IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

koodsim

I'm interested in getting a X201 with WWAN from the poly roadshow but I'm a non-poly student so may I know the risks/disadvantages involved?

webstop

do u mean same price as what school is offering or different? or maybe even better offer?

Only one price at poly. But he will probably ask for a few bucks for trouble. Anyway if you stay in Woodlands, Juzz1 in RP allows to buy one ThinkPad.

naruto13

Only one price at poly. But he will probably ask for a few bucks for trouble. Anyway if you stay in Woodlands, Juzz1 in RP allows to buy one ThinkPad.

anyway hes a promoter/seller in juzz1 lah. maybe he can entice wif more freebies etc what. juz asking no harm.

Erwinlow

Limited models at this IT show though.. Just contact me at 81393948 if you want to know more, a little hard to update here during the show itself..

naruto13

Limited models at this IT show though.. Just contact me at 81393948 if you want to know more, a little hard to update here during the show itself..

just want to know are u able to get the laptop which r offered at poly roadshow? time is not a issue as in not that urgent, n is there any difference if u could get it? maybe can pm me the results thanks.

koodsim

I emailed Think Club regarding the possibility of a WWAN model of X201 and got this reply.
There will not be any WWAN model for all ThinkPad sold locally due to IDA approval have not been went thru.
I'm confused as there is a 3G model of X100e available in the IT Show 2010.

koodsim

I called a Lenovo staff from the Ngee Ann Poly road show and she said that one student is only allowed to buy one laptop. :(
Are there any poly student out there who is willing to help me buy one? :)

Erwinlow

naruto: i am entering poly this year, yes i can get for you the laptop. PM me i'll reply from monday onwards. working at IT fair now, tiring.

naruto13

naruto: i am entering poly this year, yes i can get for you the laptop. PM me i'll reply from monday onwards. working at IT fair now, tiring.

oo. thought u sell for them then diff story, guess alot of other would be interested. =)

i got a student from sp to help me purchase le. so i dont really need your services. but thumbs up =P

dasanyuan

I called a Lenovo staff from the Ngee Ann Poly road show and she said that one student is only allowed to buy one laptop. :(
Are there any poly student out there who is willing to help me buy one? :)

is it true? cause i've seen cases that 1 user brings like 3 diff machines but all under his name...

naruto13

is it true? cause i've seen cases that 1 user brings like 3 diff machines but all under his name...

but example u buy on diff days of the road show or call in during non road show day to buy as promo last for 1yr, or buy diff model during diff year.

they got bother to track de? since confirm they already have a profit, still a profit, except dun do mass sales to same user at show lah. that what i think only.

koodsim

It seems that there is some miscommunication between Juzz1's staff. I sent an email and this is the exchange between the Project Manager (PM) and me,
Me: As the price is very attractive, does Think Club allow non-poly students to purchase a notebook at the roadshows in polytechnics?

PM: Each student are allowed to purchase up to 2 units only. Pls note only the 1st unit is allow with school pre setting software.
Me: I do not understand the phrase, "school pre setting software". Could you explain it further?

PM: For all poly student during their 1st year in-take are allowed to purchase these notebook for poly usage and each poly will have its own custom image on the hard disk which will have some standard software pre-install. If you’re purchasing it as in non poly student you will have it as standard default OS (windows 7 Home Premium). Pls note all these models are entitle for education purpose only and will not be offer to public. But, if you’re staying at woodland district, you may want to visit Republic Poly this 2 day (Mon and Tue) before the show end.

There have been special arrangement by RP and woodlands committee to allow the publics to purchased notebook in the poly roadshow at the same price.

I'll take his word for it.

ginseng1

Just got my X201.

Loving it more and more.

QM55 chipset which is the highest in the pecking order for performance chipset.

Seagate 500gb HDD 7200RPM 16mb cache. Would prefer WDC but guess since this set made in China, logical choice to get from Seagate.

My warranty still shows 3 years from default date of 15 Feb. Hope Juzz1 will update it soon for the peace of mind.

Nice if CPU is the i7 but doesn't matter as I doubt I'll utilise the full speed.

It comes with a set of recovery disc. Wonder whether it's only for windows or contains the lenovo software. Reason being that I'm wondering whether I need to make another set of recovery disc using Lenovo software in the notebook.

ginseng1

more & more machines at the service center! :s22:

Ae you referring to the X201? or in general all models but ust that lately it seems that more people are sending in this lappy?

I'm not surprised if it's the new models as it sure got some bugs.

boo

Thinkpad Edge 13 buggy

Bought a new thinkpad edge 13 from IT show from Juzz1.

Within 2 days, the laptop keep going to sleep at random, sometime after 1/2 hr, sometime after few hour. I hate this kind of defective, it may come back after repair

Within 3 days, the wifi died.

I thought Thinkpad = quality, but quess it is more like cheap china brand now:(

Go to Juzzq, reply: there is no 1 for 1 exchange for first 7 days, go look for Lenovo and
receipt states warranty by manufacturer, no 1 for 1 exchange stated

Go to Lenovo, reply: no 1 for 1 exchange policy but they can consider the request but takes few weeks to consider

Am I wrong to assume there should be some sort of 1 for 1 exchange for the first week.

Appreciate some good advice.

Thanks.

naruto13

Bought a new thinkpad edge 13 from IT show from Juzz1.

Within 2 days, the laptop keep going to sleep at random, sometime after 1/2 hr, sometime after few hour. I hate this kind of defective, it may come back after repair

Within 3 days, the wifi died.

I thought Thinkpad = quality, but quess it is more like cheap china brand now:(

Go to Juzzq, reply: there is no 1 for 1 exchange for first 7 days, go look for Lenovo and
receipt states warranty by manufacturer, no 1 for 1 exchange stated

Go to Lenovo, reply: no 1 for 1 exchange policy but they can consider the request but takes few weeks to consider

Am I wrong to assume there should be some sort of 1 for 1 exchange for the first week.

Appreciate some good advice.

Thanks.

who do u think should do the 1 to 1? or u can kpkb at both side mah. if so much problem, i will also reject de as a consumer. so what they repair, downtime n cost due to the damage have to be borne by user also.

cstrikecz

Sorry for asking this simple question, how do I check the warranty of my T410 ?
I can't seem to find it on the Lenovo's and Juzz1's websites .

dasanyuan

for ur warranty, msg me ur machine type & serial number i check for u.

by right juzz1 should give u the 1 to 1... because our policy is no 1 to 1, if need be 1 to 1, we need to ask from LENCARE... only by approval then we can proceed. which in first u need to really check with juzz1 first... then call our technical support and from there on we have to go through the process of escalation.

and more and more machines doesnt refer to the x201. its just that lot of t42,43 & v & n series are old ald. some machines are like 4-5 yrs old the fan has died or stuff like that. dun worry i personally like the x series. i think its damn solid. compared to others, esp the x301. its just like driving a conti car and other cars, if u get wat i mean.

anyway if any guys here that sent their machines in, just pm me i'll check for ur job status asap.

lastly remember, if u decided to drop ur machine off at parkview square, call the technical support first for a case id. and our service center only supports 'Think' models & V & N series. dun bring ur netbooks or other lenovo models, those goes to MEGALINK.

cheer.s

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.