sAxman_Returns

watt not enough for 5xx.

need at least 50-60w

22.5vDC 1.25A = 28.125W :s22:

50W is not enough if you're using transformers.... :s22:

Alamak wait.. its 2A leh...

Thats like double the amp.. it will shorten the battery's lifespan... will overheat also...

as what thewiseone said, you can have maximum Ampere but never provide lower current to the device. It will just draw whatever it requires. :s22: anyway, 2A is not double of 1.25A lor. the only thing you cannot exceed is the voltage, it will fry whatever connecting to it.....if over-voltaged.

it cost around $50+ at chaomax,6th floor ... walk around....

there sell a lot of adapter, saw it today...

but i think is dell laptop adapter.. nv really look at that whole box..

dun think my lobang will cost so much. Will update you guys when I go down and look for Irene jiejie.....:s22:

The L-shaped connector will have problem connecting to the homebase.

Can always use extension, chicken feet lar.....won't cost me extra too. Will bring down my homebase to check.

anyway, my final bill for the freight ish only USD22. Somehow CGW made a mistake by charging me 7% GST with $1.50 service fee. Complaining in progress......

thewiseone

No, the device is drawing whatever current it requires. Watt is the power consumption, i.e. Power = Voltage x Current (hope i recalled correctly, getting very rusty on my electronics :s27:)

I thought the device will draw the amount of 'watt' it requires, and not amp?

brightanvil

found a delta notebook adapter juicing 22.5v!!!! think can use on my Roomba 550!

6332777363629687502_ADP-45GB_REV-P-A.JPG

see if I can hunt it down @ SLS/SLT or not hehe....

Does this one supplies a constant voltage one?

NiMH batteries need variable voltage charger to charge one.

In general, a constant-voltage charging method cannot be used for automatic charging. When fast-charging, it is advisable to charge the NiMH batteries with a smart battery charger to avoid overcharging, which can damage batteries and cause dangerous conditions. - From Wikipedia

Someone posted before that he has to constantly change the voltage in order to charge his roomba.

XxDrAg0nxX

Does this one supplies a constant voltage one?

NiMH batteries need variable voltage charger to charge one.

Someone posted before that he has to constantly change the voltage in order to charge his roomba.

Was wondering that too...

Cos they call it an AC adapter...

The grey Roomba one they call it a charger...

sAxman_Returns

hi all, anybody tio charged 24.5% of FOB value as CIF? as a results it exceeded $400 and tio 7% GST?!

kns, Comgateway.......:s27:

how come Vpost, DHL etc all never got this hidden cost one? They said it's by Singapore customs woh....i did see that from http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trad/val/Payment+of+Duties+and+GST.htm but how come other freight forwarder never calculate it that way?

seowbin

hi all, anybody tio charged 24.5% of FOB value as CIF? as a results it exceeded $400 and tio 7% GST?!

how come Vpost, DHL etc all never got this hidden cost one? They said it's by Singapore customs woh....i did see that from http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trad/val/Payment+of+Duties+and+GST.htm but how come other freight forwarder never calculate it that way?
i think vpost last time also like that

got compulsory insurance thingy

brightanvil

Got compulsory insurance thingy meh?

All these time, I never encounter before.

Maybe its because of the courier that CGW uses, that's why have the extra FOB.

seowbin

Got compulsory insurance thingy meh?

All these time, I never encounter before.

Maybe its because of the courier that CGW uses, that's why have the extra FOB.
for a period of time i think got...

that's y my friend switch to dhl/fedex (either one) to ship stuff cause he say with that insurance crap, it's a bit more nia... (got corporate rate)

sAxman_Returns

never had such thing with vpost b4. I'm going to make big noise to them. kns, they dun even have a office in SG!!!! When I asked them which number I can call in to complain, the gal dare to tell me only accept email *faint*.

anyway, insurance is "complimentary" lor......and that's "compulsory" but definately not this stupid hidden 24.5% thingy. They just want to fake the figure to dig more money only. kns.....just for that $1.50, they made me paid extra $30+.....

mosmos

:s11: How much is CIF charges? 24.5% x $400?

Vpost also has this CIF charges.

https://www.vpost.com.sg/vpostusa05/gstCom.html

XxDrAg0nxX

That time I tot seowbin use CGW, he never mention they charge him insurance leh... dun tell me they just start?

seowbin

That time I tot seowbin use CGW, he never mention they charge him insurance leh... dun tell me they just start?
all the while i using vpost .. den i jump to borderlinx recently :D

anyway, i nv try >$400 value before, so i can't really comment..

sAxman_Returns

Watt is the unit of "Power". Power will be the result of Voltage (Volt in unit) x Current (Ampere in unit), waliew....dun tell me you always fail physics one de neh? :s22:

Was wondering that too...

Cos they call it an AC adapter...

The grey Roomba one they call it a charger...

AC = Alternating Current DC = Direct Current

That power supply takes in 110v AC and output DC 22.5v. It has nothing to do with "variable voltage" from AC/DC POV :s22:.....

anyway, thanks brightanvil for bringing up this point. is that really true and is that the main reason that cause the charging error? I still dunno if I shall mod my PSU or grab a laptop charger leh......I still dun quite get it. If the output is 22.5V, why would the voltage pattern affect the battery charing? Does that mean transformers is also a bad option?

seowbin

transformer only step up or step down the voltage to the required ac output for ur equipment.. so it's always at 110v or 230v (or some 100v, blah blah blah)

why charge it at different voltage?
cause at different period of time after usage or charging, the battery will be at different voltage...

for example a battery, rated at 22.5v but the machine actually can operate(power up) between 20v to 25v
as the battery lose it's energy, the voltage will go down also, till a stage whereby it's below 20v :sad:

so the charger will actually charge it up by increasing the voltage slowly instead of directly jump up to the maximum voltage...

google for some charging circuit graph for more understanding if u want....

*this one not car hor.. can jump start one..*

jc777

basically, the device only draws current, I. and since power, P = I^2 x R, you can say that it draws certain amount of power also.

if you have an adaptor of lower current (or power) ratings, either your adaptor will burn out and fuse, or your device will not have sufficient power to operate properly.

and if you have an adaptor of higher ratings, you may run the risk of burning out your device.

so beware...

XxDrAg0nxX

I just did a timed run of the roomba on a full charge this morning... 0740 start, it stopped at 1100, almost 3hrs?

I tot its supposed to last around 2hrs nia?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.