IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

blancMX

hellseeker said:
You mean Norton antivirus? Nope. But they do come with some OfficeScan thing, which is licensed by NUS and can be updated regularly through the school server.

But anyway, i uninstalled it. =p

How to uninstall the NUS trendmicro officescan?
I tried but it requires a password leh..

jiuyang76

I just got my R40 yesterday! Planning to use Partition Manager to split up the C drive. Will it affect Windows XP (e.g. the product activation)?

Going to add another 256MB ram from sls this weekend.
Someone mentioned in this thread that twinmos 256MB ram is selling at $80. Which shop to find this offer?:)

qingtian

Dear jiuyang76,

Should'nt be any problem for the partition.
Cos I am also using Partition Magic to partition my Hard Drive.

blancMX

embedded security chip software

Hey guys did u all download and install the embedded security chip software?

wat will happen after install? and the update ibm did not install the software?

philip827

ppong said:

fireproof?:eek:

If i am not wrong the shell of T40s are made using magnesium composite materials....can withstand fire....
I saw one article about it in a funan shop...:)

OdualO

guys i read from articles that the T series graphics chipset could be change to a better 1 and i wonder if the X series could oso do the same thing coz i intend to get the x31.
any advice would be appreciated. thks

jiuyang76

blancMX said:

How to uninstall the NUS trendmicro officescan?
I tried but it requires a password leh..

or you can go to Services and turn it off. Also i think you need to edit the registry so that the pccntmon.exe does not run when startup.

blancMX

jiuyang76 said:

or you can go to Services and turn it off. Also i think you need to edit the registry so that the pccntmon.exe does not run when startup.

i noe now to uninstall liao guys...
the password is trend
:laugh:

jiuyang76

blancMX said:

i noe now to uninstall liao guys...
the password is trend
:laugh:

Ok wat antivirus are u using? Yesterday i install the norton antivirus that comes with the NUS R40, but it only give 3 mths of free subscription service:(

Ended up using Trend Officescan again...

ppong

yah 3 months like not worth it... esp when norton takes up too much system resources...

ahtea

ppong said:

i think in the event of a fire... the key board will melt first... fireproof cover also no use :laugh:

Precisely. Will u salvage the laptop in a fire? You will of course run for ur life first afterall life is more important than ur laptop.

jiuyang76

anyone knows what is the default power scheme for R40? I see so many power schemes there; i'm afraid after i switch to a new scheme i can't find the default scheme again.

ahtea

jiuyang76 said:
anyone knows what is the default power scheme for R40? I see so many power schemes there; i'm afraid after i switch to a new scheme i can't find the default scheme again.

Default scheme for Battery Maximiser?

Slipstream

Hi guys, Got some question to ask Centrino users.

I'm currently using T23. My battery life is abt 2.5hrs.

Running office applications and Acrobat only.
Already using Max Battery under the power scheme.

Wat is the battery life for Centrino-based Laptop?

May consider upgrading or just buy another battery. :(

Cheers :bounce:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.