iRobot Scooba experience

thewiseone

Just received my 4260 Scheduler Intelli-bin. Dont know if its me or what but the 4260 is very very much quieter than my Red. Wonder what iRobot has done to reduce the noise?! The brushes have end caps (dont have it in my Red) to supposedly reduce hair buildup at the drive sockets. Was really drooling over it when Hammacher first sold it but it was way too expensive back then. Think the 4260 is a pretty good buy now if one is going for the older model ... :D

koiphone

Just received my 4260 Scheduler Intelli-bin. Dont know if its me or what but the 4260 is very very much quieter than my Red. Wonder what iRobot has done to reduce the noise?! The brushes have end caps (dont have it in my Red) to supposedly reduce hair buildup at the drive sockets. Was really drooling over it when Hammacher first sold it but it was way too expensive back then. Think the 4260 is a pretty good buy now if one is going for the older model ... :D

Great Great... How much you bought?

mosmos

:s11: what end caps, got pics?

you bought from woot.com?

XxDrAg0nxX

no lah, as others and homefix staff told me that 100w one maybe supplying max 50w (50%) to the appliance. So your 80w may have overwork the transformer?

doesnt sound logical leh...

if they rate it at 100w, why would it get cut by half?

on mine it say max output rating 100w...

sAxman_Returns

never mind, now we all know mosmos only get info from salespersons' hearsay...but I dun recall homefix got any chioboo leh... :s22:

just kidding.

my 550 is finally in action. Wow, it's damn quiet and damn fast!!! luckily got the extra bumpter extension to prevent the bumper from being "pu$$y" look lol!

thewiseone

Sorry, shouldnt call it end caps to confuse with the pet brushes. Its actually the std brush with large black discs at both ends to sort of shield the white sockets from hair. Have not gotten the time to snap some pics, will try to do it later. Also noticed that when u see through the rear vacuum exhaust grille, there's a green blinking LED when Roomba is running.

No, i didnt get from Woot, got it from Ebay (didnt want to wait any longer since i missed the last Woot offer). Also, i need another Roomba since my Red is out of action waiting for my spare part to arrive. However, think i may have gone a bit overboard. Today i should be receiving my warranty replacement Red, its a 4102 Service Roomba with swivel wheel from iRobot and my Red's spare part as well. Guess i now have Roombas at home, always safer to have a spare. :D

:s11: what end caps, got pics?

you bought from woot.com?

sAxman_Returns

why not top up a bit more to get a 550?

wake up early morning and saw the Roomba dock back itself drawing 6W again to idle. it was 3W for the dock when it's on action.

took out the dust bin and very surprised of the dust it's collected compared to magic clean....really much better.

Just curious, how do you guys position your dock and plan your schedule/coverage? My roomba manage to sweep finish the living/dining area, then went into 1 of my bedrooms via the passageway (I closed the doors for the other 2 bedrooms), come back to living/dining hall to vacuum again(i guess it's double confirming the position) before entering kitchen (then I went to rest liaoz). Will share the floor map later.

Do you guys use just 2 lighthouse or more? I am wondering if it's able to serve more than 2 lighthouse coz by right it will spend 30mins+ on each "room".

very interesting fact find, when I take the roomba away from the dock and place it on the floor, it will go back to the dock by itself lol!

mosmos

doesnt sound logical leh...

if they rate it at 100w, why would it get cut by half?

on mine it say max output rating 100w...

never mind, now we all know mosmos only get info from salespersons' hearsay...but I dun recall homefix got any chioboo leh... :s22:

just kidding.

my 550 is finally in action. Wow, it's damn quiet and damn fast!!! luckily got the extra bumpter extension to prevent the bumper from being "pu$$y" look lol!

:s22: someone here had his 80w transformer burnt off.

thewiseone

Why not? Even if the 550 is priced down to the same as a 4260 scheduler, i will still go for the 4260. Sometimes the latest may not be the greatest. The product i purchase has to meet my needs. Here's why i chose the 4260...

1) I have an existing pool of 4XXX series accessories ranging from virtual walls (schedule and non schedule) to Roomba rapid external charger => Tons of spares for everything, including batteries thereby eliminating down time

2) The new lighthouse technology does not do much for me. I dont need the Roomba to be stuck in 1 room for 30+ mins, thats absurd as i dont have a super large house/cleaning area. Segmenting it into areas does not cut it for me as well as 30+ mins for 2 rooms is also an overkill. Putting 2 rooms as 1 area also does not ensure adequate cleaning in BOTH rooms. Enlarging the area is senseless as its as good as not having the lighthouse there in the first place.

3) As with all iRobot products, it takes years for them to iron out the kinks. Like the Discovery series, its only from 2.1 models onwards are they relatively 'reliable'. The current 5XX has its fair share of problems, ranging from broken side brushes to gear box crammed full of dust. It will take 1 or 2 more revisions to refine the 5XX series (if iRobot history is anything to go by). A robotic vacuum cleaner to me is a work horse. I cannot afford to pay $$$ to iron out the kinks for the manufacturer. 2 Weeks w/o my Red has already been a whole lot of inconvenience for me.

why not top up a bit more to get a 550?

wake up early morning and saw the Roomba dock back itself drawing 6W again to idle. it was 3W for the dock when it's on action.

took out the dust bin and very surprised of the dust it's collected compared to magic clean....really much better.

Just curious, how do you guys position your dock and plan your schedule/coverage? My roomba manage to sweep finish the living/dining area, then went into 1 of my bedrooms via the passageway (I closed the doors for the other 2 bedrooms), come back to living/dining hall to vacuum again(i guess it's double confirming the position) before entering kitchen (then I went to rest liaoz). Will share the floor map later.

Do you guys use just 2 lighthouse or more? I am wondering if it's able to serve more than 2 lighthouse coz by right it will spend 30mins+ on each "room".

very interesting fact find, when I take the roomba away from the dock and place it on the floor, it will go back to the dock by itself lol!

sAxman_Returns

3) As with all iRobot products, it takes years for them to iron out the kinks. Like the Discovery series, its only from 2.1 models onwards are they relatively 'reliable'. The current 5XX has its fair share of problems, ranging from broken side brushes to gear box crammed full of dust. It will take 1 or 2 more revisions to refine the 5XX series (if iRobot history is anything to go by). A robotic vacuum cleaner to me is a work horse. I cannot afford to pay $$$ to iron out the kinks for the manufacturer. 2 Weeks w/o my Red has already been a whole lot of inconvenience for me.

thanks for sharing, didn't know iRobot is yet another company making customers their R&D testers lol!

I dun rely on robot lar, if it's down then I just vacuum myself lor hehe....but let's see if I would become like you after sometime :s22:

firefish

yup, i also got the scheduler model...
mine is a refurbished model from ebay.
almost 90% new.
so far so good...
actually, it's a sage but comes with scheduler remote and 2 scheduler wall units

also bought aps battery (yellow colour).
i got 2 spares, $90, if intd, sms 97455 180.

tthsrml

irobot order got cancelled after 1 month of waiting

i waited a good 1 month to know that vconcierge cant deliver and mentioned that cos they are a freight forwarding firm. but the thing is they made me pay and even for the handling charges..

is this fair?

how else can i order from irobot?
I'm using a uob credit card. so i cant use comgateway.

mosmos

i waited a good 1 month to know that vconcierge cant deliver and mentioned that cos they are a freight forwarding firm. but the thing is they made me pay and even for the handling charges..

is this fair?

how else can i order from irobot?
I'm using a uob credit card. so i cant use comgateway.
:s11: why did you use vconcierge for irobot store?

you can just use google checkout for payment with sg credit cards.

thewiseone

Ha ha, u bet on it. Before all these robo helpers, it was manual mopping + sweeping. Later, it was a huge cumbersome vacuum cleaner finally leading to my robo helpers. Can u imagine how strange the broom looked like to me for the past 2 weeks? Even a cordless vacuum cleaner seems like a cumbersome tool to clean the hard to reach places! :s22:

thanks for sharing, didn't know iRobot is yet another company making customers their R&D testers lol!

I dun rely on robot lar, if it's down then I just vacuum myself lor hehe....but let's see if I would become like you after sometime :s22:

thewiseone

Just received my warranty replacement Red. A really pleasant surprise, it came complete with the bin and brushes (w/ black discs at both ends). Whatsmore, it looks sparkling new and minty, with swivel front wheel to boot! :D

mosmos

TRIED BUT CANT THEY KEEP ASKING ME FOR USA ADDRESS.

:s11: Did you key in correct? I ordered twice from irobot store before.

irobot store shipping address key in vpost usa address, google checkout shipping key in vpost usa address, google checkout credit card billing key in sg address?

XxDrAg0nxX

Just received my warranty replacement Red. A really pleasant surprise, it came complete with the bin and brushes (w/ black discs at both ends). Whatsmore, it looks sparkling new and minty, with swivel front wheel to boot! :D

overseas or local?

what happend ah? i never follow :p

tthsrml

i tried leh... but it just ask me for billing address. when i put singapore base on location they say irobot do not ship to singapore via googlecheckout then how i type?

do i tell my cc that my alternative mailing address is the vpost address?

:s11: Did you key in correct? I ordered twice from irobot store before.

irobot store shipping address key in vpost usa address, google checkout shipping key in vpost usa address, google checkout credit card billing key in sg address?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.