IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

ahtea

sorry.... i prefer to go through proper channel so as not to fault anyone... Thanks for your kindness but i dun wish to get anyone into trouble.

Raised my problem again today, this time getting a bit piss of during the call. will follow up with a call everyday.

Trying using an older driver now.
wirelessv.jpg

if a service engineer does not turn up for the appointment is still acceptable?
It is definitely not acceptable. Why not bring it down to the service center in Changi to make some noise.

ginseng1

ok. the process is like that. u call the hotline ask them transfer u to part sales dept. from there a quote and everything will be prepaid for u. then once u bring the money to the service center and collect ur parts. thats all. my both t60 batteries are still alive n kicking after 3yrs +

Thanks bro. So it can be done after all.

Will give a call tomorrow. My X61 4 cell battery has died after about 150 charges over a period of 2 years. No complaints though.

ginseng1

dasanyuan,

paiseh to trouble you.

What's the Thinkpad general hotline number?

Also, what's the address of the service centre for Thinkpads? Can't find in Lenovo website. Seems like it trys to deter customers from seeking aftersales service. Hee!

ginseng1

dasanyuan, I've got the number. Thanks.

Called and a automated reply kicked in saying that operating hours from 9 - 6pm and please avoid calling during lunch time. I called at 12 noon. So probably the sole CSO must have gone for lunch. Isn't these aftersales supposed to be opened during official hours unless there's only 1 person manning. If so, that's very bad for a company like Lenovo.

The automated reply also said operator busy and to wait. At the end of the message after directing the caller to email, it cuts off, leaving the caller no opportunity to wait for CSO to answer phone.

To put it bluntly, the after sales for the parts department is seriously lacking.
The opposite is true for aftersales dept where a CSO picked up the phone after a few rings to direct me to the parts sales dept.

Seems like the departments are working independently of one another.

If only I can order my battery online just like in USA.

I won't boycott Lenovo though cos I believe most companies' employees are similar to Lenovo's employees. Not motivated?

Dasanyuan, you are a model employee. If given the opportunity, I will write in and commend you for providing service on HWZ.

Same for Ken. You belong to sales department but chip in on this thread.

dasanyuan

buddies out there. i get wat u mean totally. i understand from a consumer point of view. ok

i'll just refresh wat to call n stuff k. 800-6011-343 is a general technical helpline number. to log in a call, press 1 alright. then there will be some automated msg or something regarding bsod or networking error or something. then after that another prompt will be saying for ALL machines press 2. so thats when u press 2 to log in a call to create a job regarding ur machine.

for general questions for the service center or follow up regarding status of machine that was sent in thru parkview or directly changi itself is 1800-418-9933. this number can also be used to refer to PART SALES as in ur case (ginseng)

for westwest1 i would like to know who's the service engineer handling ur case. because its impt for me to check with him wat has happened + y dint he turn up and stuff. most impt is to find a solution not a substitution to it. u know wat i mean?

and also. pls note, service center @ changi is open from 9-7.30. mon-fri. u can come down on lunch time too. there will be cust service reps to help u.

for parkview its 9-5 mon - fri however lunch 1.30-2.30 there is NO ONE. alright. and sat its open 9-12.30pm.

so guys, remember as on the website of lenovo, when u click service provider for ur particular machine. WE (changi + parkview) handle THINKPADS, N, V series. for all other lenovo products, PLS GO TO MEGALINK. or click the link on the website.

and if u ever encounter a case that a RESELLER told u to bring ur IDEAPAD or NON RELATED THINKPAD, N, V series to us. pls let us know so i can escalate to higher management.

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

westwest1

Dasanyuan

My apologizes, I understand you trying to help me out in this case to talk to the service engineer. But as a large company like yours, going thru a proper channel is essential. You also do not want your internal to fight over such cases.
I believe you as a IBM employee should understand these values more clearly than us as a customer.

dasanyuan

Dasanyuan

My apologizes, I understand you trying to help me out in this case to talk to the service engineer. But as a large company like yours, going thru a proper channel is essential. You also do not want your internal to fight over such cases.
I believe you as a IBM employee should understand these values more clearly than us as a customer.

hmmm i no comments. because if the engineer is new, n not taught properly we should teach him. however if he's been there for quite some time and still like that then he should be reminded... u know wat i mean? its not a fight or wat. we need to minimize the problems i feel at the end of the day. cust happy we also happy.

dasanyuan

was gonna get a T410 , but after reading the last 5 pages , i think i better get a X201 instead. :eek:

alot of users say after using x60, x61 then change to a bigger screen like x301 t400s. they are not used to it. lol i dunno man. but all i can say is intel's i processor + win 7 lenovo preload seems to be quite a good match.

westwest1

hmmm i no comments. because if the engineer is new, n not taught properly we should teach him. however if he's been there for quite some time and still like that then he should be reminded... u know wat i mean? its not a fight or wat. we need to minimize the problems i feel at the end of the day. cust happy we also happy.

my system is being pick up tomolo and replaced with a loan set while letting your guys test it.

westwest1

alot of users say after using x60, x61 then change to a bigger screen like x301 t400s. they are not used to it. lol i dunno man. but all i can say is intel's i processor + win 7 lenovo preload seems to be quite a good match.

i would like to have a T410s man. But i cannot afford it. :s13:

ahtea

Actually if you ask me to change my T400 to X201, I would also not be able to get use to it.

1) Smaller screen on the X201
2) Lower screen resolution on the X201

dasanyuan

good. at least got loaner set for u...i think must look out for better deals liao... maybe i should personally get a t410s myself... damn sleek!

cscs3

Dasanyuan

IBM employee?
I guess you means Lenovo? IBM no mor making Thinkpad or any notebook. They do not even run the service center since many years back!

Assault

Isn't the Changi Business Park Thinkpad servicing outlet run by IBM still? I know a few guys from there (Thomas, etc) and I always thought they were IBM employees, not Lenono employees.

ryhn

Any one keen in Lenovo brand Gobi 2000 module can pm me. Ready stock. Several pieces only. Thks!

ahtea

Isn't the Changi Business Park Thinkpad servicing outlet run by IBM still? I know a few guys from there (Thomas, etc) and I always thought they were IBM employees, not Lenono employees.
I think they are considered "Contractor".

Service Center if i am not wrong is not run by IBM but this contracted company called ServiceOne.

Correct me if i am wrong.

westwest1

Any one keen in Lenovo brand Gobi 2000 module can pm me. Ready stock. Several pieces only. Thks!

bro whats the differences your WWAN and the one sold by lenovo themselve, cause they selling the same thing also at the same price you are selling.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.