Impression after PM's speech

cybercom8

Too bad for you, I will never got retrench and I will live long enough to laugh at you people.

What can you do to stop us? Nothing. Thats why you are whinning and giving out empty threats right now because you realize that you are powerless

why you want to stir him and let him mistake you for pap when you are WP IB? :s8:

oh wait...:s13:

fox1

mandated amount of working hours? in banks you mean? or in areas where scholars are working only. what do you think are the working hours in banks? are they "mandated"? :s22:

do you know what is the difference in entitlements for married couples with kids vs single parent? i'm sure you would know from the book this one. are they the same?

point 3, really? cheaper alternatives for milk powder? :s22: will u use it? please, not everything is from the books. last time a canned drink cost $1 or $1.20 in the kopitiam, now a 100 plus cost $1.50 at least. dispute that? your chicken rice example is not a strong example, is chicken rice $3 in most hawker centres?

point 4, fair enough, but unfortunately straight out of book thats all. no elaboration on the practical difficulties of doing so.

point 5, from the way some peeps are caring for themselves only, just by getting a seat in a certain primary school would come down to the wire with sinkies aiming to kill each other. what for have a kid just to satisfy the govt's aim, and let them suffer in this world? is the current landscape and policies set aside suitable for kids to develop well in SG? do you have a kid?

this reply is OT, i apologise, and i will not reply any more :s22: not everything is based from books and stats when it comes to cost of living.

I remember vaguely I grew up drinking some cheap milk powder that I can't recall.
My family was poor, living in a no room apartment and a DIY room made with wood wall.
Nothing with those additives that makes your kid's urine more expensive.
Drinks at coffeeshop/hawker, it's not fair to pin squarely on gov policies.
You want higher wages, hawkers want higher wages.
Their employees want higher wages.
I'm not saying gov policies have no part in this, but it is a mix of many reasons.
Also, 100Plus has traditionally been more expensive.

If you refute opinion with "it's all from the books, not real", then there really isn't anything to discuss as you have a closed mind.

:)

cybercom8

Many yes men or ppl who don't want to speak up you mean?

nah, we want good men/women to throw up ideas but end of the day, everyone must be able to identify what is the greater good and work towards the same goal rather than indulge in ego trips of my idea is better than yours :s13:

runforyourlife

not true, i got to say even when i am rich, i have no plans to have kids. nothing to do with money, i am sure i can provide amply. nothing to do with stress because so many have gone through the system and turned out well. so why must i be so special?

its a personal choice to have kids or not and this is the trend in many developed countries too. at this stage, i would think even if i have millions, i am not cut out to be a good parent so i respect those who are and have no complaints when people go on maternity and paternity leave and I don't get to enjoy that perk

point accepted that there are peeps whom simply do smth for no apparent reason. in your case u feel u are not cut out to be a good parent. keep asking yourself why, you may arrive at a conclusion bro :)

and wa biang eh, have a kid just for paternity leave? i expect you to be smarter than that fellow singaporean :s22:

cybercom8

the only thing i admire in the entire speech was LHL focused on the word "better" and "i pledge" "i promise" which no other credible opposition said so.

the only qualms i have is these are big words, not that i don't trust but there needs to be further emphasize on why. surely even as we are successful we have to justify our actions right, we are afterall human. i'm sure all of you would agree on that?

if you become a director, den u don't justify what u do meh? keep telling ceo don't worry sure better one, trust me, i will put my life and stake into it. no right.

surprisingly we do that in real life - trust. i work with many partners and some of them, you can trust they will do their part and deliver by the agreed date.

some partners will betray that trust and no amount of constant reminders or nagging is going to change that so better not work with such partners.

if there is not trust at all, everything will fall apart.

Novak2016

surprisingly we do that in real life - trust. i work with many partners and some of them, you can trust they will do their part and deliver by the agreed date.

some partners will betray that trust and no amount of constant reminders or nagging is going to change that so better not work with such partners.

And there goes this quote;

Reputation is temporary

Character is permanent!

silent_espy

nah, we want good men/women to throw up ideas but end of the day, everyone must be able to identify what is the greater good and work towards the same goal rather than indulge in ego trips of my idea is better than yours :s13:

Yes that should definitely be the way with how the parliament runs. I don't see any problem with having a small number of opposition mps in parliament to throw their ideas into the hat for the incumbent to debate with them about. And let the majority and ppl be the judge if their ideas are nonsensical. I know that the WP has been actively speaking up in parliament and some of the policies we have now are a modification of their ideas with what the pap implemented. Which is good. As long as at the end of the day policies are in favor of Singaporeans.

fox1

you just base u few policy to judge a party?

not look at a big picture and track records?

Just like the doctor who suggests amputation to prevent spread of cancer, thatis not a good doctor.
The one that says, it's ok, don't amputate, we just tie a string very tightly around.
This is a good doctor.

runforyourlife

I remember vaguely I grew up drinking some cheap milk powder that I can't recall.
My family was poor, living in a no room apartment and a DIY room made with wood wall.
I'm not saying gov policies have no part in this, but it is a mix of many reasons.

If you refute opinion with "it's all from the books, not real", then there really isn't anything to discuss as you have a closed mind.

the thing is this... if u have a kid, will u feed him with the cheapest milk powder? subconsciously u will try your best to find the best quality at a price u can afford. :s22: doesn't mean that there's a cheap alternative and you will use it for your kid. no 1 does that, lets face it. this is how ppl live their life, not by maths/stats

i take the point it is unfair to pin point fully at govt policies for rising cost of living. point noted that everyone want higher wages. i do not object to that belief. the point is these are for benefits of citizens. like healthcare for example, and this coffee for example, surely $$ can be better prioritized for this purpose, do u agree? but i do understand that there are range of factors affecting the rise in cost of living. and no 100plus has never been "traditionally more costly", before the packaging is changed it was cheaper, after packaging they are charged at a premium :s22: but thats a side issue.

dxdx999

Agree.

Too bad many members of the pap would rather do so, going as far as to attack the person's character, when they cannot attack his ideas.

Oh also nitpicking is a fav past time of some pap ministers. Hawker centre ceilings anyonr?

Sent from the black sea using GAGT

articland05

Just like the doctor who suggests amputation to prevent spread of cancer, thatis not a good doctor.
The one that says, it's ok, don't amputate, we just tie a string very tightly around.
This is a good doctor.

Or the doctor can say it's ok, don't amputate, try chemo instead.

There are many angles to a problem.

Sent from HTC One_E8 using GAGT

dxdx999

Yes yes yes, so can you finally let us know why you're based in Japan and not here.

I mean singapore is a great place, why choose to be worse off?

Sent from the black sea using GAGT

eAtNeAt

u hit the nail. thing is people has lost trust. I don't believe the stats pappies give out. I don't trust 154. I think they manipulate stats for their agenda. even simple erp on Saturdays. traffic is so smooth at city hall area and I don't believe LTA monitors and conclude that traffic flow is slow.i don't believe the numbers mom gives out, nor moh which say keep strict check to prevent medical costs from escalating.

its difficult to lead a country in this way.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.