iOS 9 Ad Blocker

szeli

Just got invited to a beta version of purify I must say content blocker works really well

sian, I signed up for e beta for both purify n crystal. nothing so far. guess have to wait for release ver liao

oric1

Other than blocking ads in Safari, does it block ads from other apps too like the Straits Times app in the new Ad Blocker in iOS 9 ?

szeli

Other than blocking ads in Safari, does it block ads from other apps too like the Straits Times app in the new Ad Blocker in iOS 9 ?

if u want system wide, u have to go e proxy/vpn route as suggested by gkhchay.

szeli

nice article by techcrunch about 2 more content blockers.
both seem more tuned towards power users.

1. 1Blocker
img_2940.jpg

2. Blockr
img_2939.jpg

full article
Hands On With Three iOS 9 Content Blockers: 1Blocker, Blockr And Crystal

kashix

Currently using crystal, easily the best out of those I've tested! It's like safari Super sped up!

otacon

I felt with adblock, my battery drain much faster than usual so i removed it

szeli

does it work with chrome?

read that any app that uses e new Safari View Controller will support e content blocker also. not sure what Chrome uses though Google prob just need to update their code to leverage on e content blocker.

szeli

description of app still says free for limited period though..but it's not free leh..wa sian so fast the promo ended

yah it's a bummer. e dev has updated e official website to indicate free promo over also... :(

limpe84

description of app still says free for limited period though..but it's not free leh..wa sian so fast the promo ended

It was free when I got up at 2 am to update to iOS 9. US timings really suck when you are in Asia. :s22:

But the creator of Crystal is a married man with 2 kids, so he clearly isn't doing it for free. And he is also facing some pretty stiff competition (Marco Arment, the creator of Overcast, also released his own ad-blocker, running the Ghostery database no less). That's some pretty serious firepower he is packing! :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.