iRobot Scooba experience

hq83

mosmos said:
:o according to manual, low battery then auto dock back to charge.

did you switch ON the power suppy?

i nvr use auto dock function. I will let the battery cool down for sometime before charging.

you can press clean + max button together to let roomba auto dock.
ya power supply for the base is turn on. when cleaning, it will noe the base is around the area and wound not go near it.

means i must clean until the batt is low? almost flat den will go back itself ?
both of the time it stop at around 1hr 30mins.

is there a list of what the status light means. dun see anything about status light in the manual.

hq83

clean and max ?
i thought is clean and spot as what i saw in the manual.
when i bring the roomba near to the base, and press clean and spot, it did go back itself.

mosmos

hq83 said:
ya power supply for the base is turn on. when cleaning, it will noe the base is around the area and wound not go near it.

means i must clean until the batt is low? almost flat den will go back itself ?
both of the time it stop at around 1hr 30mins.

is there a list of what the status light means. dun see anything about status light in the manual.
:o yah low battery then dock back.

I thought manual has the status or i read at irobot website :s22:

mosmos

hq83 said:
clean and max ?
i thought is clean and spot as what i saw in the manual.
when i bring the roomba near to the base, and press clean and spot, it did go back itself.
:o yah sorry, clean and spot.

hq83

mosmos said:
:o yah low battery then dock back.

I thought manual has the status or i read at irobot website :s22:

manual say it will dock back at end of cleaning cycle..

manual only say about the power button light colour status..(charging, etc...)
not the small status light..

mosmos

hq83 said:
manual say it will dock back at end of cleaning cycle..
nv say anything about batt
:o hmm, maybe i read that in roomba review forum

maybe you can try to place the dock at a more open space.

for status light, red no battery, yellow finish circle.

not sure why they put green when actual color is yellow. :s22:

hq83

finish circle ?
means finish its cleaning ?
haha i c is more like a yellow leh.. for my set..

mosmos

hq83 said:
finish circle ?
means finish its cleaning ?
haha i c is more like a yellow leh.. for my set..
:o yah finish cleaning.

same lor, all yellow lights mah. :s22:

mosmos

kelvar said:
So what solution do you normally use? Water, Clorox or others?
:o i use my scooba everyday, so tap water is enough, though i still have a small bottle of clorox left. :s22:

hq83

mosmos said:
:o hmm, maybe i read that in roomba review forum

maybe you can try to place the dock at a more open space.

for status light, red no battery, yellow finish circle.

not sure why they put green when actual color is yellow. :s22:

today it went back to the dock itself after an hour.
but power led still not red.

mosmos

hq83 said:
today it went back to the dock itself after an hour.
but power led still not red.
:o no battery then red colour.

you can try MAX but I am not sure whether it will auto dock in MAX.

kelvar

Need to check with those who owns a roomba and a scooba. Does the scooba respond to the virtual wall unit of the roomba and vice versa? My sccooba (5800) is not responding to the virtual walls of my roomba (530).

sneezybum

Tried out my Roomba 560 and Scooba 5800 over the weekend.

Very impressed with the Roomba. Vacuumed for 2.5hrs before the red indicator light came on. Even after that, still can vacuum.

Regarding the Scooba, also equally impressed. The Scooba manged to get rid of most of the black stain marks in between the tiles. One bad thing: My Scooba can only last for 35 minutes. Don't know is it bcos the battery haven fully conditioned yet?

Is getting a 2nd battery the only way to go? I took a look at irobot website. It seems that 5800/350/380 are all using the same battery. how come 350/380 can get much more usage time out of the same battery? really confused

thewiseone

My Scooba 350 responds to the virtual wall of my Roomba Red, not sure about the lighthouse virtual wall for the newer Roomba series though. Believe they should likewise.

kelvar said:
Need to check with those who owns a roomba and a scooba. Does the scooba respond to the virtual wall unit of the roomba and vice versa? My sccooba (5800) is not responding to the virtual walls of my roomba (530).

thewiseone

A brand new 5800 should be equipped with a std capacity NiMh battery, which should be good for a SINGLE cleaning cycle. A single cleaning cycle varies between 40 to 50 mins, depending on what triggers the end of cycle, empty clean tank or a full dirty tank. You mentioned that yr Scooba only cleans for 35 mins, what triggered the end of cycle... the tank signal or a low battery (did yr power indicator turned red)? If you need at least 2 cleaning cycles, then u need to purchase the high capacity battery found in Scooba 350 and 380. FYI, 350 runs @ the same speed as 5800, only the 380 is quicker. If u need a high capacity battery, I STRONGLY recommend that u get the 3rd party Li-Ion battery instead of the original NiMh. Its a whole lot lighter and it'll be more robust. You can PM glo69 in the Roomba review forum for it.

sneezybum said:
Tried out my Roomba 560 and Scooba 5800 over the weekend.

Very impressed with the Roomba. Vacuumed for 2.5hrs before the red indicator light came on. Even after that, still can vacuum.

Regarding the Scooba, also equally impressed. The Scooba manged to get rid of most of the black stain marks in between the tiles. One bad thing: My Scooba can only last for 35 minutes. Don't know is it bcos the battery haven fully conditioned yet?

Is getting a 2nd battery the only way to go? I took a look at irobot website. It seems that 5800/350/380 are all using the same battery. how come 350/380 can get much more usage time out of the same battery? really confused

oxygenoxy

sneezybum said:
I just ordered 1 Roomba 560 and Scooba 5800 from LNT. Total charges is SGD 780 including GST and shipment to Singapore. Both items are at CGW's warehouse and are expected to reach me next week.

JA really kill people put fire. I pity those people who buy from them

Did u use any coupons code for purchasing from LNT?

sneezybum

thewiseone said:
A brand new 5800 should be equipped with a std capacity NiMh battery, which should be good for a SINGLE cleaning cycle. A single cleaning cycle varies between 40 to 50 mins, depending on what triggers the end of cycle, empty clean tank or a full dirty tank. You mentioned that yr Scooba only cleans for 35 mins, what triggered the end of cycle... the tank signal or a low battery (did yr power indicator turned red)? If you need at least 2 cleaning cycles, then u need to purchase the high capacity battery found in Scooba 350 and 380. FYI, 350 runs @ the same speed as 5800, only the 380 is quicker. If u need a high capacity battery, I STRONGLY recommend that u get the 3rd party Li-Ion battery instead of the original NiMh. Its a whole lot lighter and it'll be more robust. You can PM glo69 in the Roomba review forum for it.

Hi, the wiseone.

I was following the Scooba around my kitchen when the red indicator light came on, with the alarm sound. I pressed power again, but it won't move. The cleaning cycle had not finished yet. I will try again tonight when i use it to mop my master bedroom

I'm interested in the Li-Ion battery that you mentioned. Mind pointing me out as I am not really a regular visitor to roomba review. Thanks in advance

sneezybum

oxygenoxy said:
Did u use any coupons code for purchasing from LNT?

hi, oxygenoxy

I used the 25% coupon code which was valid from 25-28 October, together with free local shipping. The 25% is over now, but I think the 20% should still be available.

As for free local shipping, i guess you have to keep a lookout for it. It's not a permanent thing. I missed it the 1st time with 20% discount cos I hesistated, but I guess that I was lucky that the next discount was 25% with the coupon code

mosmos

sneezybum said:
Hi, the wiseone.

I was following the Scooba around my kitchen when the red indicator light came on, with the alarm sound. I pressed power again, but it won't move. The cleaning cycle had not finished yet. I will try again tonight when i use it to mop my master bedroom

I'm interested in the Li-Ion battery that you mentioned. Mind pointing me out as I am not really a regular visitor to roomba review. Thanks in advance
:o after several times use of scooba 5800 battery, it will become conditioned and will run for abt 1.5 mission.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.