iPhone XS Esim question

ryan_khoo

Read their replies few weeks before launch
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10156478503301677&id=28011986676

Quote:
Hi xxx, we're still assessing on how eSIMs will impact customers’ user experience, especially when the time comes for them to upgrade their iPhones. Do stay tuned as more information will be given nearing the launch of the next iPhone :) - Sharlyn

And their reply 2 days ago which is after iPhone 11 announcement

Quote:
Hi xxx, we are assessing how eSIMs will impact customers’ user experience. More information will be given if we are launching this new service. Thank you. - Bel

Singtel I clap for you !!!
Key thing is the word IF ...

“More information will be given IF we are launching this new service ... “

So, my guess is they won’t be giving any information bcos they are not launching mah ... 😂

boliao45

How so? Today M1 already got the esim, if people seriously wanted it would have switched over already. Don't see how red and green will "lose profit" by not introducing esim... Care to enlightened me?

I think so too. M1 has the best data roaming plans and they know once they offer Esim, they will lose profits to m1.

Jirachi

How so? Today M1 already got the esim, if people seriously wanted it would have switched over already. Don't see how red and green will "lose profit" by not introducing esim... Care to enlightened me?
People who are bound by contract?

ryan_khoo

Just guessing, could it be he meant to say Red & Green will “lose profit” if they introduce esim ? Thus Red & Green not supporting esim ... 🤔🤔🤔

icyflame

Just guessing, could it be he meant to say Red & Green will “lose profit” if they introduce esim ? Thus Red & Green not supporting esim ... 🤔🤔🤔

Maybe because now they will only "lose" data profit to M1, users will need to subscribe to a $25 monthly plan. Many will not do so and may decide to pay for additional data instead.

However, when user's core Sim is esim, they can just pop in a TPG and use as data, over the main card which is used for calls. This way, they will lose the additional data profit.

I guess they worked out the sums and concluded they will lose more $ than more $ in getting new customers. But I believe that eventually it will come (less than 2 years). The post paid plans now come with huge data, so no diff with mysim plans. So as long as the number of "small data" account dwindle to a lower figure/percentage, it would make economic sense to offer esim.

Having said all these, the above might be entirely wrong. Maybe Apple has a say in this and only M1 managed to sweet talk Apple. Unlikely though

Nights

Wtf. How eSIM will impact customer experience? I can even answer that.

It comes at a greater convenience!

I too posted similar question in their FB and got same kind of reply.

With current TPG free unlimited data, the experience impact on customer will be greatly enhanced, however like some already suggested, it will greatly impact on Singtel DataX plan :s13:

Even without TPG, if you were to sign up another sim only plan for a much larger data plan with much cheaper sub and no contract bond, the impact on Singtel and Starhub are heavy.

Sinkie

I too posted similar question in their FB and got same kind of reply.

With current TPG free unlimited data, the experience impact on customer will be greatly enhanced, however like some already suggested, it will greatly impact on Singtel DataX plan :s13:

Even without TPG, if you were to sign up another sim only plan for a much larger data plan with much cheaper sub and no contract bond, the impact on Singtel and Starhub are heavy.

Since m1 is the only telco to offer e-sim, is their profit affected? And if their profit affected, why are they still continuing it? They could have suspend and do away esim?

*adiBOY

Yes M1 has eSIM but they don’t support Apple Watch cellular like SingTel and StarHub so they’ll be losing out some of the customers too.

gt_5454

There is some conspiracy theory here.
M1 is the only telco that offers eSim on iPhone, while Singtel and Starhub offers eSim for Apple Watch but not iPhone.
The technology shouldn’t be too different but 1 has one but not the other and vice versa

Not sure why but it’s really strange to me

boliao45

My theory... All things apple are related to $$, red and green choose to license watch esim from apple before 2018, but those are not bringing in profit as forecasted, so they're holding back on iphone's... While orange didn't jump for watch, choose to jump in, for the iphone, now red and green is seeing if the adoption is good before deciding whether to throw the $...

There is some conspiracy theory here.
M1 is the only telco that offers eSim on iPhone, while Singtel and Starhub offers eSim for Apple Watch but not iPhone.
The technology shouldn’t be too different but 1 has one but not the other and vice versa

Not sure why but it’s really strange to me

Sinkie

Once circle and Tpg offers esim, there will be no need for red or green to offer esim

the_gryffindor

Until now, ST has been lagging behind in its data offerings or rather amount given under their plans. I guess they see or project more gains by “forcing” people to add-on data.

If they offered e-sim, their customers would just stick to their cheapest plans and use data from M1.

As for why they don’t just switch to M1 formally; ST still has the upper hand in terms of reception coverage and reception quality. Of course, there are some areas M1 has good signal strength. There’s a perception that they have better signal and infrastructure. But generally, on trains and many HDN estates they have better signal. There’s also brand loyalty and many corporations tend to stick to them.

I think their strategy is to keep milking their “strength”. As the saying goes, a bird in hand is worth two in the bushes.

Sinkie

Until now, ST has been lagging behind in its data offerings or rather amount given under their plans. I guess they see or project more gains by “forcing” people to add-on data.

If they offered e-sim, their customers would just stick to their cheapest plans and use data from M1.

As for why they don’t just switch to M1 formally; ST still has the upper hand in terms of reception coverage and reception quality. Of course, there are some areas M1 has good signal strength. There’s a perception that they have better signal and infrastructure. But generally, on trains and many HDN estates they have better signal. There’s also brand loyalty and many corporations tend to stick to them.

I think their strategy is to keep milking their “strength”. As the saying goes, a bird in hand is worth two in the bushes.

Their strength comes with high cost in maintenance too.

OnePunch!!

Ya sTcombo 2 still Ofer 2gb data soo dated this era and still pay soo much

boliao45

Well, people is able to dual plan M1(on esim) with lowest ST(in physical sim)today no? Doesn't really make any sense singtel would be worried about this...
TPG would be a stronger contestant, but their coverage still sucks and is not yet a threat..

Sinkie

Well, people is able to dual plan M1(on esim) with lowest ST(in physical sim)today no? Doesn't really make any sense singtel would be worried about this...
TPG would be a stronger contestant, but their coverage still sucks and is not yet a threat..

Actually these giga, circle, or tpg should come out esim instead, and compliment singtel and Starhub subscribers

icyflame

Most people with singtel happy with singtel and don't trust other telcos. If singtel comes out with esim, they will use it as base plan, and add a free TPG for data.

How then to profit from those still on 2,4,5 gb plans?

OnePunch!!

Got hint meh hahahhah

Singtel has been hinting in their Facebook page that esim will be launched nearing the launch of the new iPhones. Now that 11 is launched they still didn’t launch esim. Maybe it was a tactic to buy time after all. This is terribly disappointing from the market leader.

Sinkie

Most people with singtel happy with singtel and don't trust other telcos. If singtel comes out with esim, they will use it as base plan, and add a free TPG for data.

How then to profit from those still on 2,4,5 gb plans?

Well, I think you are aware there is a singtel account in hwz spying, and I’m sure he would have feedback to their management another one more reason why singtel shouldn’t have esim lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.