iRobot Scooba experience

hansolo76sg

im 1 good example of giving up buying from HSN. tried all the credit cards i have but none worked. idiotic thing is the discount code will still be applied then error comes up later.

i ended up at ebay and finally should have a roomba within the next 2 weeks.

only 1 suceeded in buying with sg credit card. :s22:

hansolo76sg

i plan to explore the modding rather than transformer.

would you happen to have modded the scooba power brick as well? method and parts same as roomba?

the risk of power surge killing electrical appliances is quite low. not very often we see our TV, computer fried by power surge.

modding is not very difficult. i manage to mod by myself.

thewiseone

I'm going to share with all u fellows who thinks :

1) I've never experienced a surge before. As long as i take all necessary precaution it will be safe

2) Yeah, i can never be so **** out of luck. Its not going to happen to me

3) I stay in a block of flats. So many units together, i cannot be so sway

Let me tell u, if u belong to any of the above 3, **** DOES HAPPEN!

Happened to me twice, once last year and another this year. During a severe thunderstorm last year (i only have a UPS w/surge for my room), the lightning took out

a) My wiireless AP in my living room
b) my living room 43" TV
c) 1xADSL filter

External of my unit:

a) Water Pump System
b) Intercom System

Neighbouring units all OK except mine. So, u think **** only happens ONCE, naw.. New intercom system installed with lightning strike protection system. In addition, i installed an additional Belkin Surge Protector (basic model) in front of it. What happened was the surge was so severe it took out the intercom system again and the arrestor was not quick / efficient enough to arrest the surge.

So, its up to u to believe how safe u your household equipment is when a severe lightning strikes direct or very near your home.

In such circumstances, u'll be glad u have the additional step down transformer to take the first hit rather than your iRobot power supply.

I think this perception of rare occurance happens mainly because many of us are not aware of it. Unless there's injury or loss of life, it'll not be reported in the news (unless its so freaky like the lone car at the carpark being struck by lightning!). In addition, with the majority staying in HDBs, even if there's common equipment damage, it'll be fixed by the maintenance team/town council. The unfortunate units struck by lightning isnt likely to go around door to door telling everyone of his plight. Probably just suck thumb and make good his own repairs.

I see, but that never really happen right? Never heard it happen before...

Even if such a thing happens, logically everything else in the house or block will kanna right?

thewiseone

U got a 340 from HSN?!? Wow, very very lucky! So, hows the 340 so far? Thinking of getting 1 more Scooba. Any discount code for HSN? Thks!

i tink most likely is 340 ?
i got a 340 from them abt 1mth ago..

XxDrAg0nxX

I'm going to share with all u fellows who thinks :

1) I've never experienced a surge before. As long as i take all necessary precaution it will be safe

2) Yeah, i can never be so **** out of luck. Its not going to happen to me

3) I stay in a block of flats. So many units together, i cannot be so sway

Let me tell u, if u belong to any of the above 3, **** DOES HAPPEN!

Happened to me twice, once last year and another this year. During a severe thunderstorm last year (i only have a UPS w/surge for my room), the lightning took out

a) My wiireless AP in my living room
b) my living room 43" TV
c) 1xADSL filter

External of my unit:

a) Water Pump System
b) Intercom System

Neighbouring units all OK except mine. So, u think **** only happens ONCE, naw.. New intercom system installed with lightning strike protection system. In addition, i installed an additional Belkin Surge Protector (basic model) in front of it. What happened was the surge was so severe it took out the intercom system again and the arrestor was not quick / efficient enough to arrest the surge.

So, its up to u to believe how safe u your household equipment is when a severe lightning strikes direct or very near your home.

you mean lightning struck your house twice? :eek:

Landed property?

thewiseone

No, private apartment.

The strike last year was the worse, happened around 3+ am in the morning. It was so loud it woke many residents. Sounded like a super loud whip lash, darn scary!

you mean lightning struck your house twice? :eek:

Landed property?

XxDrAg0nxX

No, private apartment.

The strike last year was the worse, happened around 3+ am in the morning. It was so loud it woke many residents. Sounded like a super loud whip lash, darn scary!

Wow your building so suay can kanna strike 2x :eek:

somemore neighbour never kanna only you! :s8:

XxDrAg0nxX

Hey guys, what on earth is this usb port for?

I look see the manual like never say one leh :(

2vn2xkl.jpg

hq83

U got a 340 from HSN?!? Wow, very very lucky! So, hows the 340 so far? Thinking of getting 1 more Scooba. Any discount code for HSN? Thks!
so far.. ok lor.. dun have other scooba to compare.. dunno the diff..

bahang

Got my new replacement battery from irobot, CGW delivered to me today, but check the CWG account still showing:

Status: Package Received in U.S. (Received Date: 17/04/2008)

Volumetric Weight(KG): N.A.
Physical Weight(KG): N.A

Never stated what is the delivery charge, the credit card bill also not show. Now plug in to charge for 16 hours and see how?;)

sAxman_Returns

Got my new replacement battery from irobot, CGW delivered to me today, but check the CWG account still showing:

Status: Package Received in U.S. (Received Date: 17/04/2008)

Volumetric Weight(KG): N.A.
Physical Weight(KG): N.A

Never stated what is the delivery charge, the credit card bill also not show. Now plug in to charge for 16 hours and see how?;)

CWG sux lar. dun even have a number to call one. they always tell you everything in the last min, after delivery.....

Actually at first I also wanted to mod first one...

But someone brought up a point where what IF the mod was a failure, and u dont know if the problem is with the robot itself or the charger mod wrongly... :s22:

It's the same if your transformer blown......you will never know what went wrong liao like that. aiya, it's very easy, just buy another iRobot PSU lor :s22:

which means your final cost was SGD450? or is this amt arrived after adding the CIF 0.24%?

im still awaiting my ebay sale to reach borderlinx so cant comment whether its better in terms of tax calculations yet

final cost? can't be bothered :s22: I think much lesser than $450 though....

jc777

i plan to explore the modding rather than transformer.

would you happen to have modded the scooba power brick as well? method and parts same as roomba?
i guess the modding of scooba adaptor should be quite similar to roomba, that need to be verify though. u try google for it or search on roomba/scooba/irobot forum.

jc777

No, private apartment.

oic, what i am saying is not that it is impossible, but given everybody here, anybody else experience that? and staying HDB/private?

probably your case was isolated one. maybe the electric circuit was not wired up properly, then caused 2 times power surges.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.