Impression after PM's speech

vangug

did u ever feedback to your boss?

when you do, and he tell u "this is my dept, u diam and let me do my job" anything wrong?

no, i am a good employee, i never question my boss, there is a reason i am the employee and he is the boss

matrix05

For those who missed it, my summary below.

No of concrete plan revealed/reiterated = 1 (building of uni at punggol)

No of times LKY name literally mentioned = 17

No of times LKY ribbon appeared = 1

Overall message : We did well with our pioneer Ministers , please just trust the current ones to do well in future. Add in a few insinuations of oppositions not being able to handle TC and also dodgy past reputations.

Good summary. But do note the 2 new U (SIT and SUTD) not even 1/4 filled, Punggol University is going to take a long while.

blimeyy

Does anyone know pap official stand on the white paper? There isn't much discussion from their side. Can't get any clear signals from them. Only smoke bomb and more smoke screen

cybercom8

did u ever feedback to your boss?

when you do, and he tell u "this is my dept, u diam and let me do my job" anything wrong?

that could be you thinking you know better than your boss but you could be looking at the issue only from one angle and he could be looking at the big picture ;)

articland05

no one say they are. i'm asking you a qn. to backup with details and substantiate what u say and you went on by saying oppositions are not saints.

do you answer your boss this way? when he ask you why are u underperforming and you answer he's the reason why. do u do that?! no right..

there's no point in whacking each other and not thinking for the better good. no? i'm sure this is not the innate you.
Bro, it's difficult to type essay replies on mobile lah....

Sent from HTC One_E8 using GAGT

cybercom8

Good summary. But do note the 2 new U (SIT and SUTD) not even 1/4 filled, Punggol University is going to take a long while.

why not filled? thought got so many who failed to make the cut to the usual unis kpkb no places for them since they failed to make the cut for the typical local unis?

silent_espy

that could be you thinking you know better than your boss but you could be looking at the issue only from one angle and he could be looking at the big picture ;)

Maybe having more ppl at the meeting will give the boss and yourself more perspectives to solve the same problem

silent_espy

why not filled? thought got so many who failed to make the cut to the usual unis kpkb no places for them since they failed to make the cut for the typical local unis?

Sinkies are too picky again they rather not study if they can't get into the top 3 unis

satayxp

leader needs to be courageous. if he got balls to say his plans no matter how unpopular, sensible ppl will still buy what the leader says

he damn weak la

yes, u saw thru his duplicity ~
on one hand he says he n his party is not for populism, but on the other hand he does not hv the courage to detail his implicitly unpopular plans tt r supposedly good for SG.

Aegis

PAP's plans have been laid out both at national and township level, some people don't read at all. Pls do not seek to mislead.
On the contrary, opposition's proposal is to swipe clean our reserves, cut defence spending and land grab in the name of the people. this is very dangerous and its a sure path to destruction for millions of lives.

do you even know how the reserves can be used? you say until like it a khong guan tin anyone who forms the government can touch it.

on the other hand has the msm reported on how pap used the reserves and whether it has been debated in parliament. hell, even a former president doesn't know how much reserves we have.

cybercom8

i recognise your effort in trying to get me or others agitated.

put yourself into other peeps shoes. not everyone is lucky. should you earn 2500 per month for example, heck, 3k den. 3000, after cpf, assuming you are filial, contributing to parents, after basic expenses, bills, food, insurance etc, how much would you be left with? how much would you have for investment?

please, just because you are earning a good sum doesn't mean everyone is. we cannot deny the fact there are peeps whom are, and worst of all, we ignore the fact and gloat about it.

oh its not me, not in my backyard mentality. i worry for the future of our culture.

why get agitated? :s22: this is edmw.

if you are in those shoes, then i strongly advise you to spend less time in edmw and focus on ways to work your way up. with investments, its good to start early no matter if its only $100 per month when you start working and not something you start to think of when you are nearing retirement age.

pcwing in edmw is actually a luxury and not an essential thing.

samshio

To be rational, i watched the rally online with my colleagues, with a neutral mindset.

For the entire hour, there was no concrete plans on what the ruling party shall do for Singapore, 50 years from now.

All i heard was, Lee Kuan Yew, gutter politics by discrediting the opposition based on opinions rather than facts, impressions and not credibility backup by facts.

This is entirely disappointing. If they are indeed that credible, why are the people unhappy? Are we willing to sacrifice 4 more years again without knowing any of the plans laid out for us?

Given a choice if i would risk having more opposition in parliament than incumbent, vs having the entire parliament filled with yes-mans whom tells us "trust me" without revealing any plans, sorry, if i had not issued a blank cheque before, i will not issue it now.

from your previous postings, you are not entirely neutral.

besides the budget, this year and NDP rally, already reveal many future plans and implements.

Also in the rally these 2 wks, already mentioned moving Paya lebar airbase to changi to free land for housing/parks. moving ports from tanjong pagar to jurong.

already implement pioneer gen package.

Opposition also never propose any plans either

cybercom8

oh ? den continue to vote for your master and dont complain when you get retrenched some day. rmb to surf the job bank as there are jobs ready for you there

lol, whoever you vote for, you will likely be retrenched some day :s13:

so remember your own advice then :s13:

ponpokku

To be rational, i watched the rally online with my colleagues, with a neutral mindset.

For the entire hour, there was no concrete plans on what the ruling party shall do for Singapore, 50 years from now.

All i heard was, Lee Kuan Yew, gutter politics by discrediting the opposition based on opinions rather than facts, impressions and not credibility backup by facts.

This is entirely disappointing. If they are indeed that credible, why are the people unhappy? Are we willing to sacrifice 4 more years again without knowing any of the plans laid out for us?

Given a choice if i would risk having more opposition in parliament than incumbent, vs having the entire parliament filled with yes-mans whom tells us "trust me" without revealing any plans, sorry, if i had not issued a blank cheque before, i will not issue it now.

the truth is they cannot lay out any concrete plans becos of one or all of the following....

1, they have no idea about the future, no plans at all. or,

2, they have plans but are highly controversal or unpopular or damaging to the citizentry. or,

3, they are afraid that their plans kena shot down by oppos during rally, just like how they tried in vain to shoot down oppos road map/manifesto/plans. the difference is, oppos could do a better job at shooting down pappies' plans.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.