iPhone X is a hype?

WhiteAnt

After using the iPhone X for a period of time. It is only fair that we should compare the X with current or previous mode of iPhone.

Once the comparison is made, the X for example, the bumped in the screen resolution and the omission of Touch ID is consider a good upgrade over the other iPhone.

But if really have to compare with android phone, certain tech used are already dated, but whether android user like it or not, Apple have the capacity and the ability to standardised adoption rate. Period.

When you compare phones, you compare with the whole industry. Just like you buy car, also cannot be looking at same brand

On your last paragraph, it is not 100% that Apple has the capacity to put things as standardized adoption rate anymore. For example, iphone is following the wireless charging feature right now (to make it worth $1888). Iphone must have an amazing AMOLED display like Samsung (to make it worth $1888). IPhone having water-resistant like the rest (again to make it worth $1888). None of these are seen to be set by iphone as a trend starter, rather is iphone joining in the bandwagon game to conform to the industry standard as they have no choice. Apple is no longer setting the trend unlike the past anymore. Look at the design from iPhone 6 to iPhone 8, stale to impress and people are getting sick of the same look of the phone. IPhone is using lightning cable instead of USB-c, the rest of the smartphone did not conform to Apple's way due to the fact that it makes better sense to share the same adapters/cables with less wastage, unlike the Nokia days. Sharing the same cable is beneficial for everyone when traveling or in office imo, why be indifferent unnecessarily. Funny thing is even MacBook is using usb-c.

However, I gotta agree with u that face Id is something which the rest didn't do well in but apple does it good and right. Due credits should be given. Personally, I don't need face Id due to the single fact that it will never unlock faster than my trusty fingerprint, without even looking at it. I don't buy this face Id feature, another gimmick just like Siri- use a few times and forgotten. Too bad iphone users have no choice but to use face Id as Apple can't integrate the fingerprint underneath the screen. The marketing of face Id is to make users feel good paying $1888

If I'm not impressed with iPhone X, it really means Apple didn't score a distinction for it. Only the camera department is worthy. Iphone 8plus or even 7plus can do better seriously.

Just sharing my honest views. Don't be offended if I sounded harsh :o

LonelyMan

Not sure if any of you remembered when Steve Job passed away, it was mentioned that he left behind 4 years of products. The IP4S was released that time. So the 4 years of products are IP5/5S/6/6S. When IP7 came along, it retained the same design and only IP8 and IPX had a glass back.

Of all the new products that came after the 4 years of the passing of Steve, only Face ID make some sense and did well. The Mac Mini was not really upgraded or significantly changed, the Apple Watch is not exactly industry changing.

Apple held back on the Wireless charging and bezelless due to the slow redesign of the glass body. AOLED screen is more of a cost issue rather than a need to change. IPS screen had been great all these while.

For me, for sure I would not use Apple first gen products, while I for sure wouldn't use Samsung second gen. For Other companies, even the 3rd gen products are risks.

Yes, Apple is riding on reputation, for how long? Not sure. My IP6s plus is still kicking well apart from the slowly dying battery which can be replaced at $118 at Apple or $80 at third party shop.

athenodorus

Told you all already iphone x isn't worthy

Pay $1888 but get small screen, unlock also need swipe again. Worst of all, that fugly notch which even paying $1888 also cannot cure. Pray hard you don't break the screen else you pay repair fees of $400+. Other damages you pay $800+

What's good? Only the camera. Sorry to make all iPhone X fans angry while reading this. You know truth hurts. I rather get lv bag with that money to last me at least 5years. If you're rich or stupid then it's totally worth it (in your perspective) :crazy:

why are u in apple section then? go enjoy your s7e. big screen, no need swipe to unlock, cheap no fugly notch, cheap repair or can change a new phone too.

Zaalaa

Pay $1888 but get small screen, unlock also need swipe again. Worst of all, that fugly notch which even paying $1888 also cannot cure. Pray hard you don't break the screen else you pay repair fees of $400+. Other damages you pay $800+

What's good? Only the camera. Sorry to make all iPhone X fans angry while reading this. You know truth hurts. I rather get lv bag with that money to last me at least 5years. If you're rich or stupid then it's totally worth it (in your perspective) :crazy:

hey... life is not all about money dude.

when it comes to apple. it's never because of the price. it's about the attraction to bring stranger and people together and closer to you.

the iphone x was the attraction. i was going to go meeting with a key person in a big china company. didn't have much to introduce myself. but when he asked if i'm holding the iphone x. this got us excited. and we land the quotation we wanted pretty easily.

that was unbelievable.

what the fk. even if the phone cost 10k. i've bought it.

you will be amazed how many stupid people there are in this world.

it is easier to earn money from the stupid people than the smart people. and that's how we set our target market.

there's probably 90% stupid people and 10% smart people like you. (who lives in your own delusional world).

Thesail61

We human beings are very complicated. There are
1. Apple loyal fans
2. Apple haters
3. Pragmatic cust.
4. Followers of majority
5. Trend followers
.... maybe more categories...someone can help fill in here.

Hence, various opinions, for me I find that iPhone X screen is larger the 8plus. The face ID is great (better than others). Some says camera good but I find that the camera quality isn't the best (can be better). Under poor lightings, N8 is better. Also i find that some colors are not true reflection of the actual colors of the object taken ( again this is my opinion). In fact, iPhone 8plus seems to be better plus battery life of 8plus is much better.

As a consumer, I think we don't really need to care what technology nor understand why apple does this, does that. We also need not try to help justify for Apple's action. We choose the product that is best for our usage period. If you find it good, then go for it. If you find that you have been shortchange then get a refund or sell it away and wait for another phone that suits your need. Price is relative. For me, i couldn't accept the camera quality so i decided to return and get back to iPhone 8plus which i think is better for that price.

Some of you might not agree with me and that's find because everyone is entitled to your own opinion. As for if it is a hype, i think most people are expecting more and more from apple because of their previous gd quality phones plus now apple is charging more ( don't forget the apple care). Like someone said, he would rather pay for LV bag and i don't disagree. An LV bags can last years ( at least mine is already into 20 yrs and still doing fine).

Archuke

Diam diam la you all. Why so bothered about what phone people want to use. Si kaypoh. You like android you use android la. People like apple let them use apple la. Also never huan tio you. You use android think that people who use apple are stupid. People who use apple also think that people who use android are stupid. Just diam diam and move on la aiyo :s22:

Jirachi

Even an Android flagship now goes for $100, I won't even buy. It's not about the price.

metamofia89

iPhone X has way too many features that’re good apart from the camera. The beast of a chip in the form of A11, the durable stainless steel frame and the seamless integration into the well-established Apple ecosystem along with wireless charging, OLED display and image processing software are justified for an upgrade. Is it an upgrade worth $1888? The answer will vary between individuals. The notch is a classic hate it or like it feature but I really do rate the X as a flagship phone but I gotten the 8 instead as I did not feel it was a $1900 upgrade from my 7. That is my choice. Others have theirs.

I agree most of the points you mentioned as it will hinder one’s decision to get the X but saying that you would spend the money on a bag is going around the loop: people rate different products differently. A tech-savvy person might look at someone, who dropped $2000 on a bag, and say he’s crazy. That’s wrong too I feel.

metamofia89

When you compare phones, you compare with the whole industry. Just like you buy car, also cannot be looking at same brand

On your last paragraph, it is not 100% that Apple has the capacity to put things as standardized adoption rate anymore. For example, iphone is following the wireless charging feature right now (to make it worth $1888). Iphone must have an amazing AMOLED display like Samsung (to make it worth $1888). IPhone having water-resistant like the rest (again to make it worth $1888). None of these are seen to be set by iphone as a trend starter, rather is iphone joining in the bandwagon game to conform to the industry standard as they have no choice. Apple is no longer setting the trend unlike the past anymore. Look at the design from iPhone 6 to iPhone 8, stale to impress and people are getting sick of the same look of the phone. IPhone is using lightning cable instead of USB-c, the rest of the smartphone did not conform to Apple's way due to the fact that it makes better sense to share the same adapters/cables with less wastage, unlike the Nokia days. Sharing the same cable is beneficial for everyone when traveling or in office imo, why be indifferent unnecessarily. Funny thing is even MacBook is using usb-c.

However, I gotta agree with u that face Id is something which the rest didn't do well in but apple does it good and right. Due credits should be given. Personally, I don't need face Id due to the single fact that it will never unlock faster than my trusty fingerprint, without even looking at it. I don't buy this face Id feature, another gimmick just like Siri- use a few times and forgotten. Too bad iphone users have no choice but to use face Id as Apple can't integrate the fingerprint underneath the screen. The marketing of face Id is to make users feel good paying $1888

If I'm not impressed with iPhone X, it really means Apple didn't score a distinction for it. Only the camera department is worthy. Iphone 8plus or even 7plus can do better seriously.

Just sharing my honest views. Don't be offended if I sounded harsh :o

Since you used car in your post, I will stick to that comparison when you mentioned about the stale design. I don’t think most car companies radically change their chassis design when coming up with new models down the road. But people still look past that and still fork out the additional costs which are way above the thousands.

The thing is, why fix a design that is not broken in the first place? The 6 had a weaker alloy which was addressed in the 6S. Looks the same but way improved.

hawkz02

👍

Ome man’s meat is another man’s poison and this debate will be endless.
There’s no right or wrong be it comparing cars,branded or gadgets.

As long happy ok Liao. There will always be opposition no matter which camp u in. Lolx just relax and enjoy the fruit of your hard work.

Just a phone why talk and talk non stop???

athenodorus

and the criticisms came from someone who doesn't own the phone before. how substantial? u guys decide.

charleslin

Inferior complex most of the time.

Android owners who bought a $1k phone, want to shoot someone who buy a $1,888 phone to justify themselves that they paid less for a supposedly equivalent specced phone.

Xiaomi users who buy a $500 phone also laughing at Samsung / Pixel owners who spend $1k on a phone compared to them spending $300-500.

Never ending.

End of the day, you buy what you want can liao.

Don't know why people like to force their preference on others, like a religion or something. :s22:

Zaalaa

because we eat too full. jiak xiu bak. eh sai bo? :(

it means we are very free, eng eng cheng cheng. many free time to argue on this kind of trivia things.

singapore really good for living sia.

And to answer the Thread question.... everything is a hype as time passes... bubble tea... llao llao.... mbs... casino... even obama....LKY...

hype dies eventually.

WhiteAnt

Everyone hates me here because I hurt your pride for paying something so expensive with nothing good to talk about :( Truth hurts, I know. Thread open for discussion but all arrow me just because it doesn't suit your reading.

Subsequent years ahead when iphone @ $2000, $2200, $2400... But still stuck with same design and technology, good luck~

The world is my oyster~ :o

visano

To answer the questions why I created this thread, in which some even said I come from other forums to smash iPhone X. First, I am an iPhone X user who got an iPhone X on November 3rd. You can track my old posts to see, I even uploaded my iPhone X photos. Then why am I writing this? Definitely not to create a war. Exactly 1 month I have used iPhone X, what I feel is “apart from Face ID and the bezel less screen, it feels exactly like a normal phone”, just like the other member said. And even such good features do come with trade off, like sometime my FaceID cannot unlock my face due to unknown reasons. iPhone X is indeed a good phone, but I feel like it is just not worth the money that I have spent, sometime I even feel it is a downgrade from Samsung S8, thus the question if it is a hype is raised.

Some people just blindly defend their choices, whatever they chose must be the best. Others dont care what is happening out there, as long as they are happy with what they have, they dont look for a chance for improvement. I am different, I constantly reflect and review what I have done to find opportunities to do it better next time.
You are right to voice your views. My take is buy and use what you like as long as you can afford it. All these preferences are personal, influenced by marketing by brand owners. If you do a close comparison,, these high end models are quite close in usage and specs

charleslin

Everyone hates me here because I hurt your pride for paying something so expensive with nothing good to talk about :( Truth hurts, I know. Thread open for discussion but all arrow me just because it doesn't suit your reading.

Subsequent years ahead when iphone @ $2000, $2200, $2400... But still stuck with same design and technology, good luck~

People want to spend $10k on a phone is their daiji, you huan lo so much for what?

Buy Ferrari 1m also kum lan? When GTR at $400k can probably out-run it?

People hate you because you gong a lot of sh|t, when nobody cares what you think about their purchase.

bersaLobangSG

No one will hate you. You have only demonstrated why you will always be an android user only.

Apple user usually posses a certain empathy towards other user who can’t get to enjoy Apple devices due to some circumstances. We try not to be too blunt and buffer android user desire but Scrooge characteristic... Apple user Wan to share technology with everyone including user from android camp.

But if really you have to use blant words to voice out your some circumstances due to you having problem paying $1888. I can only say pls work harder next time so that you can join our camp. Period.

Jirachi

Your motive is to come here to troll of course people will get fed up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.