IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

gohkhm

hey dasanyuan,

Is there a possibility of installing the trackpad on a x200? is the palmrest compatible with the x201?

gohkhm

I find the touchpad on my X201 too small and too awkard. End up use trackpoint.

Transferred my Logitech VX Nano mouse from my X61 to this X201. It's a nano receiver which I leave it on the notebook. Nextday going to buy Logitech Darkfield mouse. Mouse is something that cannot be stinged.

Oh, I realise my X201 set bought from RP does not have bluetooth though brochure state so.

Did you try Fn+F5 and enable Bluetooth?

gohkhm

Hi everybody,

My wife is using a T60 with 512 ram currently and sometimes when she opens too many apps, it tends to lag.

Is it a good idea for me to buy a 512MB DDR2 667 SODIMM RAM Memory PC5300 40Y8402 to add to the other ram slot.

Is it is good idea?

This item

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...38760&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_1855wt_1165

Thanks everybody before hand :)

Sounds like a software issue. Did you try to defrag the hard disk? Or are you running out of disk space ? I would reformat if the problem persists. Hope this helps.

dasanyuan

goh, i dun get wat u mean. u cannot use the trackpoint given or u wanna disable the trackpad?

ya i agree, defrag the hdd first. then jump into buying a ram. defrag liao see will be faster anot.... i personally think Perfect Disk is a good software for defragmentation... then remember, dun buy things first... and if u gonna buy the ram, make sure u check the website if the ram is suitable for ur machine. i had a few cases customer buy sala ram, sot the motherboard. lol.

btw, x201 dun have wwan/3g meh? i tot standard should have liao. i know my old t60 dun have bluetooth... haha

ginseng1

Hi everybody,

My wife is using a T60 with 512 ram currently and sometimes when she opens too many apps, it tends to lag.

Is it a good idea for me to buy a 512MB DDR2 667 SODIMM RAM Memory PC5300 40Y8402 to add to the other ram slot.

Is it is good idea?

This item

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...38760&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT#ht_1855wt_1165

Thanks everybody before hand :)

Go and change the hard disc and upgrade to 2gb RAM.

You will see the difference and also not forgetting data integrity

shawn_sboi

goh, i dun get wat u mean. u cannot use the trackpoint given or u wanna disable the trackpad?

ya i agree, defrag the hdd first. then jump into buying a ram. defrag liao see will be faster anot.... i personally think Perfect Disk is a good software for defragmentation... then remember, dun buy things first... and if u gonna buy the ram, make sure u check the website if the ram is suitable for ur machine. i had a few cases customer buy sala ram, sot the motherboard. lol.

btw, x201 dun have wwan/3g meh? i tot standard should have liao. i know my old t60 dun have bluetooth... haha

The x201 sold to polytechnic in Singapore don't have wwan/3g. THey took it out :(

ginseng1

T60 is using DDR2 667/800 RAM.

Just buy 2 x 1gb to be on the safe side.

HDD buy 320gb will suffice. sweet spot. Use recovery disc to reinstall. Viola, new set.

ginseng1

anyone here still using thinkpad that is more than 4 years old?

Is it still going strong?

How's the LCD screen? Dimmer?

Thinkpad LCD somehowquite dim. The nits very low. Dunno is it for the better?

tengsoon

Haha and how does the hard disk affect the speed of the computer? i'm not aware...

And regarding old IBMs

My bro is using a T42
im using a T60 same as my wife.

Ya the screen is pretty dim, but i guess thats y it can out last and also consume less electricity haha

gohkhm

tengsoon: Wah...defrag and reformat still like that ah...then perhaps its the ram. What OS you running? Try to use XP or Win 7 if possible and avoid vista like the plague. Remember that If you are running 32 bit then 3gb ram is max (ie 1x1gb and 1x2gb)

dasanyuan: what i meant was that I'm using a x200 now (so no trackpad). I was wondering if its possible to install the x201 trackpad on my x200 by replacing the entire palm rest.

blackbankai

hi bros here, i just purchased t410 and i think all those lenovo programs are quite difficult to get used to. when i switch to energy saving mode instead of high performance, i dont see the brightness of the screen changing. where can i get the High performance profile and Energy-saving profile changed? i cant seem to find in the ThinkVantage Menu...

anybody can help me with it?

randomguy123

hi bros here, i just purchased t410 and i think all those lenovo programs are quite difficult to get used to. when i switch to energy saving mode instead of high performance, i dont see the brightness of the screen changing. where can i get the High performance profile and Energy-saving profile changed? i cant seem to find in the ThinkVantage Menu...

anybody can help me with it?

I think that when it is in high performance mode, it uses the discrete graphics card and when in energy saving mode, integrated graphics.
You can try pressing Fn and F3 together to adjust the brightness level of the screen.

blackbankai

I think that when it is in high performance mode, it uses the discrete graphics card and when in energy saving mode, integrated graphics.
You can try pressing Fn and F3 together to adjust the brightness level of the screen.

ohh! so that energy-saving mode its only cutting its usage of electricity to mininium and its not related about putting the whole laptop in energy-saving mode? thanks! :s12:

you own a t410 too right? how fast does your comp boot up? mine is kinda slow, its around 50secs... izzit due to less free space available in HDD?

randomguy123

ohh! so that energy-saving mode its only cutting its usage of electricity to mininium and its not related about putting the whole laptop in energy-saving mode? thanks! :s12:

you own a t410 too right? how fast does your comp boot up? mine is kinda slow, its around 50secs... izzit due to less free space available in HDD?

Erm, first few boot-ups would be a bit slow but subsequently, it should boot-up faster.
If it still does not boot up to the desirable speed, you can try going into msconfig and disabling some startup programmes that you do not need, that might help.

MarineX

For this price, cannot complain.

My 4 years warranty still not updated.

agree. some people just want to ask for more.

want cheap, want good, want long warranty, want everything but pay peanuts.

Stop living in a fantasy world man. crazy fellow.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.