Iphone battery replacement go where?

JivBunny

Pls go back to Apple.

I replaced my iPhone battery few times over the decade, including one local authorised apple service centre getting a Grade AAA battery……all CMI, ie, batteries just die off after a while or kaput. It will be painful when it happens

Main reason why I go to these shops bcos they can do it without the need to reset your phone.

For the 2 times which I change the batteries at Apple directly, they last all the way normally till I sold them off.

A.Dassler24

Pls go back to Apple.

I replaced my iPhone battery few times over the decade, including one local authorised apple service centre getting a Grade AAA battery……all CMI, ie, batteries just die off after a while or kaput. It will be painful when it happens

Main reason why I go to these shops bcos they can do it without the need to reset your phone.

For the 2 times which I change the batteries at Apple directly, they last all the way normally till I sold them off.
Why do Apple needs to reset your iPhone? Isn’t battery replacement a straightforward parts replacement w/o the need to access the software?

cosmothecat

Why do Apple needs to reset your iPhone? Isn’t battery replacement a straightforward parts replacement w/o the need to access the software?
That's my concern too

I got an older iPhone 13 Pro max with a few older generation crypto wallets that is using old method of generating private keys locked to phone hardware

Not so easy to replicate the crypto wallets on a new phone or back up then restore. Hence, once factory reset wipe, money inside all gone!

So, now I just using an external wireless battery pack to top up the phone internal battery

I think buying a new iPhone 17 is a better choice. Old phone don't do funny things to it.

Lots of Google authentication codes are on the old phone too

coinman

People's Park Centre level 1 got one shop. I went there repair my iphone 7+ b4, no sound control. Quite good and reliable. They also replace battery.. At least after repair liao, my iphone 7+ smooth running for 2 years liao.

The shopname starts with C... cannot say anything more if not kana points for ads

Can Or Not

Let say battery and price are the same. Which one will u choose to have ur batt replace? Apple store or ah beng store? I scare ah beng no skill. Anyone got experience?
Someone started a thread before and can claim CDC voucher at Mister Mobile… I haven’t try yet.

i would prefer to replace outside because Apple might be long waiting time

Otokiru

go direct apple better, make sure you book appointment... even authorized apple shop u see the review online jin bad...

i just got mine replaced last week on saturday at MBS applestore, took them 3 hours... i think better go on weekdays will be faster... its their standard procedure to ask u to perform a backup.. they even tell me incase got taiji they will need to remove my screen protector.. but after i got back my phone, they never remove...

Food_Lover

Recently, I repaired the 2x iPhone 12 and 1x iPhone 12 mini battery myself with original Apple batteries.

First, I sourced the Apple Original batteries on 闲鱼淘宝 (2nd Hand Taobao). They do sell brand new authentic batteries (Apple sealed) and second hand but original batteries. For the price point, I chose second hand original battery between 96-99% for S$15/RMB65. They do provide DIY tool kits for the repair as well.

Secondly, when the spare parts arrive in Singapore, I went Youtube to learn how to repair. They have many tutorial guide to teach you what to do. Overall, I rate the repair easy.

Thirdly, original Apple batteries (including used) allows you to run Apple post repair diagnostic to pair the battery to your device. Note that third party batteries do not have this capability.

Lastly, after repairing and running post repair diagnostic, Apple will certify it is authentic and have this repair history reflected on your device:

$15 used but original DIY vs $128 new and original Apple Store repair - I'd choose $15 DIY repair for the price point. Note that $15 is used iPhone 12 battery. For newer model, 咸鱼淘宝 sells it more expensive (e.g. iPhone 13 99% BH at $20-25 etc)

stoney

Recently, I repaired the 2x iPhone 12 and 1x iPhone 12 mini battery myself with original Apple batteries.

First, I sourced the Apple Original batteries on 闲鱼淘宝 (2nd Hand Taobao). They do sell brand new authentic batteries (Apple sealed) and second hand but original batteries. For the price point, I chose second hand original battery between 96-99% for S$15/RMB65. They do provide DIY tool kits for the repair as well.

Secondly, when the spare parts arrive in Singapore, I went Youtube to learn how to repair. They have many tutorial guide to teach you what to do. Overall, I rate the repair easy.

Thirdly, original Apple batteries (including used) allows you to run Apple post repair diagnostic to pair the battery to your device. Note that third party batteries do not have this capability.

Lastly, after repairing and running post repair diagnostic, Apple will certify it is authentic and have this repair history reflected on your device:

$15 used but original DIY vs $128 new and original Apple Store repair - I'd choose $15 DIY repair for the price point. Note that $15 used is iPhone 12 battery. For newer model, 咸鱼淘宝 sells it more expensive (e.g. iPhone 13 99% BH at $20-25 etc)
Self repair also no need worry your Edison photos and videos get leaked.

Food_Lover

Self repair also no need worry your Edison photos and videos get leaked.
For me, secondary phone no need so expensive repair.

For main phone, I will buy a new phone instead of repairing it.

Emperor_Hippo

Let say battery and price are the same. Which one will u choose to have ur batt replace? Apple store or ah beng store? I scare ah beng no skill. Anyone got experience?
Depends.

if i lum nua to change phone, then I'll just change the battery BY MYSELF. I dun see the point of bringing to a shop when it's a 10min job.

Emperor_Hippo

That's my concern too

I got an older iPhone 13 Pro max with a few older generation crypto wallets that is using old method of generating private keys locked to phone hardware

Not so easy to replicate the crypto wallets on a new phone or back up then restore. Hence, once factory reset wipe, money inside all gone!

So, now I just using an external wireless battery pack to top up the phone internal battery

I think buying a new iPhone 17 is a better choice. Old phone don't do funny things to it.

Lots of Google authentication codes are on the old phone too
Then just change the battery. Easier.

take note from 15 onwards, they stopped using those silly putty glue liao. So u need to apply a small voltage of abt 5 to 9v to tease out the battery.

plus there's a BMC module on the battery itself from 15 onwards, so need to do hardware transplant.

but its quite satisfying doing it yourself.

identity_1991

$15 used but original DIY vs $128 new and original Apple Store repair - I'd choose $15 DIY repair for the price point. Note that $15 is used iPhone 12 battery. For newer model, 咸鱼淘宝 sells it more expensive (e.g. iPhone 13 99% BH at $20-25 etc)
I used to repair my iphone 5s and 6s too. But the phones these days, including the 13 pro max that i’m using now, got the water proof seal. So once you remove, you can’t glue it back properly unless you got the proper tools. The DIY toolkit is just sufficient for you to pry the phone open. Risky though

pwongkk

If got option 3 to DIY, then I would choose this option.

Cheaper and u get your own battery. Ease of mind worrying if data will be stolen or phone being accessed.

Changing battery is not too difficult. Have been changing out Samsung batteries. Once you catch the concepts how these phones are designed, which are mostly quite similar, you can get it done easily on your own.

tsnd01

Just go to official store. You never know what the bengs will do to yiu phone. They could steal data.

ajcc1987

Moi ah boy recently went mister mobile replace his iPad charging parts , quite convenient. Then can use cdc voucher also. Just need to book appointment and say what’s wrong with your gadget so they can get your parts ready.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.