Impression after PM's speech

eeLoyH

I feel that opposition supporters are feeding and trolling themselves to keep telling the same few people that more people would vote for opposition.

Maybe on Sept 11 we will really know then.

I think the pm made a point, there's no reason to just yolo and take out the blank cheque to push for changes.. Got to balance the budget abit

runforyourlife

ya.. even if we accept FT.. FT become PR and Singaporean, also find it tough to have babies in singapore..then the FT also dont reproduce, then the fertility rate will still continue to drop and drop

then what? just continue to import FT for the next 50-200 years ? what if one day the countries of the FT become as developed as Sinkapore, then no more FT want to come here also anymore.. we need to solve the root of the problem (why families dont want to have even 2 kids at least?), not just the symptom

it doesn't take a genius to answer that qn. by replying my quote you have answered the qn without knowing it.

root of prob: families don't wanna have kids.
why?

high cost of living! thats the reason why. CSJ and WP plans are all on social spending address the root of the problem.

I have no idea why that is not mentioned at all?!?! wa biang ehhhhhhhh. :mad:

runforyourlife

I feel that opposition supporters are feeding and trolling themselves to keep telling the same few people that more people would vote for opposition.

Maybe on Sept 11 we will really know then.

I think the pm made a point, there's no reason to just yolo and take out the blank cheque to push for changes.. Got to balance the budget abit

sorry to disappoint you but i'm a neutral party. i buy into the theory of basing my observation on what others are saying.

havetheveryfun

it doesn't take a genius to answer that qn. by replying my quote you have answered the qn without knowing it.

why?

high cost of living! thats the reason why. CSJ and WP plans are all on social spending address the root of the problem.

of cos i know the reason.. but PAP IBs dont know the reason.. or they dont want to know the reason

Singapore wont always be ahead of the other countries.. India and Philippines etc can always catch up.. by then where the FTs gonna come from?

HuaLuoHan

For those who missed it, my summary below.

No of concrete plan revealed/reiterated = 1 (building of uni at punggol)

No of times LKY name literally mentioned = 17

No of times LKY ribbon appeared = 1

1171 Huat ah!

fox1

why?

Baby bonus, PGP.
Mentioned mah.

:)

t0rnado

we are not HK. We don't have a 2million strong PLA force protecting us. Defence is our selling point to investors. Somehow you cannot measure efficiency to national security.

I think our no#1 selling point is our low corporate tax.

runforyourlife

of cos i know the reason.. but PAP IBs dont know the reason.. or they dont want to know the reason

Singapore wont always be ahead of the other countries.. India and Philippines etc can always catch up.. by then where the FTs gonna come from?

(economic) success at all cost. to be even better.

i'm not sure what these context means anymore.

FT_FTW

leader needs to be courageous. if he got balls to say his plans no matter how unpopular, sensible ppl will still buy what the leader says

he damn weak la

chech01

Imagine ministers losing.

Where to find so many million dollar job for them.

But

I think they will taste first hand what it means to be a pmet and have someone else doing it for less.

Lss should rejoice. Finally his fasterer betterer cheaperer is working or whstever

Huat ar not minister

Sent from throne room using GAGT

vroomvroom

the prob is not producing enough cannot be used as a damn excuse! u see. if this excuse is used often enough, FT and FW will always be imported to "supplement the workforce".

you are young and won't see the potential danger.

what if we are 50-55? dio pok? depends on savings right? can tong 10 years or not to 65? thats if our cpf withdrawal age doesn't change!

then how like that? FT/FW already replace the "low paid" , "low skilled" and "jobs which sinkies don't take" jobs, by the time you are that age, how to find jobs? who to hire?

:(

I hear you. Actually no need to use exclamation mark lah.

you view of 'not producing enough' is an excuse by them to bring in more FT/FW. Whereas my view is 'not producing enough' is THE reason that force them to bring in immigrants.

So for that we must agree to disagree.

luci3l

So? SINGAPOREANS voted for it and as long as people are happy about it, I don‘t see it as a problem.

oh ? den continue to vote for your master and dont complain when you get retrenched some day. rmb to surf the job bank as there are jobs ready for you there

derrickgoh

Pathetic how Dragon Lee has to keep bringing up his late father to gain brownie points or sympathy points.

t0rnado

leader needs to be courageous. if he got balls to say his plans no matter how unpopular, sensible ppl will still buy what the leader says

he damn weak la

Can't agree more!
A leader need to have his own view and be man enough to express it!
People will support and stand by him!

Look at Donald Trump with his extreme views but still enjoy huge popularity in poll!
While Jeb Bush try to be a moderate and afraid to express his views for fear of offending anyone.

runforyourlife

Baby bonus, PGP.
Mentioned mah.

pgp for couples wanting to have kids? :s22: ok i got it, to help supplement the elderly side.

but still, there are tons of factors not addressed and i feel embarrassed that they ain't addressed, some that i can think of currently:

1) work life balance
2) single parent issues
3) high cost of living in terms of inflation, your baby powder, your kopitiam food etc
4) the "non insurance" that kids will grow up and "support you"
5) competition of kids in schools

can you say these are not of concern to Singaporeans? Ultimately these are the root causes but the answer to them is they will bankrupt the economy if we increase funding to solve these issues, just because these funding wouldn't increase gdp.

do you agree?

Soulblade

oh ? den continue to vote for your master and dont complain when you get retrenched some day. rmb to surf the job bank as there are jobs ready for you there

Too bad for you, I will never got retrench and I will live long enough to laugh at you people.

What can you do to stop us? Nothing. Thats why you are whinning and giving out empty threats right now because you realize that you are powerless

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.