IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

playplay

How's the ThinkPad quality after acquired by lenovo?
I know a lot of business people use Thinkpad. I am a uni student and using macbook pro now. Any reasons why i should consider buying thinkpad for my next laptop?

Thanks in advance.

Lenovo is stll 1 of the trusted brand which hardly have LCD Screen issues. Therefore i still prefer it much more than any other brand. Worth buy if you can get student/corporate deals. :)

MPH

naruto13 > X201/s and X200/s series have similar keyboard.

westwest1 > X201s $2999.
X201 start from $2680 to $3000, depending on specs.

Edling > X201 Tablet $3299. this price one no Finger-touch display (can use stylus only). have higher specs with finger-touch but need to indent. to the users they dun mind no fingertouch since using stylus is more accurate.

XxGaiaxX > did you try using Fn + F6? or use any video/pic capture program like google's piacasa etc

How about T410 ?

dasanyuan

cheap leh below 2k for x201... wasted i no spare cash... need to save up for 5970

yes buy the x301... its good. worth ur money.

t410 also can, budget can choose that.

gohkhm

Anyone looking for T410, pm me, I got 2 brand new units with maxed specs to let go. Come wif core i7, discrete graphics, win 7-64bit, 500gb hd, wwan, 9cell, 3 years pick up warranty....etc :p

Epee

I'm wondering, does Lenovo offer any Win 7 upgrade Discs for Vista users? If so, how much?

westwest1

How about T410 ?

i got my T410 for 2578 yesterday from Jazz1. Docking station series 3 cost about 280.

not a perfect machine. As long u can live with its problem. this will be a machines that you will like and enjoy throughout its useful life.

gohkhm

i got my T410 for 2578 yesterday from Jazz1. Docking station series 3 cost about 280.

not a perfect machine. As long u can live with its problem. this will be a machines that you will like and enjoy throughout its useful life.

What's the specs like?

westwest1

gohkhm

i5 2.53hz
4GB Ram
500GB 7200rpm HDD
1440x900 LCD
webcam
3 years on site warranty
win7 pro 32bit (will be replaced by them to 64Bit)
6cell batt

Read the review here

http://www.NotebookReview.com/default.asp?newsID=5525&review=lenovo+thinkpad+t410

Its a timely replacement for my 3 years old T60. But still in very good condition

I know you are selling 2 units. But i prefer to get from them.

Sure, just wanted to make sure that you are getting a good deal. Comes with discrete graphics right?

Kenshin79

How about T410 ?

T410 currently from $2219 to $2578.
have 3 configurations from shop.

i5-520M 2.4GHz, 2GB, 320GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA, Intel GMA HD, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 6cell battery, 3 years
$2219

i5-520M 2.4GHz, 2GB, 500GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA, nVida Quadro 3100M 256MB, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 9cell battery, 3 years
$2419

i5-520M 2.53GHz, 2GB, 500GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA+, nVida Quadro 3100M 256MB, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 6cell battery, 3 years
$2578

vivalabam

@ those who bought the T410 from poly, can i check something with you guys ? does the 4 year warranty have international coverage, mainly in the US ? i'm planning to ask a poly friend to help me purchase one and since i travel alot, this is a major concern for me.

thanks.

MarineX

@ those who bought the T410 from poly, can i check something with you guys ? does the 4 year warranty have international coverage, mainly in the US ? i'm planning to ask a poly friend to help me purchase one and since i travel alot, this is a major concern for me.

thanks.

want cheap, want long warranty, want global coverage really got such good deals meh?

Apparently the Thinkpad fits the bill though :)

Lenovo Notebook Warranty
All notebooks featured in this website under the “Student Notebook Ownership Scheme 2010” come with the following warranty:

* 4 years* on site local (including AC transformer / adapter and electrical cable cord) and labour costs
* Next-Business-Day (NBD) On-site local (Customer’s Residence) Response
* Inclusive of parts and labour
* 8 hours x 7 days Telephone Technical Support Hotline
* Loan notebook of equivalent or better if resolution is not possible on NBD call
* Maximum resolution duration shall not exceed 5 business days
* One year warranty for Battery

* Apply to purchase during the school road show only. Standard warranty is only 3 years international. *Warranty is not applicable for ThinkPad SL series.

In the event that the customer’s notebook has been retained by the Lenovo for more than twenty (20) Business-Days for warranty-related services, a replacement unit shall be provided to the customer.

vivalabam

wait so what should i be looking at ? 4 year on site local (whatever that means lol) or 3 year international ? its either this or the x201. definitely a thinkpad, though. i've had nothing but good experiences with thinkpads since my first laptops. only laptop that i've ever used that has a keyboard that feels completely solid.

ps anybody else noticed the flex issue with the T410's lid ? it doesn't seem to be as solidly built as the rest of the body. not sure if its a isolated incident, but it did manage to get my attention in record time. or maybe i'm just too anal about such things :p

westwest1

wait so what should i be looking at ? 4 year on site local (whatever that means lol) or 3 year international ? its either this or the x201. definitely a thinkpad, though. i've had nothing but good experiences with thinkpads since my first laptops. only laptop that i've ever used that has a keyboard that feels completely solid.

ps anybody else noticed the flex issue with the T410's lid ? it doesn't seem to be as solidly built as the rest of the body. not sure if its a isolated incident, but it did manage to get my attention in record time. or maybe i'm just too anal about such things :p

I just got my T410 few days back. I was also concern about that lid issue and the high pitch noise. There are always design issue that you might hate. I also have the E6400, these two machines are not perfect. But they serve their intended purpose to increase our productivity.

gohkhm

Definitely international warranty if you are going overseas. What flex issue are you referring to? Can you elaborate? I sold some recently but none of my customers reported any issues.

Another point that you may want to take note is that these poly units may not come with a wwan antenna built into the LCD bezel (can someone confirm this?) so it will not be possible for you to upgrade your Thinkpad with mobile broadband in future. Do check it out first before you commit. Hope this helps. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.