I'm a teacher and a parent and honestly, i cant deny there is indeed a difference in a normal neighbourhood sch, 'popular' sch and 'branded’ sch

hachi

PRC teachers were sharing that even for normal school in singapore, the competition is more fierce in singapore than china.

They were telling CHINA parents "do not for any second think education in singapore schools is easier even tho there are lesser topics to target"

these was part of a casual gathering i have with these ppl for my monthly trekking
Depending on schools... At primary schools levels. I find PRC parents more competitive. Local parent took away their their kids bilingual and start to panic when in P5 or P6. Too late lor..

LoaGong12

Quality of d school n teachers is different. Although they like to say all schools r good schools.

While some schools produces alot of gangsters bengs n lians.
Did you even read the second post by the mum abt quality of teachers?
u seem like another one who just opens mouth without knowing what you are talking abt .

evidence that quality of teachers different ?

hachi

And parent involved in their primary sch kids are important... My kids also don't have tuitions... We guide them ourselves.

I see most parents like to spend money, not time on them.

ahnyaahnya

I tot someone say all schools are good schools ?
All schools are good.
It's the students and parents that make the difference.
Most / all neighbourhood teachers give extra help after official lessons end.
Branded schools... extra help is from tuition teachers

esandwich

i thk the biggest diff is parents involvement. from the start, these parents alr fought, move house, PV to get kid into branded pri sch. naturally this effort will continue till psle either enrichments or time.
so branded schools naturally getting good psle results? i dont fully agree.

hachi

i thk the biggest diff is parents involvement. from the start, these parents alr fought, move house, PV to get kid into branded pri sch. naturally this effort will continue till psle either enrichments or time.
Even top 10 primary schools can only come out with 30% IP student?

hachi

Concur those... In fact some are actually their seniors that got good A level results. My elder one got tuitions from his senior ... I saw the A level results..... Scholar....

ahnyaahnya

The underlying difference is the SES of the student population. High SES students do better because of better resources at home and better parental guidance.

If possible, surround your kids around with high SES students.
Provided you can provide similar resources and guidance.

matrix05

Unlike last time, all schools have sufficient resources. Principal and HoD every 6 yr also rotate around. Normal vs popular vs branded the difference if any is not much. Only the intake students decide their own destiny.

RoLanTo

taking away the PV or Alumni support away... are there any difference in govt support to normal neighborhood schools vs SAP or branded school? like govt give neighborhood sch 1 dollar, SAP sch 2dollar, branded school 3 dollar.. got this kind of different treatment?

from TS, the "resource" differences seem to come from Parents volunteer, clan association, alumni... unless i missed any juicy part..

Autumn.

Depending on schools... At primary schools levels. I find PRC parents more competitive. Local parent took away their their kids bilingual and start to panic when in P5 or P6. Too late lor..
this is coming from teacher on students not parents.
These teachers some of them took degrees in china and further masters and post grad in singapore and other countries and also did their exchanges in different countries.

in exact words " 大陸學生卷不過新加坡的學子 "
OFC they said that not knowing i am sinkie 🤣🤣🤣.

Full_Cream_Milk

1*mHaijYuh4Gfqz2hV-nwv0A.jpeg

sickoflife

Hmm... that's something worth a thought... I guess this is also cause and effect of the food-chains
History is always elites bully peasants until peasant buay tahan and revolt. Then peasants become elite and cycle continues.

The animal farm lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.