Information about Langkwai

figo16

Dont mind to hijack this thread. Where in langkawi is a good place to stay for 3nights? We want smth shopping and streets food .

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT

cenang or kuah town. There is a big shopping mall in kuah near the eagle square

kuah is a good place if you want to make a day trip to thailand or pulau payar.

Andrew833

not that safe but still a nice place for a short getaway

You can spend 2 days in penang to makan, 3 days langkawi to visit cable car and klim mangrove and another 2-3 days to snorkel and relax in koh lipe.

I have done that for 8days haha, langkawi just a stop over to koh lipe, then to penang for maken and shopping.

singexpat

anybody know how much budget required for 4 days 3 night? I checked plane fare about $134 for Airasia and around $100 more for hotel.

For backpacking alone, is it easy to go around? I do not drive as I have no license. Is it true taxi are expensive over they? Thanks for ur advise:s12:

depends on what type of hotel you want to stay?
2 main areas - Cenang Beach and Kuah Town
Cenang beach is main tourists area, and has one of the best sunset views.
3 key beach bars there - Yellow Cafe ThirstDay and Kalut bar
Cenang shopping mall offers the the familiar fast food joints and quite a number of duty free shops along Cenang beach.

Kuah town is about 25mins drive away from Cenang beach. Mainly like commercial area, with even more duty free shops, and banks.
Its also nearer to the jetty for boat transfers to Koh Lipe, Kuala Kedah and Kuala Perlis (this is near to Bukit Kayu Hitam and you can go through to Hatyai from here).

theres uber now, and its cheap. Else, when you sign up for tours like island hopping etc, they provide return hotel transfers.

am quite familiar with Langkawi, goes there usually once every 1-2 months. :s13::s13:

sneggg

i’m planning to go there with a 8 month old baby.

any advice? lol

singexpat

i’m planning to go there with a 8 month old baby.

any advice? lol

nua lo.. i presume your baby on solids already?

if budget is ok, can consider this private villa. Service is good
https://www.lavillalangkawi.com
free flow minibar that includes beer :s13::s13:
think they got 9.1 rating on booking.com

i brought my baby along then for island hopping and watch Langkawi eagles.
then mostly is nua and play in the private pool of that villa.

sneggg

nua lo.. i presume your baby on solids already?

if budget is ok, can consider this private villa. Service is good
https://www.lavillalangkawi.com
free flow minibar that includes beer :s13::s13:
think they got 9.1 rating on booking.com

i brought my baby along then for island hopping and watch Langkawi eagles.
then mostly is nua and play in the private pool of that villa.

ya my plan is to nua lor like this till need to rent car anot?

actually i like st regis but v exp looking at westin instead will take a look at yr recommendation too!

wa v nice villa but sold out on my dates alr!

singexpat

ya my plan is to nua lor like this till need to rent car anot?

actually i like st regis but v exp looking at westin instead will take a look at yr recommendation too!

wa v nice villa but sold out on my dates alr!

no need to rent la.. use Uber can liao unless you staying in super ulu place..

i find st regis and westin bo hua for that price.. top up few hundred MYR more and i get the private pool villa, and it comes with foc airport transfer, and they do foc shuttle service ala carte style in cenang area and plus free flow mini bar.. :s13::s13:

wasted lah.. you might want to check out other dates, or email them directly. its definitely worth the nua experience. :D:D

you might want to check out Andaman also. They have an in-house reef which is interesting. Only downside is you will probably have to eat all 3 meals inside the property cos its kinda far to the cenang area

sneggg

no need to rent la.. use Uber can liao unless you staying in super ulu place..

i find st regis and westin bo hua for that price.. top up few hundred MYR more and i get the private pool villa, and it comes with foc airport transfer, and they do foc shuttle service ala carte style in cenang area and plus free flow mini bar.. :s13::s13:

wasted lah.. you might want to check out other dates, or email them directly. its definitely worth the nua experience. :D:D

you might want to check out Andaman also. They have an in-house reef which is interesting. Only downside is you will probably have to eat all 3 meals inside the property cos its kinda far to the cenang area

bro anymore similar hotels like the one u recommended?

rrr2015

may i know how you get to koh lipe & penang from langkawi? by ferry? i read ferry from langkawi to koh lipe will hold your passport ...

at first glance ... there seems to be nothing much to do at koh lipe or langkawi unless one dive or snorkel :s22:
I have done that for 8days haha, langkawi just a stop over to koh lipe, then to penang for maken and shopping.

juxtaposition

singexpat

may i know how you get to koh lipe & penang from langkawi? by ferry? i read ferry from langkawi to koh lipe will hold your passport ...

at first glance ... there seems to be nothing much to do at koh lipe or langkawi unless one dive or snorkel :s22:

LGK to Penang better to fly la.. 30mins flight compared to 3hrs ferry..

Langkawi more things to do than Koh Lipe but Koh Lipe jin chio for water sports and views.

Andrew833

Been to Langkawi, Koh Lipe and Penang last year for 8 days.
All 3 places are different.
For beach and view - Koh Lipe
For culture and foods - Penang
Langkawi is just a few attractions, for me is a stop over.
Best Route:
SG - fly to - Langkawi - ferry to - Koh Lipe - back to - Langkawi - fly to - Penang - fly to - SG
Ferry to Koh Lipe from Langkawi is only available on peak season, non peak season have to take speed boat from Pak Bara (HatYat, Thailand).

Andrew833

Ferry captain will hold your passport before you board, return to you by Thai immigration officer by shouting name one by one.

rrr2015

From LKW to Koh Lipe is the fastest, 1.5hr ferry and your passport will be kept by them.

https://moncochon.wordpress.com/2016/03/27/from-langkawi-to-koh-lipe/

The ferry to Penang is a bit too much for me, I rather fly :)
don't like this arrangement ... i think they afraid we switch to other boat half way? :D

LGK to Penang better to fly la.. 30mins flight compared to 3hrs ferry..

Langkawi more things to do than Koh Lipe but Koh Lipe jin chio for water sports and views.
I thought Langkawai good for lepaking only :)

Ferry captain will hold your passport before you board, return to you by Thai immigration officer by shouting name one by one.
:eek:

singexpat

3qJlMfr.jpg

MYR 1.60 nasi lemak

o1CajQw.jpg

Sunset along cenang beach

yGjjk25.jpg

Great Beach bar

8Th7Gje.jpg

ncDoOd8.jpg

Cheap booze!

rrr2015

nasi lemak bungkus! but these are common around malaysia ... can have at least 3 ~ 4 packets if sambal is good.

lovely sunset

ahh ... single malt ... lovely to pair with cigar :D
not really into these though

thanks for sharing ...
3qJlMfr.jpg

MYR 1.60 nasi lemak

o1CajQw.jpg

Sunset along cenang beach

ncDoOd8.jpg

Cheap booze!

singexpat

nasi lemak bungkus! but these are common around malaysia ... can have at least 3 ~ 4 packets if sambal is good.

lovely sunset

ahh ... single malt ... lovely to pair with cigar
:D
not really into these though

thanks for sharing ...

Well, I kinda summarise my retirement activities Liao.. haha

rrr2015

It's for immigration purpose lol and there is no chance for you to change boat.
just kidding la ... think i watched too much movies liao

Well, I kinda summarise my retirement activities Liao.. haha
you finally found your paradise ... good on you! :)

I'm more of kopi/tea + onsen ... but those countries with good onsen always comes with earthquake / volcano / hurriance :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.