iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

Dear molecule,

I posted sometime ago about my scooba having less than optimal battery performance. Anyway, now, everything is fine. Getting abt 45 mins of washing time for a full cleaning cycle.

I do remember that you said somebody from Roombareview is selling lithium scooba battery which can last much longer. My brother is in the USA now and if possible, i would like him to ship it back for me

If it was not you, i apologize in advance

glad to hear yr battery is ok now.

li-ion battery can be found here :o

http://www.roombaexchange.com/products.php?cat=39

An update about my scooba n roomba in regards to their heavily depleted batteries..

After a 72hr recharge,
Scooba use to run 2.5 cycles now it can only run 1 cycle :eek:
Roomba seems to run like normal, although subconciously I feel that its battery life isn't as great as before.

Wish I could get the scooba back to peak performance again. Any way other than the 72hr recharge to try?

mosmos

An update about my scooba n roomba in regards to their heavily depleted batteries..

After a 72hr recharge,
Roomba seems to run like normal, although subconciously I feel that its battery life isn't as great as before.

Wish I could get the scooba back to peak performance again. Any way other than the 72hr recharge to try?

I saw roombareview, they said do another 72hrs charge again :s22:

if still same problem, seems like need to get a new battery already. :crazy:

tianxin

nothing leh..
i open up..
saw the motor...
only some dust there.. clean it liao..
still the same.
still can vacuum la.. but not as good liao..
nothing will go into the bin.
only will get stuck onto the filter..

wah i rem u saying its very gd awhile ago. so fast spoil ? their quality so bad ?

molecule

After a 72hr recharge,

hmmm... may be a faulty battery?

molecule

Dear molecule,

I posted sometime ago about my scooba having less than optimal battery performance. Anyway, now, everything is fine. Getting abt 45 mins of washing time for a full cleaning cycle.

I do remember that you said somebody from Roombareview is selling lithium scooba battery which can last much longer. My brother is in the USA now and if possible, i would like him to ship it back for me

If it was not you, i apologize in advance

On roombareview you can search/PM a person with handle 'glo69', he can supply scooba lithium ion batteries for abt US$65 + shipping depending on shipment location. U could possibly save shipping if you collect some orders, perhaps some forumers here want to hitch a ride. :s22:

molecule

I also remember earlier in this thread someone replaced the cells at Sim Lim Tower or something for abt S$100 and it worked well so that might actually be a better option.

hq83

wah i rem u saying its very gd awhile ago. so fast spoil ? their quality so bad ?
when using tat time of cos is good la.. who noe it will stop working.
anyway they have send me a replacement unit..

thewiseone

I was the one who mentioned about replacement cells from SLT and li-ion from glo69 in roombareview. I also mentioned that its not exactly cost effective to get NiMh replacement cells from SLT & DIY. The cost for the cells alone will set u back $100 and MORE, especially if u need higher capacity. In addition, unless u have welding equipment at home, u'll have to pay them additional to replace the cells (yeah some fellows claims soldering will do the job. Unless u r extremely handy with yr soldering skills, u may end up killing the cells instead!). At the end of the day, u r still dealing with NiMh technology. Its HEAVY, its HOT, relatively high self-discharge and not forgetting, the heat really shortens the life of the NiMh cells.

SO, save yourself the torture and expenses, if u need to replace yr Roomba or Scooba battery, contact glo69 and get a li-ion replacement from him. His stuff works and u need not worry about shipping as he'll be using USPS.

I also remember earlier in this thread someone replaced the cells at Sim Lim Tower or something for abt S$100 and it worked well so that might actually be a better option.

sneezybum

I was the one who mentioned about replacement cells from SLT and li-ion from glo69 in roombareview. I also mentioned that its not exactly cost effective to get NiMh replacement cells from SLT & DIY. The cost for the cells alone will set u back $100 and MORE, especially if u need higher capacity. In addition, unless u have welding equipment at home, u'll have to pay them additional to replace the cells (yeah some fellows claims soldering will do the job. Unless u r extremely handy with yr soldering skills, u may end up killing the cells instead!). At the end of the day, u r still dealing with NiMh technology. Its HEAVY, its HOT, relatively high self-discharge and not forgetting, the heat really shortens the life of the NiMh cells.

SO, save yourself the torture and expenses, if u need to replace yr Roomba or Scooba battery, contact glo69 and get a li-ion replacement from him. His stuff works and u need not worry about shipping as he'll be using USPS.

thks, thewiseone. sorry that I did not checked properly first. I will get in touch with glo69 to ask abt the Li-Ion battery

thks also to mosmos and molecule for your advise

shau61

I am interested to get an irobot but have not decided to get a roomba or scooba. The scooba 335 covered an area of 500 sq ft, means for a flat that is 1500 sq ft, I have to buy three scooba 335? :s11: How about the roomba 535, how much area does it cover? Appreciate the members here will enlighten me. Thank you

mosmos

I am interested to get an irobot but have not decided to get a roomba or scooba. The scooba 335 covered an area of 500 sq ft, means for a flat that is 1500 sq ft, I have to buy three scooba 335? :s11: How about the roomba 535, how much area does it cover? Appreciate the members here will enlighten me. Thank you

:s22: your house should have some furnitures?

so area will be less than 1500sq ft. Get another battery will do. But extra battery is disallowed for vpost shipping.

Not sure abt 535 area coverage. :o

sAxman_Returns

aiya, just charge again and run lor.......

or you do living room in 1 charge, then the rest of the rooms do seperately?

shau61

Hi mosmos & sAxman, if vpost don't ship the battery, then where can we get an extra battery & how long does it take to recharge the battery before using it again. Thanks :yawn:

mosmos

Hi mosmos & sAxman, if vpost don't ship the battery, then where can we get an extra battery & how long does it take to recharge the battery before using it again. Thanks :yawn:

1st time charging battery is 16hrs. Normal charge is about 3-3.5hr.

you can use comgateway to ship or can buy li-ion battery from glo69 which they said is shipped by USPS.

sAxman_Returns

mosmos, 16hr first time charge, then do we need to dry it first?

I'm wondering if the scooba would run when the power adapter/charger is connected to it....that may solve the battery problem?! but need a damn long extention lar....and must find a way to make sure it doesn't block its operation.....I know it sounds stupid but.....

mosmos

mosmos, 16hr first time charge, then do we need to dry it first?

I'm wondering if the scooba would run when the power adapter/charger is connected to it....that may solve the battery problem?! but need a damn long extention lar....and must find a way to make sure it doesn't block its operation.....I know it sounds stupid but.....

:s11: huh dry what?

1st time charge is open box, then put in charger. Do not use battery 1st.

:s22: i never try before with power cable attached, it may go round and round the table legs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.