Intel LAN VS Killer LAN

Ark Law

The fact is Intel lan is way better than killer lan.

Qualcomm uses Killer lan just to market their cheap and lousy lan and bundle with some tweak software.

Better in stability, not performance. Want better internet performance, go subscribe to leased line

ov2rey

Qualcomm Atheros Killer Network Manager › Wireless network dropping every 5 minutes.

My wireless connection is continuously dropping every 5 to 10 minutes. The laptop I have is an M** GT60 gaming laptop. It was purchased roughly 1 month ago. This past Friday, November 29th, 2013. Around 8:30pm I lost my wireless signal. I did the troubleshoot. When it came back, 5 minutes later, I had to do another troubleshoot.

Gigabyte board with killer lan

Ever since Tuesday, March 25, I've been frequently losing my Internet connection altogether, requiring a modem power cycling and often a cold reboot to reestablish my connection. It happens most often in Stormwind, though even while I'm out on quests does the problem occur. I did install Battlefield 3 last Tuesday, and I can play that for hours on end without experiencing these issues.

Ark Law

The question to ask is are you going to game over LAN? I.e. Multiple players over the home network.

Gaming over internet has too many layers in between for a nic to make a difference.

Hence my earlier points.

devilwahaha

Killer nic, intel nic, whatever nic...

Your ISP uplorry your connection, you have what god nic in this world also no use.

The problem dun lie with the nic used, it's our ISP.

But then, with this killer nic, with the right type of marketing and promo, can easily sells to people who don't usually think and just whack whatever it's good.

I can see there's quite some sheeps here already that will buy into that marketing :s13:

ov2rey

I can see there's quite some sheeps here already that will buy into that marketing :s13:

The fact is marketing bluff everyone. If killer lan really good why server don't use killer lan but rather they use Intel?

Ark Law

The fact is marketing bluff everyone. If killer lan really good why server don't use killer lan but rather they use Intel?

That's why it's called marketing.

And that's why they target "gamers" for their marketing. How else you expect mobo manufacturers to sell their products when there's not much between them for any to go wrong.

devilwahaha

Its not about marketing bluff everyone, most of the usuals who hang out here knows their basic stuff, or at least they should know. Some just prefer to live ignorantly.

I'd take Intel nic over Killer/Murderer/blabla any day, but for the sheeps who refuses to know any better, let them be the offerings to the Qualcomm almighty while we enjoy our rock solid Intel NIC's :D

That's why it's called marketing.

And that's why they target "gamers" for their marketing. How else you expect mobo manufacturers to sell their products when there's not much between them for any to go wrong.

I "gamer" also but not so kum gong hor =:p

coloumbiaGames

Its not about marketing bluff everyone, most of the usuals who hang out here knows their basic stuff, or at least they should know. Some just prefer to live ignorantly.

I'd take Intel nic over Killer/Murderer/blabla any day, but for the sheeps who refuses to know any better, let them be the offerings to the Qualcomm almighty while we enjoy our rock solid Intel NIC's :D

I "gamer" also but not so kum gong hor =:p

I love my Intel NIC too!:D

MacClipper

Wah, you guys still going at it ah?

imo, Intel >> Killer.

The Killer driver/software is also quite bloated at >500MB the last time I check, precious estate on my poor tiny 240GB SSD. =:p

Rogue

Intel NIC is great. Remember to disable its logging on the driver level... Generate a lot of logs. lol.

escksu

Huh..... What toking you???

This is end user stuff we are toking about. Not server stuff. Don't mix them up. You use Cisco router at home? you use managed switch at home?

Btw, how come servers don't use ROG boards since they are so good?

Same thing, big companies don't use Asus routers... its designed for end users in mind.....not corporate.....
Well, totally different market.......

escksu

This is getting really bo liao..... end users comparing which NIC is better.......I think comparing whosse sausage is longer is better.....

zenify.me

Can someone explain what differentiates Intel, Realtek and Qualcomm Atheros NIC if the end user have no intention of using prioritization software?

DestinyDreamer

Most of us not having any network traffic flow issues on pc side. If isp or modem+router chui, internet also cmi with any high-end NIC. :s22:

m3 th3 last

Does anyone read tomshardware.
They had done a review on killer lan way back when msi launch their z77 gaming MB. Difference is most single digit at the very best. And from what I heard this killer lan things is expensive.

Ark Law

Can someone explain what differentiates Intel, Realtek and Qualcomm Atheros NIC if the end user have no intention of using prioritization software?

Already answered;

No difference. Killer is marketed by Qualcomm to "kill gaming lag" using prioritization. Keyword marketed and gaming.

There's no other reason than that why MSI uses Killer in their Gaming series mobo. If it wasn't Killer, just another regular Broadcom/Realtek NIC would've taken its place.

In case anyone is wondering, I'm referring that Killer is marketed to gamers who know nothing about hardware, not that it makes gaming/gamers better :vijayadmin:

escksu

No difference. Even prioritization software also makes no difference. Cause the volume of traffic is simply to low to make any difference.

All these whatever killer LAN etc... all simply marketing.

Claim to lower ping times, lag times blah blah..... OK, maybe can reduce by 1% (super optimistic).... So... Does that make any difference to your online gaming?

If you connect to a server in US for your game, no NIC can make any difference. If you connect locally, does 20ms and 21ms makes a difference?

version10

Using the Killer LAN network.

When my games are put in 'Highest' priority, the pings will go up to as much as 700ms. When I switch to a tier lower to 'High' goes back to normal 30ms.

Emailed them twice with attached logs that they have requested and got no replies. Waited for a new/updated driver to be released after 6 months already still nothing. Hopeless.

Mikey

Ok I am not verse in networking. I just google for network latency test and gotten the ping-test.net site

I just plug in killer nic 2 runs, then 2 runs with Intel lan, then 2 runs with Killer nic and end with 2 runs with Intel lan again.

allhomme

As far as I know
Plugging the fiber directly from OpenNet GPON into SFP / PC won't work.

If not we should see some hardcore networking equipment pictures :s13:

maybe got ba... nowsadays so many switches F/O for inter-device comms riaos...

Maybe cisco or some badass manufaturer oreadi got F/O NIC but not available to general consumer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.