authorized resellers. Thinkpads are quite picky on the wireless WAN card it takes.

greenbeam1980

W510 Upgraded to 16G Ram(Home Premium 32 bit)

Hi Dasanyuan and all the ThinkPad users,

I have a qn in mind. Can W510 with Win 7 HP 32 bit detect the 16 G ram? Pls advise.

Thanks...

gohkhm

I have a qn in mind. Can W510 with Win 7 HP 32 bit detect the 16 G ram? Pls advise.

Thanks...

32-bit systems can only recognise up to a max of 4gb ram. You need the 64-bit system to use anything above 4gb.

dasanyuan

The service centre quite cosy lah. Got a few ancient ThinkPads for you to beo also :D I stayed there once for 2+ hours to recover an old ancient x30 :p Cannot understand why recovery discs are not provided for that model.

Also, anybody knows where to buy the WWAN card? Agar how much?

Sidetrack a bit to dasanyuan, I would like to know is there a genuine feedback channel for IBM where there's real person reading and responding? I want to complain about the service rendered to me by the service centre in MY.

genuine feedback ah? svcctr@sg.ibm.com or 1800-418-9933 from wat i know la this is the 2 channels u can use to complain. anyway spinellis not expensive la. wasted no starbucks...

ginseng1

Thanks...

Hmm... A Woodlands resident right else your machine would have come with a Win 7 Enterprise. Otherwise, you must have bought from either SP or NP.

1 piece of 4gb RAM is very expensive. About $200+, I think. Wait for the price to drop. Doubt you need so much horsepower on a notebook. Save the money for your desktop rig instead.

Ken is right. You will need 64bit version of Windows 7.

dasanyuan

Hmm... A Woodlands resident right else your machine would have come with a Win 7 Enterprise. Otherwise, you must have bought from either SP or NP.

1 piece of 4gb RAM is very expensive. About $200+, I think. Wait for the price to drop. Doubt you need so much horsepower on a notebook. Save the money for your desktop rig instead.

Ken is right. You will need 64bit version of Windows 7.

true. y u need so much ram? lol. 32bit is more for home users. 4gb ram enough ald. dun need to so extreme man. 64bit more for servers. just save ur money for a desktop. although i work with thinkpads, i dun have a thinkpad at home. desktop rig more important. :s12:

gohkhm

...Also, anybody knows where to buy the WWAN card? Agar how much?...

Hi Epee,

Which WWAN card are you looking for? The Ericsson or the Qualcomm? The ericsson is going for around $200 and the qualcomm gobi 2000 is going for $345. Let me know which one you are looking for and I 'll try and see if I can get it at a lower price for you.

Rgds

greenbeam1980

true. y u need so much ram? lol. 32bit is more for home users. 4gb ram enough ald. dun need to so extreme man. 64bit more for servers. just save ur money for a desktop. although i work with thinkpads, i dun have a thinkpad at home. desktop rig more important. :s12:

I agreed with what u said.

May I know how can I change to 64 bit? I bought W510 at RP without any image. Come with HP 32-bit.

dasanyuan

I agreed with what u said.

May I know how can I change to 64 bit? I bought W510 at RP without any image. Come with HP 32-bit.

change? i tot once u install they will prompt u? cause when i installed my win 7 ulti, they prompted me to choose between x86 or x64 leh... u bought w/o any image ah... hmmm

Epee

genuine feedback ah? svcctr@sg.ibm.com or 1800-418-9933 from wat i know la this is the 2 channels u can use to complain. anyway spinellis not expensive la. wasted no starbucks...

ok thanks. Let me think about what to write, still feel a little pissed :p

Both Spinellis and Starbucks not nice one. Traditional coffee shop kopi FTW!

Epee

Hi Epee,

Which WWAN card are you looking for? The Ericsson or the Qualcomm? The ericsson is going for around $200 and the qualcomm gobi 2000 is going for $345. Let me know which one you are looking for and I 'll try and see if I can get it at a lower price for you.

Rgds

Hmm I sua-ku, wasn't aware there's a Qualcomm one? Let me know how much you can get the Ericsson one. I'll think about it. The dongle is not very convenient. These days I use BT to tether to my iPhone. It's almost as good as the WWAN card in terms of convenience except the iPhone can get quite hot :D

gohkhm

Hey Epee,

Which Thinkpad you using? The older models use the Ericsson, whereas the newest models (ie T410, X210,W510...etc) use the qualcomm.

Kenshin79

ok thanks. Let me think about what to write, still feel a little pissed :p

Both Spinellis and Starbucks not nice one. Traditional coffee shop kopi FTW!

the one dasanyuan gave is more for service centre issues...

for feedback, use this:

lencare_my@lenovo.com
SG hotline: 800 601 2051

lenovo customer care for singapore is based in msia also. any complaint or whatever, you can contact lencare and someone will get back to you.

gohkhm

Maxed out T410 - limited sets left

Hi folks,

I only have 3 sets left to clear. Let me know if any of you are interested. There's also a post-purchase survey with a $50 rebate, so final price is $2800.

Thinkpad T410 with discrete graphics (2516CTO) - $2850 nett

* Intel Core i7-620M Processor (2.66GHz, 4MB L3, 1066MHz FSB)
* Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64
* 14.1 WXGA+ TFT, w/ LED Backlight, Camera (WWAN antenna)
* NVIDIA NVS 3100m Graphics 256MB DDR3 with AMT
* 4 GB PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM 1067MHz SODIMM Memory
* UltraNav (TrackPoint and TouchPad) with Fingerprint Reader
* 500 GB Hard Disk Drive, 7200rpm
* DVD Recordable 8x Max Dual Layer, Ultrabay Slim (Serial ATA)
* Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 (1X2 BGN)
* Integrated Bluetooth
* Integrated Mobile Broadband - Gobi 2000 3G with GPS
* 9 cell Li-Ion Battery
* 3 Years Worldwide Warranty / +Parts & Labour / +Pickup & Return

PS. Gobi 2000 3G with GPS can be trade-in for $150 off the listed price (applicable for one buyer only)

roadspeeder1

whatever u've been whining about is enough evidence. but in any case i'm not trying to pick a fight with u or whatever crap. this is a thread for thinkpad users/fans. not about u creating a hoo haa. etc: saying things like i will never use IBM forever & all the nonsense, hopefully u wont have to eat back ur words in the future. however as a service rep from the service center, i hope ur problem CAN BE SOLVED. so of course as a professional i will give every customer my fullest commitment. but work aside, IBM is famous for our THINK. so as u being a user, THINK before u type.

thanks for understanding.

u ought to learn to be professional yet. being rude to your customer could be dangerous. anyway my problem is has already solved and waiting to see u eat your words, be sensible.

ginseng1

Hey, stop being egoistic. This thread is already long enough. Please.

Moderator, can the T&C be updated to stop these unnecessary posts. No need to ban them as they are probably overwhelmed by their big ego. I'm sure with proper education, these users will chill out and learn to be more responsible.

shawn_sboi

gohkhm: I saw in lenovo website that gobi 2000 is only selling for 2xx. SG web. So expensive 3xx?? lol! i getting my W510 from SP and i wish to have a WWAN. Don't wan to use USB stick.

gohkhm

gohkhm: I saw in lenovo website that gobi 2000 is only selling for 2xx. SG web. So expensive 3xx?? lol! i getting my W510 from SP and i wish to have a WWAN. Don't wan to use USB stick.

Hmm...you are right. S$229. I just checked last week and it was $345.

You need to make sure that you have the WWAN antenna built into your LCD, else it will not work.

$229 for the Gobi 2000 is really very cheap already. I can't do better than that. However, I can get the Ericsson/Thinkpad 3G WWAN at around $200. Cheaper by $30 odd

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.