iRobot Scooba experience

naxchua

yes, during charging when battery is empty, adapter is quite hot.

any pics of your pet roomba?

I will post pic of the box 1st.... it will tell u all the reason why my shipping is so expensive....

20h4tqp.jpg

Wow... I paid for one and they gave me 2?

30vjc0l.jpg

disappointment... They sent me plenty of Air.... (they actually pack plenty of bubble bag for me...)

s6hfyf.jpg

The box inside...

1pv24k.jpg

My Pet Roombe in the box... 2 virtual wall, brush sets, dock, adaptor, etc....

naxchua

weird, Scooba's power adapter is never hot.....

the transformers itself will waste 1-2W, then during charging, it's running almost at 45W full power, and when idling, it's also wasting 2W......not very green de neh....

hmm... dunno leh... now is my Roomba adaptor hot.... my Transformer is onli mild warm... slightly warmer than room temperature...

naxchua

Just tested the two roombas, thank goodness they work fine, had been quite apprehensive about getting defective set, heard alot of horror stories leh.Frankly, they are quite terrifying to look at;they dash around going bang bang here n bang bang there,like gangster like that.My kids had a wild time 'driving' them though,ie with the remote. Would be onto the scoobas tomorrow, then the dirt dog day after ...

yea... the sound quite scary too... sound like something is jam... cos i ask my Roomba to dock manually....

rebook

Mine also like that, box of two but one inside, wasted at least $50. :( Should have ordered two instead? Wonder if ordered two, will they send both in the same box? :p

Did a maiden run last night, very impressive. :)

naxchua

Mine also like that, box of two but one inside, wasted at least $50. :( Should have ordered two instead? Wonder if ordered two, will they send both in the same box? :p

oh okay... i just charge my roomba last night... dun think i can use it tonight cos going out for dinner...

thewiseone

It has been discussed before in earlier posts, please do a search for it. Essentially, go for brands like APC, Belkin, etc. For peace of mind, go for those with added insurance (make sure its applicable in Singapore).

Can someone please help me out with the surge protector question? THere are so many types, how to choose?

mosmos

Wow... I paid for one and they gave me 2?

disappointment... They sent me plenty of Air.... (they actually pack plenty of bubble bag for me...)

:s22: My 3 irobot from woot.com (2 roomba discvery + scooba), none have a external box.

sAxman_Returns

perhaps they have their own account with super good rate, then after certain cut off size, they can earn from the additional freight :s22:

Maria, I took a picture like this, the moment I took out my box:
SP_A0142.jpg

what else do I need to do? he's like keeping quiet liao..... if I do a calculation, refund is a lose-lose situation, coz I need to ship him back the stuff, he also LL with the used Scooba. What are the things paypal would do if we escalate this case to them?

mosmos

perhaps they have their own account with super good rate, then after certain cut off size, they can earn from the additional freight :s22:

Maria, I took a picture like this, the moment I took out my box:

2d8hmcj.jpg

what else do I need to do? he's like keeping quiet liao..... if I do a calculation, refund is a lose-lose situation, coz I need to ship him back the stuff, he also LL with the used Scooba. What are the things paypal would do if we escalate this case to them?
actually after 1 run in hse, it should look like that.

for scratches, I guess should be caued by his furniture.:s22:

mosmos

buy.com selling 2 new roomba discovery at $244.44 after $10 googlecheckout discount, with free shipping.

though it said soldout, i tried to play around, add to cart and was able to do that. :s22:

so 1 unit cost $122.22, cheaper than woot.com :eek:

take note that only 1 virtual wall + 1 docking station only.

http://www.buy.com/prod/irobot-roomba-discovery-2-pack-model-4130/q/loc/111/204336228.html

34i4opi.jpg

# Two (2) Model 4130 Vacuums
# Two (2) Advanced Power System Batteries
# Two (2) 3 Hour Charging Bricks (AC Adapters)
# Two (2) Additional Filters
# Two (2) Cleaning Tools
# Two (2) Welcome Manuals, User Manuals and Accessories Manuals
# One (1) Self-Charging Home Base
# One (1) Virtual Wall

sAxman_Returns

actually after 1 run in hse, it should look like that.

for scratches, I guess should be caued by his furniture.:s22:

as I said, it's one extensive full run......

KNS, testing only nia. need to do this meh?

he got no brain or what? he also have a Scooba what, why can't he test the power adapter and battery on his set?

he even got the cheek to say he uses his own Clorox solution to "test" my set....

I asked him to test power adapter, battery and virtual wall, he tested everything.....:look:

maria, what do you think about such dispute? shall I not to waste anytime further and escalate this to paypal?

sAxman_Returns

alright, he did it faster than me, he's escalating the whole thing to paypal liao.....let's see what paypal would do...

naxchua

2r7nfqe.jpg

my Roomba in his dock charging the 1st charge....

gonna try run at 4pm on my marble flooring....

bakasa2002

bro naxchua, if u get to see this msg, do NOT run it on your marble flooring, it's scratches. My friend tested it on a small surface of his flooring and it .... so he passed it on to his gf. ;)

anyone interested in BN roomba 535 or scooba BN 5800, I am looking to let go of my set at $420 each. Cash & carry. kindly give PM me or call me at 94832705.

dankoo

Just rev my Scooba yesterday. One quick qns...Roomba I know need to be charged all the time, Scooba too?

mariatan

sAxman,
When i filed claims for my cc bills with my bank, they would send me a form to fill wherein i would state my reasons for the claims, I would include as specific details as possible so as to make it easy for the bank to investigate.I got my money back all the three times that i did that but I had very good grounds with all three cases.About this case, there's more 'grey' area as u would have to proof that the seller indeed did send u a used model as opposed to a new one.
Aiyo, sounds bad leh, what was the reason the seller gave for escalating the case? I think u better contact paypal too to give ur side of the argument.

mariatan

bakasa,
what scratches? Do u mean the roomba 400? What about scooba n roomba 500, do u know?I've got hardwood, marble n tiles flooring,is it OK to run the robots on them?I just tried to run my 2 scoobies on my marble floor, very confusing leh, they make a lot of terrible squeaking noise n pick up less than half a tank of dirty water, don't know what i did wrong.Also, the roomba 570 doesn't stop by itself one, took more than 1 hr to do 1 small room n kept going n going,how come it doesn't go back n rest one har?
Irobot is so un-dummies friendly ah.Would search this post to see if anyone had problems like this before....

sAxman_Returns

sAxman,
When i filed claims for my cc bills with my bank, they would send me a form to fill wherein i would state my reasons for the claims, I would include as specific details as possible so as to make it easy for the bank to investigate.I got my money back all the three times that i did that but I had very good grounds with all three cases.About this case, there's more 'grey' area as u would have to proof that the seller indeed did send u a used model as opposed to a new one.
Aiyo, sounds bad leh, what was the reason the seller gave for escalating the case? I think u better contact paypal too to give ur side of the argument.

yo maria,

I can't post anything at the dispute case as it went into Claim status, "PayPal Dispute Resolution Specialist reviews case"..... nor him able to post anything. Basically he choose to STOP communicating further. The funny thing was, he sent an email to me later, and said he wanted to resolve this ASAP. KNS.....this kind of attitude. He pattern liao liao, taking shortcut to end this in the next 30 days or earlier. I think paypal specialist sure sexpose him one. Anyway paypal said if I win the case, they will give me USD200 + USD20 processing fee. Do I still need to ship the item back to him? Is there a need to file a claim to my CC ?

The only area which is very white is.....he admitted that he tested the set, so it's considered used. Let me show you what happened.....
This is what I emailed him before he shipped out:
"By the way, can you do me a favour? Just help me to test out if the power adapter is working fine, the virtual wall is functioning and the battery is not faulty will do :)"

And then what? he happily charge the battery full and then run it on his dirty place for 1 full cycle.....the funny thing was, he actually used his own clorox solution to do so.....

My argument is very clear, I only asked him to test those parts I mentioned, where the hell he want to touch the main Scooba unit since he also has more than 1 unit himself? Either he got no brain to think properly or he's just playing punk. I suspect he bought "extra" becoz he wanted a 340. So he happily got the 340 and then swop the 340 with a used 335 inside and ship everything in a 340 box to me. He said UPS damaged the 335 box while he shipped back coz he forgot to write the address correctly, but how come when I received the 340 box in Singapore, it was in perfect shape? doesn't make sense right?

Anyway, I think the Clorox solution is damn diluted. Just curious, those who are using magiclean and other solution one, do you actually use very little solution and mix with the water? Laminate flooring is not recommended leh....i saw the manual, but since somebody said he uses fan to blow, perhaps it's alright, but a bit troublesome....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.