iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

If I am not wrong, using your old roomba charger you still need to initialise your battery with a 16hrs first charge. (Charging will still be in series)

Unless you are using an external Lithium charger capable of handling 3~6 individual cells, then only you need not initial charge it, as all cells are charged individually.
(Your battery suppose to have another additional power connectors for it to work in this type of charger)

The Scooba Li-Ion battery has BUILT IN INTERNAL CHARGING CONTROLLERS, it doesnt matter what external charger (external in reference to the battery) u use. BTW, we are talking about Scooba battery.

for roomba li-ion abttery, will there be a problem if charge in roomba? :s11:

thewiseone

No, there should not be any issues charging a Roomba Li-Ion battery in:

1) Roomba itself

2) External using Roomba Rapid Charger

Just like the Scooba Li-Ion battery, a Roomba Li-Ion battery also has internal charging controllers. I'm believe u can get more mileage out of a Roomba Li-Ion as compared to Scooba Li-Ion if your Roomba only requires 60-70 mins to complete a mission since it will not be heavily discharged.

for roomba li-ion abttery, will there be a problem if charge in roomba? :s11:

seowbin

give up liao on waiting for woot's scooba

just place a request borderlinx's concierge to get one for me from HSN :(

US$253.90 damage...

since it's a 335, should be quite worth it

thewiseone

HSN got discount coupons, did u remember to use?

US$253.90 damage...

destin

1) Yes, there is a film of water left behind by Scooba during the wet cycle. Once Scooba goes over the area during the dry cycle, there will only be a little wet film left behind. Just leave it for 5 mins or so and it will be dried.

2) If u r using the bot to charge the battery inside, yes leave it connected to switched on power supply.

Hi thewiseone,

for point 2) , will it be wasting electricity to leave the power supply on 24/7 as we are also using a transformer from 220 to 110v.

thewiseone

Point 2 is meant for people who are

1) Charging the Scooba NiMh battery INSIDE their bot AND
2) Needs maximum performance from battery before cleaning, eg: 2 cleaning cycles each time

The Scooba battery needs trickle charging to top up, especially if u want to extract max performance from it. In addition, NiMh battery has relatively high self discharge. If u fully charge the battery and placed it aside for a while before your next use, it may not have sufficient energy to complete yr next cleaning (depending on your run duration).

Hi thewiseone,

for point 2) , will it be wasting electricity to leave the power supply on 24/7 as we are also using a transformer from 220 to 110v.

thewiseone

Which party is not allowing u to use coupon, your forwarder or HSN??? AFAIK, the HSN coupon codes can be used through HSN online order. Hope no one is pocketing the difference in between .... :s11:

nope, like cannot use coupon, so i nv ask them to try

seowbin

Which party is not allowing u to use coupon, your forwarder or HSN??? AFAIK, the HSN coupon codes can be used through HSN online order. Hope no one is pocketing the difference in between .... :s11:
the forwarder

cause i think they will use the same account for everyone...

destin

hmmm I just bought 2 irobots from HSN> there is a 10% discount. previously was 15%.

mosmos

US$253.90 damage...

:crazy: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=29912261&postcount=3452

untitled1-48.jpg

frankloh

Look here, I am not referring to the built in internal charging controller.
that is to prevent overcharging and result in pack catch fire defintely not to balance charge your lithum pack!

But the question here is "using the original roomba charger good?"

Please do a search on a special lithum 3cell balance charger before you want to share your limited experience here.

If your roomba lithium has a cell balancer power connector, the best way to charge it is to use a lithium charger which all cells in the pack are charger individually. But if charging it inside Roomba, I am sure the pack are series charge. 1 or 2 cells will defintely be under charge.

Btw be it scooba or roomba or LIPO pack, all lithium works the same way.

The Scooba Li-Ion battery has BUILT IN INTERNAL CHARGING CONTROLLERS, it doesnt matter what external charger (external in reference to the battery) u use. BTW, we are talking about Scooba battery.

frankloh

hmmm I just bought 2 irobots from HSN> there is a 10% discount. previously was 15%.

Which credit card did you used? Thought HSN do not charge to international credit card?
I tried twice and not successfully before giving up.

frankloh

but duno good bo leh....the webby :p
340 = 5800 right?

i will wait for it to sell at $99 for refurbish set @ woot.com :s34:

335 better hor?
btw, it can use the remote from scheduler bo arh

340 is not equal to 5800.
340 has a higher rated capacity battery at 4100mah vs 3100mah for the 5800mah.

340 moves faster that is why it is rated at 850sq ft vs 250sq ft.

But if given a choice, I will still woot at USD99.00.
The last time it appears only, gone in 1 min as woot only offer 6units for sale.

frankloh

This is why people like glo is charging the $$$ for their Li-Ion cells. Its not the Li-Ion cells within the pack thats expensive, its the TIME, HASSLE, LABOUR, etc. of matching cells thats costly. U must first have access to a large pool of cells. U next need an analyser to determine the properties of the each cell. U pick cells with close/similar properties and assemble them into a pack. U next have to test them and cycle the pack to make sure the charge control circuit is working and stable. Very very troublesome ... :s22:

You mean a balance nimh pack will cost the same as a balance lithium pack? since the cost actually comes from the time spent on assembly and not because lithium actually cost more in the first place? ha.....:D

seowbin

340 is not equal to 5800.
340 has a higher rated capacity battery at 4100mah vs 3100mah for the 5800mah.

340 moves faster that is why it is rated at 850sq ft vs 250sq ft.

But if given a choice, I will still woot at USD99.00.
The last time it appears only, gone in 1 min as woot only offer 6units for sale.
but but but is 340 better den 335 besides the cleaning area it can cover? (i don't have big house so it's not my basic concern)

frankloh

but but but is 340 better den 335 besides the cleaning area it can cover? (i don't have big house so it's not my basic concern)

335 is rated at 500sq ft cleaning nia. 340 is defintely better than 335! Btw, did you buy from HSN?
If yes, get ready for a nice surprise, maybe you will be like me or most of the buyer at HSN, receive a 340 Scooba instead of a 335 :)

thewiseone

Please make sure u understand how the cells are connected in a Scooba Li-Ion battery before u share your professional experience.

Look here, I am not referring to the built in internal charging controller.
that is to prevent overcharging and result in pack catch fire defintely not to balance charge your lithum pack!

But the question here is "using the original roomba charger good?"

Please do a search on a special lithum 3cell balance charger before you want to share your limited experience here.

If your roomba lithium has a cell balancer power connector, the best way to charge it is to use a lithium charger which all cells in the pack are charger individually. But if charging it inside Roomba, I am sure the pack are series charge. 1 or 2 cells will defintely be under charge.

Btw be it scooba or roomba or LIPO pack, all lithium works the same way.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.