IF everyone really boycott, will the prices decrease?

randomph

Volume based businesses with high fixed costs can close down if X% of sales is lost. But effective boycott can only happen if many combine forces.

if its just boycotting over price, there are a range of price points in sg. Plus many are repeat customers that are used to the place and don’t mind spending a bit more. It needs to be something more extreme like having a bad reputation, lacking in cleanliness, food poisoning. Like in malaysia, the McDs are affected by the boycotting. Because of u know what reason. Usually its not just price points.

there also needs to be substitutes, like when you study econs you know that prices are more elastic if you can easily substitute like a commodity. So if there are cheaper alternatives a boycott can be successful. In malaysia the starbucks boycott led to a lot of bubble tea places huatting like siao.

BlackWing1977

Dunno simi boycott.. but the double whammy of food price increase + shrinkflation is really horrible. :mad: ☠️

Sultana

Yes. Microeconomics at work.
Cook at home first.
Travel overseas for makan seafood

Zze121

sinkies consumer look for the cheapest alternative, like departmental store becoming so rare now
food stall small scale hit by high rental
small food distributor many stalls to supply, can be replace by bigger distributor, until profit margin drop they stop bring in

woshihock

look at covid lockdown period

price got go down meh?
#supportlocal

then after covid, they increase price to bite your arse

mocax

look at covid lockdown period

price got go down meh?
#supportlocal

then after covid, they increase price to bite your arse

that's why cannot support local.... sinkies are well known to 吃里爬外 and pwn each other... :frown:

cpuer

still haven't learn how to home cook? must raise until what price then start learning, meh meh ooh liao lah!

NeonX

Price won't reduce, they rather go bankrupt and shut down than reduce prices one

icebleue

$500 GST Voucher very powerful one. You go shopping centre today.. Many people feel rich this week.. spending money like noone else business... Support local businesses.. Supermarket and restaurants big huat... You lost the plot. Haha...

elevate

Boycott ock n yakun for one year. See how it goes

(Probably nth happens. Too many rich kumgongs)

kage

Yes will ...

Simple logic of Demand and Supply I study at Uni ...

Applies to everything....

Just like in office got 20 chiobu, but only 2 male BBFAs .... The 2 BBFAs will also get snatched :o

Godeau

I know in reality wont happen cos SG got many rich elites, FTs and tourists.

But I am just imagining a scenario if everyone really stop patronizing a certain foodcourt or curry puff (for example), say their business drop by 90% in 1 day.... after a week or two will they revise their prices downwards?
(If we assume that everyone = 100% including the rich, elites and no tourism inflow spending)

Short term, probably 1 for 1 promo or something along that line to encourage spending, everything looks rosy still. Mid term, shops will probably start to close after declaring unsustainable rents and wages to pay off using company accumulated funds, people will start losing jobs at this stage. Long term, recession will follow because nobody is spending on anything besides the basic necessities for survival

mskate88

But I am just imagining a scenario if everyone really stop patronizing a certain foodcourt or curry puff (for example), say their business drop by 90% in 1 day.... after a week or two will they revise their prices downwards?
Usually they will give more discounts.

Lchlch

The only weapon we hv is do not patronize the stall.
If everybody doing the same, the stall will close shop.

kreja

Nope.

I just decide to live within my means. Cant afford yakun then no yakun eggs lor. Mybfd

Boycot for what? Waste time

neutralph

Ya I dun order drinks from foodcourt or coffeeshop. But less 1 customer makes no diff... all the ah peks & other customers order drinks like no body biz
That's why i say just let it go loose. When it reaches a critical point, things will "correct" itself either through policies or violence.

Hakuna Matata

I don't think so.
Only minority will do that.
The majority will continue to support and pay.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.