Impression after PM's speech

Soulblade

qdnzi.jpg

I‘m perfectly sane. Those who are emoing in this thread, are the ones that needs help.

:D

Confidence for our future!!!Joining the crowd on social media to talk about lky!!!

luci3l

I dont think the govt has any intention to reverse the white paper so there is no way it wil be off.

That policy in my view is tough to take but may be a neccessary evil.

I will only be really peeved if Singapore's TFR has risen above replacement rate of 2.1 but yet the white paper policy is not stopped or reverse.

However you know i know, we are just not producing enough to substain Singapore as it is.

So sooner or later the only Singaporeans left are the elites. The rest of the people will soon become immigrants from all over the world.

I beg to differ. Where is PAP's plans? I don't see it at all. Though you are right that some oppositions propose to turn us into a welfare state I don't think all are like that. How do you know the defence budget cannot be cut? There is a lot of wastage and inefficiency you know. Maybe not 40% but why not start with 10%?
Cut spending will make top guys quit the force :o

ShivKite

My stance is simple. Anyone who is for the 6.9m white paper and **** issues loses my votes.

Plain and simple. His rally spoke of nothing on these issues. As such, I cannot trust him.

repentance

Why not? They found a winning Formula and will keep using it in Future GEs. Fine tuning until all opposition is gone for good.

I for one is going with the idea that PAP % will drop.

But that can be fudged by the other relatively comatose opposition parties.

Can't be bothered too much already. I'll just cast my vote with my family and prepare to migrate liao. :(

revil78

Opposition will not clean sweep the reserve. $1 IB mai spread fear lar...... why? Becos we still have a president to guard it.

Is a mechanism by PAP to safeguard yet they want you to believe opposition will squander the $$$

Isayitstrue

Even if we do not mentioned about the past, and only focus on matters this year. Why were the public only told about the election committee was formed two months later after a WP mp asked? Why are the lines redrawn again. Was there consultation? If there is no consultation among the 80+ mps in the parliament, what consultation would sinkies hope to get when they are voted in.

runforyourlife

However you know i know, we are just not producing enough to substain Singapore as it is.

the prob is not producing enough cannot be used as a damn excuse! u see. if this excuse is used often enough, FT and FW will always be imported to "supplement the workforce".

you are young and won't see the potential danger.

what if we are 50-55? dio pok? depends on savings right? can tong 10 years or not to 65? thats if our cpf withdrawal age doesn't change!

then how like that? FT/FW already replace the "low paid" , "low skilled" and "jobs which sinkies don't take" jobs, by the time you are that age, how to find jobs? who to hire?

:(

Soulblade

So sooner or later the only Singaporeans left are the elites. The rest of the people will soon become immigrants from all over the world.

So? SINGAPOREANS voted for it and as long as people are happy about it, I don‘t see it as a problem.

havetheveryfun

So guys, don't vote based on sentiments, not because PAP has been doing okay for the last 50 years, or because you want more opposition in parliament that you vote for opposition or for PAP. If you're happy with the current governance, vote for PAP, if not vote for WP. Don't let other sentiments change your votes. Democracy is not a game. It's about the country's future

too bad.. some P@P ministers make it seem like a game.. a game where only they exist (not all of them of course) - charles, vivian, sim ann, son of amk and punggol just to name a few

Soulblade

I for one is going with the idea that PAP % will drop.

But that can be fudged by the other relatively comatose opposition parties.

Can't be bothered too much already. I'll just cast my vote with my family and prepare to migrate liao. :(

Remember to come back as foreign talents ok? Our government and people will welcome yoy back with opened hands. :D

havetheveryfun

the prob is not producing enough cannot be used as a damn excuse! u see. if this excuse is used often enough, FT and FW will always be imported to "supplement the workforce".

you are young and won't see the potential danger.

what if we are 50-55? dio pok? depends on savings right? can tong 10 years or not to 65? thats if our cpf withdrawal age doesn't change!

then how like that? FT/FW already replace the "low paid" , "low skilled" and "jobs which sinkies don't take" jobs, by the time you are that age, how to find jobs? who to hire?

ya.. even if we accept FT.. FT become PR and Singaporean, also find it tough to have babies in singapore..then the FT also dont reproduce, then the fertility rate will still continue to drop and drop

then what? just continue to import FT for the next 50-200 years ? what if one day the countries of the FT become as developed as Sinkapore, then no more FT want to come here also anymore.. we need to solve the root of the problem (why families dont want to have even 2 kids at least?), not just the symptom

repentance

Remember to come back as foreign talents ok? Our government and people will welcome yoy back with opened hands. :D

No man, i would trade in my citizenship and cash out CPF. Then log in and laugh at you guys. :(

jayphus

we are not HK. We don't have a 2million strong PLA force protecting us. Defence is our selling point to investors. Somehow you cannot measure efficiency to national security.

gnoes85

See those TV drama where got those arrogant ASK? Same attitude.

revil78

After 6.9 million. We will need more people in restaurant/hospital/transport etc for the mass population. Then what? 10 million?

runforyourlife

i share TS' sentiments; watching WhiteonWhite's rally with an opened mind. was disappointed esp with PM's mud-slinging stunt. tis is an opportunity, their airtime to addr citizens' nat'l concerns.. not a time for name-smearing. will have to baptise my ears tonite by goin' to SDP rally..

your language is much better than mine.

naveen99

Well, in this case, since PAP is the incumbent, they can't really come up with elaborate plans like the opposition can since they have already highlighted it during the budget talks and put certain plans into actions. When you vote for PAP, you're voting for what you've seen thus far and whether you're confident to put the country's future in their hands based on their performance in the last 4 years

Voting for opposition is voting for a new direction, for better or for worse.

So guys, don't vote based on sentiments, not because PAP has been doing okay for the last 50 years, or because you want more opposition in parliament that you vote for opposition or for PAP. If you're happy with the current governance, vote for PAP, if not vote for WP. Don't let other sentiments change your votes. Democracy is not a game. It's about the country's future

"Voting for opposition is voting for a new direction, for better or for worse."

That is provided you believe PAP is going to lose power which is impossible for at least the next 20 years. If we just want to increase the competition to keep PAP on its toes, then it does not matter at this stage on which direction the oppositon will bring us to.

One have to be really unsophisticated to believe KBW on the possibility of a freak election where on 12 Sep we will be faced with a new coalition govt.

I am more worried of the world laughing at us, if on 12 Sep we are left with only a single opposition (only Hougang SMC looks secure) and we call ourselves a democracy. Singaporeans should not then blame themselves for choosing to get screwed over and over again.

Peterpan707

To be rational, i watched the rally online with my colleagues, with a neutral mindset.

For the entire hour, there was no concrete plans on what the ruling party shall do for Singapore, 50 years from now.

All i heard was, Lee Kuan Yew, gutter politics by discrediting the opposition based on opinions rather than facts, impressions and not credibility backup by facts.

This is entirely disappointing. If they are indeed that credible, why are the people unhappy? Are we willing to sacrifice 4 more years again without knowing any of the plans laid out for us?

Given a choice if i would risk having more opposition in parliament than incumbent, vs having the entire parliament filled with yes-mans whom tells us "trust me" without revealing any plans, sorry, if i had not issued a blank cheque before, i will not issue it now.

plan 6.9 million, increase gst, aea, etc. u tink thet will tell u.

ShivKite

we are not HK. We don't have a 2million strong PLA force protecting us. Defence is our selling point to investors. Somehow you cannot measure efficiency to national security.

If defense was a good selling point, North Koreas would be far richer then South Koreas right? Who doesnt love nukes, by ur logic.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.