Ikea Galant Desk

devilwahaha

so is it as good as sitoca ?

Nope. Galant table tops will bloat if got moisture like put cold drink on table top or water, i've been putting cold drinks on a sitoca for years now and still good as new while my galant bloated after a few weeks.

locksleychang

I'm using a Galant table too, for about three years already. I don't think you need to worry much about the table "bending" because the steel frame underneath it will prevent that from happening.

However, the finishing for the wood they used for the table-top is not the best. I once has something sticky stuck to the table, so I used some scotch tape to try and lift it off. The table coating (which is a thin piece of film) tore off. Can see/feel the wood underneath. The wood itself is not damaged or anything, just the finishing. Anyway, this also depends on which table-top you go for.

My father stands on my table to change the curtains. He is about 65kg. So, no worries. I recommend the "A" legs. I think they can withstand more than the "T" legs.

haze_1986

The Gallant range of table is one of the few things that Ikea made it good.

The strength of the wooden tabletop is provided by the stiff metal frame that runs the underside of the wooden tabletop. So unless the metal frame can flex, the table will not flex.

But I must add. While it will not flex, because it does not have a vertical backing, it suffers from lateral movement. You can shake the table and it will move from left to right but not front back.
This~

All good except the horizontal shaking everytime i accidentally knock on it. One way to reduce it is to place it at the corner of 2 walls.

killtuna

Is there a desktop rig holder that can be attached to the desk?

think put rig at desk takes up alot of space

SKinny86

My galant also survived for many years already. It has metal bar support underneath, so I guess it wouldn't bend so easily.
The A frame is good, and if i'm nv remember wrongly, they have also cpu metal rack add-on which can be attached onto the metal frames.

iAmBored

Nope. Galant table tops will bloat if got moisture like put cold drink on table top or water, i've been putting cold drinks on a sitoca for years now and still good as new while my galant bloated after a few weeks.

Ah that's bad news for me. I always have a cold drink on my table.

Has anyone tried the desks from modular space?
planmoebel_03_large.jpg

pa9797

My ikea galant do not bloat when I put ice water and hot noodle. 10 years on still as good. that is why the next table i change also galant. onyl difference in colour

devilwahaha

My ikea galant do not bloat when I put ice water and hot noodle. 10 years on still as good. that is why the next table i change also galant. onyl difference in colour

The old batch must have been of better wood and/or finish. I had to get ikea to replace my galant 2 times cos of horrible finishing until the 3rd piece they sent me still got problem i called for a refund which they gladly accepted thus wasnt so bad. Now using a 2nd hand sitoca which is extremely hard wearing but a little too small for my liking, possibly gonna get another 160x80 galant again haha :s22:

Ah that's bad news for me. I always have a cold drink on my table.

Has anyone tried the desks from modular space?
planmoebel_03_large.jpg
Their stuff looks damn good, but it seems like they only do projects and not retail sales :( Got any lobang for their products? I love the one you quoted.

bemylove

the wood for ikea like not solid if you knock on it, why not just buy those "office" table. those boring gray but use super thick wood

kuanyu

my galant at home still fine, no signs of bloating after 3 years. and the one at office (from pa9797) also no bloating. Both of them handle things from cold water to wet towels!

fockyerdod3r

Im using galant. On the table got 3X dell U2312HM + Samsung HDTV + PS3 + G27 + 3 Speakers + 15 inch MBP | camera n stuff. Im sure the table can easily support the weight of a CPU.

With my G27 clamp onto the table. When i play GT5, i drive damn hard the table is damn stable.

koicafex

i've been putting cold drinks for 6months liao...always got the water that drip down also...nv wipe ==ll no bloat leh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.