IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

ginseng1

Don't bother about netbooks unless you are only using it for checking emails, internet surfing and MS Office light usgae.

I have bought and sold 2 netbooks while searching for portability and battery life. Both have been a disappointment. Speed simply too slow for my liking.

My friends advised me then to buy netbook and I can keep changing it every year instead of splurging on a Thinkpad. Bad choice. I'm still holding onto my X61 which is anytime faster and plays HD files very well. In fact, I've just bought another X201. It's way more expensive than netbooks but its ROI is definitely worth more than a netbook.

duntellu

Don't bother about netbooks unless you are only using it for checking emails, internet surfing and MS Office light usgae.

I have bought and sold 2 netbooks while searching for portability and battery life. Both have been a disappointment. Speed simply too slow for my liking.

My friends advised me then to buy netbook and I can keep changing it every year instead of splurging on a Thinkpad. Bad choice. I'm still holding onto my X61 which is anytime faster and plays HD files very well. In fact, I've just bought another X201. It's way more expensive than netbooks but its ROI is definitely worth more than a netbook.

yup, thinkpads definately have a better ROI.
My T40 was a living example ( though I'm still tempted to revive it..still thinking haha)

Ginseng, how light is the office usage in netbooks? Would it be taking a long time to load applications and bootup if the processor is detuned for maximum battery life?

Did think of getting a X201 too. Specs are great and its smaller size is a great welcome too :p

ahtea

My T40 was a living example ( though I'm still tempted to revive it..still thinking haha)

Ginseng, how light is the office usage in netbooks? Would it be taking a long time to load applications and bootup if the processor is detuned for maximum battery life?

Did think of getting a X201 too. Specs are great and its smaller size is a great welcome too :p
Still quite ok. But anything beyond light office work, I think a netbook cannot handle it well.

You will also have to sacrifice screen size and settle for a smaller keyboard which can be quite stranious to you if you use it for long hours.

dasanyuan

for those wanna change to bigger hdd size pls check the website for System Overview. erm.. how do i put it. ok there is a kinda limit to how big.. i have a customer using x61 wanna use a 500gb hdd. however based on system overview from the website & consulting my seniors. its best to stick to the limit stated by the website.

etc, i'm using a T60. the hdd size are as follows, 40 60 80 100 120. u can use a 160 or 320. but its not 100% compatible.

just my 2cents. its not a MUST follow. later u guys blame me :(

gohkhm

@dasanyuan - Thanks for the info... :) Never knew about the system overview.

@duntellu - The 14" edge sounds like a good fit...big HD screen/keyboard, decent i3 processor, dvd drive - seems to be able to do the stuff that you want. But I've never personally used one before so I am not sure about the build quality. Looks nice though. Although if you were to just top up the amount by a little more and you can get a X201.... :p

westwest1

for those wanna change to bigger hdd size pls check the website for System Overview. erm.. how do i put it. ok there is a kinda limit to how big.. i have a customer using x61 wanna use a 500gb hdd. however based on system overview from the website & consulting my seniors. its best to stick to the limit stated by the website.

etc, i'm using a T60. the hdd size are as follows, 40 60 80 100 120. u can use a 160 or 320. but its not 100% compatible.

just my 2cents. its not a MUST follow. later u guys blame me :(

bro... you can use a 500GB 7200rpm with no issues in the T60.

Which is in my machine right now..

ginseng1

Netbook takes about 4 seconds to load MS Word. Still have to wait for HDD to stop reading else mouse cursor sure jerk a little.

This has happened to my clean installed Lenovo S10 and Acer 751 netbooks.

That's my own experience.

My X61 and X201 offers a entirely different experience. It's really worth paying for it if you are looking for portability, good battery life and some durability. Else, just get those entry level Acer at about $700 plus which should suffice.

Thinkpads cater to those who cannot comprimise quality. To me, having used numerous notebooks, I still love my Thinkpads. That explains why I have 3 sets of Thinkpads. One at home, one in the office and one in my car.

duntellu

@dasanyuan - Thanks for the info... :) Never knew about the system overview.

@duntellu - The 14" edge sounds like a good fit...big HD screen/keyboard, decent i3 processor, dvd drive - seems to be able to do the stuff that you want. But I've never personally used one before so I am not sure about the build quality. Looks nice though. Although if you were to just top up the amount by a little more and you can get a X201.... :p

yup, that's true
the X201 is a nice package. I'll be looking out for deals in the upcoming fair in june.

naruto13

yup, that's true
the X201 is a nice package. I'll be looking out for deals in the upcoming fair in june.

if u can find poly ppl to buy on ur behalf or help u. that is almost the best deal u can get. 1.6k sgd.

ginseng1

forget to add that if u r aiming for 1tb, take note that it may not fit as the drive is thicker than 640gb

dasanyuan

i know some can use. coz got customer that time change to 500gb for his t60. then having alot of problems. so maybe is poh heng sway... haha

but x201 from poly is good deal. i stressing the current t410 on i5 now. damn shiok. however i feel that lenovo think to up their speakers. quality bo simi ho seh... not hiang enough..

ahtea

i know some can use. coz got customer that time change to 500gb for his t60. then having alot of problems. so maybe is poh heng sway... haha

but x201 from poly is good deal. i stressing the current t410 on i5 now. damn shiok. however i feel that lenovo think to up their speakers. quality bo simi ho seh... not hiang enough..
Business machines usually the sound is buay hiang one mah. Not meh? Good enough la. Got sound come out can liao.

Aprilius

Need Help with thinkvantage

I recently upgraded my OS version from vista to win7, however I lost my thinkVantage option. The vista is from recovery disk while the win7 wasn't. I tried to installed those lenovo comes-with "bloaty" programs, none works for the thinkvantage button =( . Although I think the button only comes with vista, but I would like to seek help over here.

westwest1

it does not work cause you do not have your recovery partition already.

why do you need to use that button?

Aprilius

it does not work cause you do not have your recovery partition already.

why do you need to use that button?

Oh I see, erm... because I am clumsy and not so IT- intellect.... So, often gets into software problems/errors... Duno how to fix, only knew how to REFORMAT or start my recovery system.

ahtea

I recently upgraded my OS version from vista to win7, however I lost my thinkVantage option. The vista is from recovery disk while the win7 wasn't. I tried to installed those lenovo comes-with "bloaty" programs, none works for the thinkvantage button =( . Although I think the button only comes with vista, but I would like to seek help over here.
If i am not mistaken, I think the ThinkVantage button is now handled by the ThinkVantage ToolBox in Windows 7.

dasanyuan

no la the thinkvantage still can be used. i just tested the blue button on customer's t410 win7 pro 64bit. ok can use one.

Epee

well, still considering about a netbook. But since its mainly for entertainment and travels and surfing youtube, I will look into the video playback issues before jumping into the a non-red dot laptop haha.

IMO, if you're considering a netbook, might as well go hunt for a x60 or x61? The x60/1 will be slightly more pricey (about $800-ish with warranty) but I'm sure you won't regret the quality of the Thinkpads. I had a Dell latitude 2100 but I still got drawn back to my x31 everytime .... The PM 1.3Ghz processor does not feel inferior to the Atoms. The only downside is the 4200rpm HDD on the x31 ....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.