iPhone 6/6+ Bendgate - SG

boobip

So, with the bendgate sensationalized internetwide:

How many local users have bent their iphone 6+ putting in their pockets?

U know the rulz... NPNT... Please post photo proof (i.e. having today's straits times/magazines/etc with today's date as the backdrop while taking the pic)

chardz88

No issue so far... been putting in my front left pockets all these while... of course with a case on... ;)

nutz1943

If you do polling, you won't know if it is indeed a genuine case.

Instead those who reported bend, should post a pic with their nickname handwritten beside it.
Then indicate under what circumstances the phone bend.

Like that more helpful?

trento

Yes, 6+ bends with quite a bit of hand pressure. Watch the clip.

ip6 held up pretty well. Note 3 also. quite good for a large phone. Best was new Moto X.

imo, normal usage should be ok. im surprise ppl actually wana put such big phones in their pockets. but i suppose big phones in tight pockets may lead to the same kind of pressure applied as shown in the clip.

So if durability is what you're after or need, u may want to reconsider 6+.

boobip

Actually that's true... end of the day, it's an Apple product. Ppl love to bash Apple stuff, but I guess end of the day, what we sg consumers want to know is whether the phone is bent out of shape easily or not based on normal everyday usage (and not force bending it).

But interestingly, if this thread doesn't much response from actual users... we know that the fervent demand of the iPhone 6+ is probably contributed by 90% flippers and 10% users LOL...

PS- I own goal first... I admit I was one of the flippers for the initial batch :p

DQUEK123

Seriously using that much force to bend the iPhone 6/6+. Any phone will be bend lor....
Bo liao..

Ask that guy bend the Motorola 大哥大....lol see if he can bend it

trento

Seriously using that much force to bend the iPhone 6/6+. Any phone will be bend lor....
Bo liao..

Only the Motorola 大哥大 can withstand such force...

yes, from the youtube test, all the phones (not Moto X) got bent, just a matter of how serious. So i think this panic is overdone. However, as 6+ is the easiest among all, there's a higher chance it might get bent in very tight pockets more so than others.

trento

another test. iphone fared better.

Meanwhile, a separate durability test by warranty service provider SquareTrade showed slightly better results. The San Francisco-based company uses robots to test the "breakability" of certain products. It rates the phones on a 10-point durability scale, with 10 signifying the highest risk. It reported that the smaller Apple iPhone 6 scored the best at 4 and the iPhone 6 Plus scored a 5. It also said that its predecessor the iPhone 5S scored a 6 and the Samsung Galaxy S5 scored a 6.5. In a press release on Monday, the company never flagged the problem found by consumers on the MacRumors website.

The new iPhone 6 Plus

DQUEK123

Try bendig this one

3339385951_36210868e3.jpg

arcturuz

i still find it hard to believe the original guy who claimed that his phone bent in his suit pants

szeli

Inside the building where Apple tortures the iPhone 6 | The Verge

Apple gave these guys a tour of their stress testing facilities. looks pretty legit. u might remb e last time Apple gave ppl a glimpse of another of their test facilities was during "antennagate" with e room full of "spikes"

It's made with steel / titanium inserts designed to reinforce potential stress points, a special blend of aluminum Apple formulated itself, and ion-strengthened glass. But more important, Apple says, is that the iPhone 6 has been put through hundreds of tests, as well as tested in the pockets of thousands of Apple employees before consumers ever get their hands on it.

dun believe e inserts exists? can verify with iFixit tear down photos i think. i haven't checked it.

some pics from e article.

conclusion? they do test their phones.

DSCF7809.0.jpg

DSCF7933.0.jpg

DSCF7840_verge_super_wide.jpg

DSCF7862_verge_super_wide.jpg

DSCF7929_verge_super_wide.jpg

lawreo2002

Like always. There needs to be something wrong with the new iPhone. So far I been using ip6 plus. No bend yet.
At least it's not something uncontrollable like antenna problem. Just need to exercise logic when handling the phone this time.
It's aluminum. It's has to be soft.

Runez

not surprise there's bound to be some haters out there, but who the **** cares :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.