IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

Calvin.Lee

Why don't have the means. Use Comgateway concierge lah. Just have to pay additional 5% and GST on full amount. Still cheaper than Spore and worth the savings. Spoil buy new one lah...

I've bought 6 Thinkpads from USA so far and none has given me any problem.

What I meant was no credit cards to make payment to Comgateway. So online offers are of no use to me now.

There is still a rumor that Lenovo SG will not necessary acknowledge the International warranty for ThinkPads brought thru 3rd party concierge services. Since I am not 100% sure of this, so I will rather buy local ones, especially 2nd-hand ones :)

ginseng1

Anyone has the T430s? Thinking of getting one since it's cheaper than the X1 and with similar specs.

Maybe I should wait for Intel to release the new mobile CPUs. Then either get the new chipset and CPU or get the marked down old models with substantial savings.

Notebook when running on batteries will usually run slower so I find no need for the latest and fastest CPU.

ginseng1

Anyone using W530 with 9 cell battery? I forget to change it to 9cell and had to settle for 6 cell. Last only about 2 hours on my W530 with i7-3610 CPU. I reckon that it will cost about $230 for the 9 cell battery from IBM Changi service centre.

nmo123

WTS - T430U

Like to sell Thinkpad T430U.Three months old.
US machine. I am using it presently.
Still Warranty with SG IBM.
1200S$.
PM.

Configuration;
Processor Intel Core i5-3427U on MB
Operating system Windows 8 64
Operating system Language Win8 64 English
Total memory 4 GB PC3-12800 DDR3 (1 DIMM)
Hard drive 500GB HDD 7200rpm
Battery Battery(Li-polymer 4.22Ah)
WiFi wireless LAN adapters ThinkPad a/b/g/n BT(2x2&BT4.0)
Wireless WAN accessories No WWAN support
Warranty Type 1 Year Depot/Express Warranty
Custom images NONE
AC Adapter and Power Cord 65W AC Adpt US (2pin)
Accessible Optimized Preload NONE
Adobe Acrobat NONE
Adobe Elements NONE
Adobe Lightroom NONE
Custom Image Language NONE
Display Panel T430u 14W HD AG, NW black
ITC - Enhanced Service NONE
ITC - Harddrive Encryption NONE
Storage Adapter 24GB Micro SSD SATA3 Win8
System Unit T430u Intel i5-3427U

minute_me

I was told 3G version of the Helix will not be available in Singapore. However, i read on the net that the LTE version won't be available in SIngapore, so the 3G version might still be available.

red_nano

hey guys, the letter 'H' on my thinkpad x230 came off whenever i press it. anyone know where to repair and whether it is under warranty coverage?

thanks

gohkhm

hey guys, the letter 'H' on my thinkpad x230 came off whenever i press it. anyone know where to repair and whether it is under warranty coverage?

thanks

If your warranty is still valid, you can contact tech support and they should be able to replace the keyboard for you....else you can try some blutac ;)

Techno Pride

anyone tried purchasing refurbs from Lenovo Outlet US?

I shipped in a laptop late last year, but that was the online retail US store, not outlet.

Twilight

Anyone know if I can change my X230 Wifi card N2200 to dual Band N6235 card?

I saw some selling on Ebay but was told it does not support Lenovo.. But on Lenovo Website it support n6235.. So is there a different model to get??

Any expert to advice?

Thanks

cscs3

Anyone know if I can change my X230 Wifi card N2200 to dual Band N6235 card?

I saw some selling on Ebay but was told it does not support Lenovo.. But on Lenovo Website it support n6235.. So is there a different model to get??

Any expert to advice?

Thanks

Lenovo TP need to use specific Wifi card that has firmware loaded to support it.

LesterQ

Thinking of getting a ThinkPad 2. Any current owners here can give some comments pls? Hows the battery life? I heard that its quite light too, even lighter than an iPad. Am looking for something to read magazines, surf web and run Lego Digital Designer.

up this.... looking to get windows 8 tablet

Why don't have the means. Use Comgateway concierge lah. Just have to pay additional 5% and GST on full amount. Still cheaper than Spore and worth the savings. Spoil buy new one lah...

I've bought 6 Thinkpads from USA so far and none has given me any problem.

My T430 that i sold also no issue from day 1. :s13: Thinkpad FTW

Encrypted11

Hello. First time in on this thread, T430S user. :s34:

What I meant was no credit cards to make payment to Comgateway. So online offers are of no use to me now.

There is still a rumor that Lenovo SG will not necessary acknowledge the International warranty for ThinkPads brought thru 3rd party concierge services. Since I am not 100% sure of this, so I will rather buy local ones, especially 2nd-hand ones :)

I asked a couple of times with the Thinkpad support, they carry international warranty (IWS). Thinkpad warranties follow the thinkpad, not the owner. I tried to "transfer" the US depot warranty to SG one but they don't have such a framework in place.

But the pinoy CSO said (asked 2) can arrange for local servicing since its qualified under international warranty. As a follow up to the query they even send me an email through a generic IBM lenserv email to screenshot what they can see on their system and should I need a repair, where can I go.

Amazon Payment is back at shop.lenovo.com! Happy shopping! :s12:

Does Amazon payment really work? The last time I tried, it got blocked off because they back checked the billing address of the underlying card which is a non-US one. Happened after accepting the order for several days then cancelled.

Relatives there helped me buy and DHL over. But I kena chopped by customs $70+ :s22::s22::s22: .

Does CGW method need concierge?
If concierge method, do they care to help you go into Lenovo website's Barnes and Noble section? (require a lenovo acc) The lowest prices on Lenovo's site which also can be obtained by calling the Indian outsourced sales chat (if you haggle with the rep).

Believe also got customs duty right?

gohkhm

OK leh... my order using Amazon went through, now released to manufacturing and deducted from my card.

Encrypted11

OK leh... my order using Amazon went through, now released to manufacturing and deducted from my card.

You using forwarder? Which one? Maybe I got it wrong, probably they blocked the forwarder's address. Some companies do that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.