iRobot Scooba experience

XxDrAg0nxX

I was wondering because last time when installing my security cameras, the guy recommended using a 9v adapter for the camera instead of 6v beause the length of the cable was too long?

Any technical sexperts can confirm if its safe to use a lower voltage one?

mussorgsky

I think it will be better to modify the power supply better than using the step down transformers. Both got its pros and cons.

If want to modify power supply, can go to Sim Lim Tower to buy the 400V 47uF capacitor. Note that the capacitor is quite big (I bought it from the basement shop and cost less than 10 dollars)and does not fit into the power supply chasis. I did it for the Roomba Discovery power supply. You will need to remove the varistor also. I have no problem using it for a year. Besides the basement shop, I remembered that there is another shop selling 400V 47uF capacitor at the second floor shop that specialise in selling capacitor.

If not, you can buy a 100W step transformer (recommend NewStar brand and it cost around 22 bucks or so) to do the job. It may take out some power but I don't observe much change in my electric bill.

CM

www.roombaguide.com

XxDrAg0nxX

long time ago there was this power adapter that had 2 knobs that can change the output voltage and amp...

then the head got many many different pins one...

I wonder if still got such things around... :(

thewiseone

No, i think u need sufficient voltage to trigger the charging system... dont forget it needs power as well. Believe less than 20Vdc, the system will not charge. Cant remember liao, check Roomba review, there's a detailed description by Gordan on it i think.

If i rem correctly, the amp only affects 'how long it takes to charge'

However, output voltage I am not sure how that works...

Inside i count 12 batteries... which means = 12X1.2 =14.4V?

XxDrAg0nxX

something like this:

Img_5691.jpg

Can adjust output voltage and current one....

LONG LONG LONG ago more than 15 years ago i had one something like that....

Do they still have this around?

thewiseone

Looks like its about there no matter how u try to take care of the battery, damn tired of buying and replacing batteries. Someone should come up with a solar powered Roomba... :D

380 grey battery is from july 07 to now.

my spare blue battery + 5800 batter also less than 1.5 mission now, should be ard sep-oct 07 purchase.

thewiseone

Yes they do. There's actually one that matches Roomba's power supply right down to the T. Can set 22Vdc and able to supply up to 1.5A. Believe should be around S$50+, with variable voltage O/P.

something like this:

Img_5691.jpg

Can adjust output voltage and current one....

LONG LONG LONG ago more than 15 years ago i had one something like that....

Do they still have this around?

XxDrAg0nxX

HOHOHO...

After 5 mins ... it didnt explode!

dpj0uw.jpg

you all say the battery wont last... I wonder if mine on a lower voltage will have problem a not :(

Secarley it last longer cos it doesnt quick charge the battery? :D

mingkiat

I actually bought a variable AC-DC adaptor with the right connector. Brand is NewStar. It supplies 6V,9V,12V,18V,19.5V,22V up to 3.5A and can adjust the polarity. It cost about 50 bucks.

I set the setting to 22VDAC and with the correct polarity and plugged it into my brand new Roomba 560. It blinked for 3 seconds and give "Charging Error 2".

Did some search on the web and found that this Roomba has program its charging circuit such that we can't just use an ordinary AC-DC adaptor. What happened is, as my new Roomba was not fully charged (brand new mar), the voltage of the battery is quite low (about 14.5V according to what I read on the web), putting in a 22V charging current will cause "Charging Error 2". So I have to switch my output to 18V and it will charge alright. After about 30 minutes, when the battery is sufficiently charged (I guess it's about ~17V), I can slowly switch to 20V, and no charging error, and another hour later I can switch to 22V without anycharging error.

The next day, I let the roomba sweep my house for 1 round, for about 40 minutes. Then i press dock for it to go back, it now shows "Charging Error 2" again. I think this is again due to the supplied current is 22VAC and the battery has dropped beyond 18V. So I switched the supplied voltage back to 18VAC again and there the cycle repeats.

From what I observed, it seems that roomba actually monitor the differences between the supplied and the battery voltage and will give error if the gap is too big.

So now the newstart AC-DC adaptor is being used for my notebook and I bought another 135W Newstar convertor to use with it.

mingkiat

HOHOHO...

dpj0uw.jpg

you all say the battery wont last... I wonder if mine on a lower voltage will have problem a not :(

I don't think it will explode. But it won't charge your roomba either.

Your charger is supplying 12V and I think your remaining battery in your roomba should have higher voltage then this. So in a sense, current will not flow from your charger to the battery to charge it. I'm not sure what kind of effect it will have but I suspect it'll drain your battery down to about 12V level.

XxDrAg0nxX

I actually bought a variable AC-DC adaptor with the right connector. Brand is NewStar. It supplies 6V,9V,12V,18V,19.5V,22V up to 3.5A and can adjust the polarity. It cost about 50 bucks.

I set the setting to 22VDAC and with the correct polarity and plugged it into my brand new Roomba 560. It blinked for 3 seconds and give "Charging Error 2".

Did some search on the web and found that this Roomba has program its charging circuit such that we can't just use an ordinary AC-DC adaptor. What happened is, as my new Roomba was not fully charged (brand new mar), the voltage of the battery is quite low (about 14.5V according to what I read on the web), putting in a 22V charging current will cause "Charging Error 2". So I have to switch my output to 18V and it will charge alright. After about 30 minutes, when the battery is sufficiently charged (I guess it's about ~17V), I can slowly switch to 20V, and no charging error, and another hour later I can switch to 22V without anycharging error.

The next day, I let the roomba sweep my house for 1 round, for about 40 minutes. Then i press dock for it to go back, it now shows "Charging Error 2" again. I think this is again due to the supplied current is 22VAC and the battery has dropped beyond 18V. So I switched the supplied voltage back to 18VAC again and there the cycle repeats.

From what I observed, it seems that roomba actually monitor the differences between the supplied and the battery voltage and will give error if the gap is too big.

So now the newstart AC-DC adaptor is being used for my notebook and I bought another 135W Newstar convertor to use with it.

Wah heng u tell me... :)

but hor where u see the charging error?

mosmos

HOHOHO...

:eek: what is the watt output for this adapter?

Your adapter may over heat.

XxDrAg0nxX

mosmos

My grey one put 33W..

But I dont think the watt we have any control over it right?

Someone mentioned this one is 60hz, the transformer will convert our 50hz into 60hz meh?

:o there's a formula to calculate watt, forgot already.

for 220v to 100v transformer, they may only operate at 50% efficiency, so when you buy a 100w, output only give abt 50w.

blurrblurr

xxdragonxx

Irobot need 22V DC supply but u give 12V DC only?
Yes difference in 1Amp do not make any difference. But is a big difference if you compare 12V 1000mA with 22V 1250mA. If you tell me you are going to use 21V 1500mA adapter maybe it will work. Now you are using your robot to charge the 12v adapter. Very soon your battery will spoilt and your adapter catch fire. I believe you have little or no knowledge with electric. I suggest you better use the 220-110 AC transformer and not to try anything else you gona waste your money buying this robot.

XxDrAg0nxX

:o there's a formula to calculate watt, forgot already.

for 220v to 100v transformer, they may only operate at 50% efficiency, so when you buy a 100w, output only give abt 50w.

but how about the frequency thing?

doesnt it affect as well? :s11:

sAxman_Returns

Wah heng u tell me... :)

but hor where u see the charging error?

5th generation got much better indicator, haven't tried mine, just received it from CGW, took 1 whole week to delivery....but cheap cheap nia...expecting to see only USD26 freight.

Anyway, Voltage is important, you need to have sufficient voltage but not higher voltage to make your applicant works properly. Voltage too low a bit boh luk like that....later your battery also boh luk then you know......

Current supply can be bigger, the device will only draw whatever is enough for it.

anyway, first charge 16hr right? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.